We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant suprise”
Review of Blue Gecko Cantina

Blue Gecko Cantina
Ranked #31 of 981 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Blue Gecko Cantina is a fun filled atmosphere providing excellent quality food for a very reasonable price. No black ties or white table cloths here!
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a pleasant suprise”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

From the street you could easily miss this small cantina. My friend and I ate here last night. All staff were friendly, service was quick and food was fantastic. I had a beef taco & my friend had a roasted chicken taco and we shared guacamole & salsa with chips. Would strongly recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    278
    79
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Place is lively and fun. Has great tacos and their signature drink, the Banana Monkey is a must try. Owners are Americans and they own the dive shop at the other end of the parking lot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jebaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place to spend a rainy afternoon in Cancun”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great drinks and amazing tacos. We spent the afternoon and went back the following evening,. We enjoyed talking to the owners, ex-pats from Texas. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kamas124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best all around service, food and convo”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I highly recommend this place. the food, the prices, the conversation are the hands down best around. Gotta try the sliders, mmmmmm. And dont forget the cancun shrimp taco. Ive been there twice this year and will continue to go year after year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A great break from the awful all inclusive menu. Cute little place with amazing food and drinks. Had quite a few things on the menu since I went here a few times to get away from the hotel food. Love the sliders and the buffalo chicken wrap the most! My boyfriend really enjoyed his shrimp taco. Highly recommend checking this place out if you are in Cancun...and as many have mentioned before, the staff are very friendly and helpful!! Love this place!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RtaMsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gecko Cantina also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Blue Gecko Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing