We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum! Yum! Yum!”
Review of Blue Gecko Cantina

Blue Gecko Cantina
Ranked #36 of 1,048 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Blue Gecko Cantina is a fun filled atmosphere providing excellent quality food for a very reasonable price. No black ties or white table cloths here!
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The tacos in this place are delicious! I wish we had something even close to this at home. We came here a couple of times and tried the Texas, Texas brisket, Korean BBQ, Sliders....everything was good. To us, it was also great value. The owners were really friendly.

I would come back to this place in a heartbeat. Thanks for the great food memories, Blue Gecko!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NicoleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay161985, Public Relations Manager at Blue Gecko Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We appreciate your great feedback and are happy to hear you were so pleased. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 990 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

People recommended this place to us and after going we were very disappointed. The inside of the tacos weren't bad, but those tortillas are terrible! Hard and overpowering with corn that you can't enjoy the actual meat/fish ect inside. Margaritas tasted like a Sprite slush. Please make changes so that we can go visit again. Cute little place that makes it fun, but food and drinks were disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruby d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay161985, Public Relations Manager at Blue Gecko Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Ruby
Thank you for your feedback. Next time we’d be happy to make you a taco with a flour tortilla.
It’s unfortunate you were disappointed with your drink. We use fresh fruits for our margaritas and would be pleased to give you and your party a complimentary margarita to try when you return. We look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Yummy!! The Fiery Fish Taco was soooo good, my husband can't stop talking about it. It's a great outdoor bar with great music, food, and service!! John and Emmy are a hilarious father and daughter duo, definitely made our experience very memorable and enjoyable. Highly recommend, will not disappoint!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica-N-Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay161985, Public Relations Manager at Blue Gecko Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hi Jessica,

It's great to hear your experience at Blue Gecko was so memorable. Thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here after we landed in Mexico for some food and drinks. We got the sour apple margaritas and they were not good at all! And for food we ordered to sample platter for appetizers which wasn't horrible. Our bill came and it was 40 dollars just for 2 drinks and an appetizer. Way overpriced!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ChelsieK186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay161985, Public Relations Manager at Blue Gecko Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Chelsie
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We feel our menu pricing is appropriate for our location and portion size of our items. In regards to our sour apple margaritas, they are made with liqueur as opposed to our many other margaritas that are made with fresh fruit. We hope you will visit us again in the future and give one of our fresh fruit margaritas a try as well as one of our gourmet tacos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to Mexico a few times and always eat in Mexican restaurants in the states. This had the best food, BY FAR. This was the highlight of my trip.

Drinks + Food menu is HUGE for this little spot. Very quaint and has a family feel to it.

The staff was amazing. We had a young girl, I can't remember her name, but she so funny. Such a sweet girl. I hope you read this and remember the Bachelorette party that came in June. We still talk about you and how much fun we had while eating. Good luck in school :)

1  Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay161985, Public Relations Manager at Blue Gecko Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hi Jamie

We truly appreciate your great comments and are so pleased to hear how great your experience was and that it was the highlight of your trip. Please come see us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gecko Cantina also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Blue Gecko Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing