We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“unmissable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Cepages Restaurant

Les Cepages Restaurant
Plaza Nichupte Local 15 | Downtown, Cancun 77505, Mexico
+52 998 802 1093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 852 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy at Les Cépages Restaurant a delicious "Foie-Gras Torchon". It will be a pleasure serving you.Best Wishes,Chef Sal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

spotted a sign advertising this restaurant on my way back from Tulum, decided to give it a try as it was a few blocks away from the hotel I was staying in; such a good idea. My wife and I were a bit late as we went to the beach that day, it was not a problem for the attentive staff who brought us iced water and offered cold refreshing drinks on arrival. Every course was beautifully presented (I particularly enjoyed the duck and the fillet mignon) and the bread was freshly baked. The sommelier was very attentive and knowledgable without pushing his expensive wines. Overall it was quite a culinary experience, having eaten in more than 10 countries, I would say that this meal was amongst the top five meals I ever had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanSant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cépages R, Owner at Les Cepages Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Dan it was a pleasure serving you. Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Cancun. Sincerely, Chef Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    18
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than billed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Who expect such a small and unassuming venue to deliver a powerhouse dinner? Compliments to Chef "Sal" (vadore), a national who has studied abroad (in France) and definitely mastered the culinary arts when it comes to presentation and the marriage of taste. We have travelled and eaten in some very nice restaurants and this experience ranks in our top 10. The atmosphere is very relaxed with jazz, classic 1940's and mixed with a touch of Caribbean songs. There few tables but by the end of the meal the restaurant had filled. We ordered as many different things as possible in an attempt to "try it all". Took the liberty to post food pictures. Reviews are accurate, but can you have to see it, taste it and savor it to believe it. Better than billed? Certainly. Great work Chef and Staff !!!! Enjoy your success.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Les Cepages. We were staying on the strip in the hotel zone, but quickly discovered that the best restaurants and better prices were to be found in downtown Cancun. Our food was fabulous, the atmosphere was very nice and our waiter, Raul, was so charming. He was not very busy, so he spent a lot of time talking with us, explaining dishes and helping us practice our Spanish, while he practiced his English. The whole thing was a true pleasure. You can take a cab there, or we quickly learned that if we took the bus from the hotel zone to any where in downtown Cancun, we could then catch a cab to anywhere else in the downtown area for only 30 pesos, which is less than $3, American. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank teedeeandchelchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cépages R, Owner at Les Cepages Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mrs. Teedee:

Thank you for your motivational words, it was a pleasure serving you. We hope to see you soon on a near future. Best regards.

Sincerely,

Chef Sal and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Traveled the 20 minutes from JW Marriot based on high TA rating. Was not disappointed, food/service/wine where all first rate. My overall take away is that they all really care about your dining experience.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Garyd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cépages R, Owner at Les Cepages Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Gary:

Thank you for your motivational words, it was a pleasure serving you. We hope to see you soon on a near future. Best regards.

Sincerely,

Chef Sal and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

When we first walked in we were a little unsure because it was located in a small shopping plaza and completely empty (though the decor is modern, refined). However, we were then pleasantly surprised - the chef came out to tell us about the specials that evening, describe perfectly how the meat is prepared, grilled, the ingredients in the sauce, etc etc. Then the food - amazing - a delectable amuse bouche, appetizers that were classic French yet with a little local twist, lamb that was cooked exactly medium rare as requested. Excellent wine pairings. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cépages R, Owner at Les Cepages Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear. Mr Turner:

Thank you for your motivational words, it was a pleasure serving you. We hope to see you soon on a near future. Best regards.

Sincerely,

Chef Sal and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Cepages Restaurant also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Les Cepages Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing