We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to the mall Las Americas on Tulum Ave instead.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tulum Avenue

Tulum Avenue
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Tulum Express Half-Day Tour from Playa del Carmen
Ranked #15 of 142 things to do in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Go to the mall Las Americas on Tulum Ave instead.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Prices are much better at the mall Las Americas on Tulum Ave.

For example for $15 USD I bought a Telmex basic cell phone some prepaid time! The same phone in the Hotel Zone costs $40 USD.

Much of the stuff sold on Tulum ave is junk made in China. The days of hand crafted products made in Cancun seem to be gone . You are more likely to find good hand made products that have the pride of the one man operation making the stuff he sells at evening markets at a hotel.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank spill_beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    244
    102
    32
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This place exudes peace.
it was raining and we still managed to enjoy a few of the hotels along the strip.

Fantastic sea food.

you should see this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was a well orchestrated trip! Our guide was easy to understand and had a broad knowledge base of the subject. Don't miss this day trip!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roxy0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great site, poor presentation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The tour could have been more memorable if the language skills of our guide were better, if the story would have had more substance to it and if the site would have been better prepared for the intellectual tourist. I find Latin American experiences to be more of the same, they need funds to build their infrastructure and tourism is a good source. There is great history behind these ruins but poor ability to make a story to sustain the interest of the traveller. Guides should be trained far much better. Following the visit to the site we continued our tour to the Mayan village. The poor scene in the Mayan village was more on the ridiculous side. I am not sure if they are actors or true villagers, except for the face features reminding of the Mayans they gave us nothing. They live already the modern life which is ok, they wear modern clothes and use cellphones which is understandable but that should have been be a site dedicated to the history of the Mayans and it didn't work out well. All in one a nice one time visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank averyhappytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you like historical spot and beach this is your choice. I can spend a day or afternoon visiting increasing your knowledge about Mayans ruins and can escape to refresh your sweat on the beach. Is there something else better do?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuizBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulum Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Tulum Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing