We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try for lunch in Cancun!”
Review of Blue Gecko Cantina

Blue Gecko Cantina
Ranked #33 of 980 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Blue Gecko Cantina is a fun filled atmosphere providing excellent quality food for a very reasonable price. No black ties or white table cloths here!
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must try for lunch in Cancun!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great little lunch place in Cancun. The Texas Taco's are a must have! Great owners, Mimi and her staff take great pride in taking care of her customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    278
    79
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic and reasonably priced”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This little local hole-in-the-wall could easily be overlooked, and what a shame that would be. We enjoyed delicious mojitos and tacos plus an appetizer of homemade guacamole. One taco filled an entire basket, so if you order two, you better be really hungry. The sweet waitress/bartender is reason enough to visit! She was charming and sincerely enjoyed people. I recommend the firecracker fish taco for those who like a little spice. The taco (soft) shells even tasted of homemade corn flour! Delicious! Please visit this casual eatery. Save lots of money than if you were to eat at the mall or your hotel!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fromAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, West Virginia
2 reviews
“GREAT AND NICE SERVIVES”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

best food every and the drinks were awesome very nice and could talk very good english and there food is all made from there and is all jumbo orders

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tastes like another”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The best tacos in the world. They are big. I wish I had found the place sooner. With an icy cold beer or frozen Margarita, nothing better. Yum!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ameyjomcmanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little dive with good food, food drinks and a sense of humor!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was in Cancun for 6 days and came back to this spot twice. I had a delicious blueberry mojito and the hurricane fish taco! The taco was delicious. My boyfriend had the steak taco and it was equally good. Nice and friendly place- I'll definitely stop by this place again next time I am in town :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alilly924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Gecko Cantina also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Blue Gecko Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing