We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NIZUC Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$814
$367
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$446
$358
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$263
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$530
$342
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$508
$496
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$689
$568
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$572
$469
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$495
$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$593
$395
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$703
$540
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,736)
Filter reviews
2,736 results
Traveler rating
2,245
309
100
42
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,245
309
100
42
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla puntaterra nostraocean suiteadult beachplunge poolperuvian restaurantgolf cartmain buildingcevichefour seasonsminutes from the airportbreakfast buffetbeautiful propertyclose to the airportkids clubbutler servicecancun airport
Filter
Updating list...
1,885 - 1,890 of 2,736 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful,relaxing getaway in a beautiful resort, look no further. Husband and I stayed 4 nights but will be back for more. Although we had reserved an ocean suite in the main building management upgraded us (can't thank you enough!!) to Ceba tower room 632. I wasn't happy at first (wanted to be close to beach, restaurants...) but the room was magnificent! Keep in mind that it is well worth the extra money!! We enjoyed watching sunsets in our the infinity pool on our balcony. Golf cart will take you wherever you want IF you don't want to walk. It's quick and easy. Thanks to Alfonso our butler for being so attentive!
We enjoyed the food and we are pretty picky foodies... Breakfast buffet was amazing (that was included in our package through Ultimate Jet Vacation!!) and enjoyed nachos, fajitas, ceviche for lunches. Had drinks and lunch on the beach and at the pool. Dinner at la punta and indochine were our favorites although heard the Italian restaurant very good as well!
Loved spending the nights sitting outside with a cocktail admiring the beautiful landscape...water features, lighting and calming atmosphere. It is very quiet so if you want a lot of action...wrong resort. One night we went to rooftop bar above Terra Nostra. It's HUGE and is a perfect place to relax and mingle with other couples but NO ONE was there. Wonder if anyone even knows about it?? Think that is the only thing I would say needs to be added at nizuc~some kind of resort book/ magazine in each room describing all the features in resort. This way guests can refer to everything offered at the resort easily. Although it's a relatively small resort, things are spread out.
Service is wonderful and property is beautiful. We are New Yorkers and have traveled all over so we know what makes a good relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Loved tower 6-Ceba Large room with huge pool and beautiful views overlooking ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIZUC R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NIZUC Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at NIZUC Resort & Spa.
We appreciate your kind comments. This help us to keep improving every day.
Hope to have you among our distinguished guests again in a near future,

Please receive our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at this property for 7 days during Presidents week. As everyone has mentioned, the property has been very tastefully decorated. The things that stand out
a. Great service, everyone is so happy to help you out and show great respect. Please do tip these guys.
b. Very calm and relaxing place, the bay is excellent, you can walk up to 300 feet with water only up to your waist.
c. The food at the breakfast buffer was very good, lot of healthy choices, in addition they had some mexican specialties for breakfast. We had gotten a package with breakfast included which was helpful as otherwise the bill can easily add up.
d. The lunch service at the beach and pool was excellent. The ceviche and fish tacos were great, we had ceviche everyday for lunch. Even my kids loved the ceviche and fish tacos.
e. We had dinner at various restaurants on the property except Punta Grill which is adults only and we did not feel like leaving kids in the room alone. I would rate the restaurants at 7 out of 10 given the prices and food taste. We are from SF bay area, so we do get spoiled with great food so our opinion could be biased. We stayed away from Wine as it was very expensive and we get our share of good wines here in Napa, CA. We did like IndoChin from food perspective and had excellent deserts in Ramona. The Ramona restaurant is very tastefully decorated.
f. The Concierges service was excellent, they recommended couple of great restaurants in the hotel zone which were excellent recommendation. The only downside is that it costs $25.00 one way from the resort to the hotel zone. We tried Lima 12 05 (a peruvian restaurant), that was very good. The concierges also arranged for a rental car from Hertz for us for our one day trip to Tulum/Akten Chen/Playa de Carmen. It was a very positive experience as Hertz brings the car to the property, you sign the paperwork and off you go. When you come back you drop the car at the valet and they call Hertz to pick the car up. It was much cheaper than doing the tour and we had no issues driving around in Cancun.
g. The services for snorkeling, paddle board and kayaking were great. The only issue is that the snorkeling spot is ok, we have been to some beautiful snorkeling locations at other places.

Somethings to be aware of.
1. The bottle water is expensive, but they provide you enough bottles in your room and during your golf car rides that you can avoid ordering additional bottles. We did drank "house water" during our dinners everyday and had no problems. They add a slice of lime, cucumber, lemon to the house water which was very refreshing.
2. The tip is confusing since they already add 12.9% to every bill. We still added additional tip but we were not sure if we were under or over tipping.
3. The website should have a clear breakdown on charges for the rooms, we had to get few adjustments done as the price we were quoted was different than what appeared our final bill. I think they maybe still working out some of the kinks in the system.
4. We were not aware of how to lower the shades in the room, the light in the morning bothered us slightly as I am a light sleeper and usually prefer perfect dark room.
5. They provide Nespresso machine in the room, we ordered milk and then used it to make lattes in the room everyday. It will be great if they provide cream or milk complementary.

I would highly recommend this property, its slightly away from hotel zone which is great. We do travel quite a bit and this property was very comparable to other top properties we have stayed.
We stayed in Ocean View Suite and found it appropriate for our family. My kids enjoyed both the beach and pool and felt very safe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dostana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIZUC R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NIZUC Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at NIZUC Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your comments since they help us to improve our service every day.
We hope to have the opportunity of having you visiting us again soon,

Please receive our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is by far the most beautiful resort I have ever seen. If you check out the photos online, you will be impressed, but when you see it in person your jaw might drop as did mine. There are multiple restaurant choices from Asian to Italian and pretty much anything else in between. The rooms are incredible, but the spa takes the cake. I am somewhat of a spa snob and receive massage on a regular basis. I had the BEST massage of my life followed by a hydro therapy session equal to none. I must also mention the staff was very professional and treated me like royalty (that is not an exageration) BEST SO FAR!!!!

Room Tip: Did not have any experience to suggest something was lesser or superior. I do know they had an array of room size choices.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIZUC R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NIZUC Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at NIZUC Resort & Spa.
Your comments help us to keep improving our service.
Hope to have you visiting NIZUC again in the near future,
Please receive our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We just returned from 5 nights at Nizuc. Our experience was 5 stars and the small things do not change the rating.

We arrived Saturday night to a most gorgeous sunset view in the lobby. We were upgraded to an Ocean View Suite in the main building which we loved and loved the location. We were originally booked in the tower and I am glad we had such close access to everything. The room was great, large with a huge balcony to watch the sunset every night. The tub and shower were the best.

The resort was definitely not at capacity so everything was available with no waiting. Everyday we had our choice at pool spots and the seats didn't start to fill up until after 9:00 AM. We used both pools but preferred the adult pool. The main pool is large and plenty of seating. The adult pool is much more intimate with a great seating area for reading. It was also breezier there.

This is not the place to go if you are looking for a night life, we wanted to stay away from the party aspect of Cancun and just relax.

Our meals were great, but like others have said it would be great to have a more casual evening option. Our last night we had room service on our balcony which was our lightest meal. We LOVED the breakfast buffet and I am not a breakfast eater. The mexican specialties every morning were delicious. The fruit and juices fresh and we never left without trying a new pastry.

We did the chef's dinner one night as we were celebrating my birthday and it was amazing. We met with the chef Vincent Wallez who was most charming and we felt his excitement about creating a meal just for us. We aren't big drinkers so they made us a variety of virgin cocktails throughout the meal as well. You could tell they loved trying to create out of the box drinks for us. Our meal was in a private dining room in Romana and we also toured the kitchen. The food was 5 star and the chef took our meeting and created a very personal experience. This wasn't cheap but very well worth it.

The other dinners were fine in La Punta and Terra Nostra. We left one night to try the Ritz Carlton and so happy we decided to stay at Nizuc. Poolside lunches were good and the service was excellent.

The service. I worked with Mariana to book our airport pick up and our dinner reservation. It was a great easy and welcoming experience. I recommend having a driver pick you up, it is pricey but the chaos at the airport can be a bit overwhelming. We took a cab on the way out which was easy and about $35. The pick up was $80

A few things we noticed:
We never heard from or met our Butler. It was fine as we didn't miss the service except to show us our room. We didn't realize until the 3rd day that there was a switch to bring down a shade in our room. also the lights were not intuitive so showing us how everything worked would have been helpful.

I read about the lighting in the bathroom in past reviews and thought it would be no big deal but it was an issue. The lighting is very poor and all over head so getting ready was a challenge. Also not all outlets worked. I used their blowdryer in the room as the bathroom plus didn't work.

We noticed a few things that needed repairs so I hope they are diligent about keeping up with the large resort.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The main building allows you to walk easily to the pools, beach and most of the restaurants.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paige2367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIZUC R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NIZUC Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at NIZUC Resort & Spa.

Your comments are appreciated so they help us to improve our service every day.

Hope to have you visiting us again soon .

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Ten members of my family and I just returned from spending eight days in NIZUC Resort and Spa, where my daughter and son in law celebrated thirty years of wedded bliss.
We had about as perfect a vacation as is possible in these times of global warming and chaos in the world! Truly, it was a time of renewal, rest, and re-energizing oneself. It was not enough that the place is beautiful, spotless and rich in natural resources, but the people who so kindly give service are totally equipped and committed to making your time there be the most enjoyable possible. We left feeling blessed for having been able to have been there, and send humble thanks for all the people at NIZUC who made it such a warming experience.
Dr. Sara Olivia Garcia

Room Tip: All of our rooms were sunny, quiet, and large. None of the rooms we occupied needed improvement.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivemira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIZUC R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NIZUC Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Distinguished Guest,
Thank you for taking some time to share your experience at NIZUC Resort & Spa.

Your comments encourage us to keep improving every day.

Hope to have you visiting us son,

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews