We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this a joke?”
Review of Mundo Maya Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mundo Maya Hostel
Ranked #81 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have a hard time believing anyone could recommend this place. The female working the desk was friendly, but to a point. The hostel is way too far from the bus station to be used just for a night. Across the street from the station you can find at least 2. It's out of the way really for anything else too. When I checked in, I was give the price of $150pesos for a female dorm bed, but the price on hostels.com had been 132. After trying to give me the "lo que pasa" line (heard it a million times honey), she looked it up online, saw I was right and gave it to me for that. A loose key was given to me (how easy to lose) and I was shown around. In the dorm, she pointed to 2 beds which were available (not even knowing that a third bed had checked out) and asked which I wanted. After she walked away, I saw the dried blood stains and other stains on the sheet and changed to a top bunk which was clean. How anyone can justify keeping bed sheets like those is beyond me. The other big problem with the room was the lighting. Or lack there of. Isn't it understood that light comes with the price? It's a female dorm, but guys like to come in and sit on the beds. We all know what that means. 5 beds, but only one locker. The shower was decent. Definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinhobo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 60 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

On one hand, it's hard to write a bad review for Mundo Maya because I feel sorry for the guy who runs the place. I'm sure he's a nice guy, but perhaps he is in the wrong business.
The hostel is in a small, old, dank office building. From the top of your bunk bed you're face to face with old, grey, fiberboard ceiling panels. The window of the ground level 10 bed dorm directly faced a busy street, so cars would be whipping by a few meters from your bed. Ah yes, the dorm. I booked a six bed, I was put in a 10 bed and told that's all there was. And 8 lockers for the 10 bed room, all of them taken, topped with used q-tips and other garbage. No real lock on the front door. I walked in one afternoon- through the front gate, through the lobby, into the dorm to get something out of my bag, without seeing a single person. Anybody could have walked in and taken whatever they wanted. Really loud classical music was playing most of the time. I don't know if that was to give the guests some culture, or to discourage them from hanging around.
The first thing I thought about Mundo Maya was that it needs a woman's touch. Lo and behold a female employee did show up in the evening, but I don't believe she spoke a word to anybody. Was she paid not to talk!?
It's not that Mundo Maya has big problems, just a lot of small ones. The advtertised breakfast is not worth the name- you are only allowed two pieces of bread, one packet of jam etc. The shower head was broken- OK, things happen- but why such a cheap plastic one to begin with? There was a (security?) dog around which liked to bark a lot. There were some staff cleaning, but the building is such that you could clean it constantly and it would still be grey and dank. Blood spots on the sheets were not a good sign.
All in all, I'll give the place two stars instead of one because I fell bad for the manager. If you have absolutely nowhere else to stay, maybe Mundo Maya will do for one night.
In the end, even though I had prepaid, I left early for a much better hostel that was the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good things about this place: the owner and staff are cheerful, the shower was strong and warm, and that's about it.

The place is utterly devoid of character, except perhaps that of a mental hospital or prison.  We had a private room with a shared bathroom.  The room was dark, damp and musty, with twin beds comprised of mismatching, rusting metal bedsteads, topped with lumpy mattresses and stained, ripped sheets.  The other furniture in the room included a white plastic garden chair and curtains which were once perhaps cream coloured but are now completely stained with mould.  We would have been happy with a fan only, but these were at the front beside the noisy road.  To get a quieter room at the back you need to pay for air con, however you won't want to use it because if you can get over the smell, you probably won't be able to sleep through the noise.  Another homely touch: a notice in the breakfast area (just a table in the small reception) that lists out that "breakfast includes per person: 2 cups of coffee, 2 slices of bread, 1 jam, 1 butter".  And the price for all of this luxury: 450 pesos.  

It's astounding that any self-respecting hotelier can offer such utterly awful accommodation for any price, let alone 450 pesos.  My advice to the owner: your a nice guy, but sort out your accommodation.  My advice to anyone thinking of staying here: until the owner gives it a much needed overhaul or drops the price, go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKC082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 days in this hostel and was good. The recepcion was helpful and the rooms basic but good respect others hostel with the same price. Very near from the markets and the cheapest bars and restaurant of cancun

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had to pay by cash as the owner did not want to pay any commission to booking.com The hostal is unsafe. I was robbed when I was sleeping. My room was on the second floor. I woke up because I heard there was a man in my room who grabbed my computer, my mobile phone and my wallet. He left through the window. Nobody came to help although I screamed very load. As I felt that it is unsafe to stay in this hostal, I decided to leave immediately. I paid for twelve nights and I was robbed during the seventh night. There were five nights left. I canceled my reservation for the next five nights and asked the owner to return me money for those five nights that were left. He told me that he could return only a half of that sum. He returned my money only for two nights. I could not argue as I was very frustrated and in shock after robbery. However, the owner helped me to go to the police to declare a robbery although he told me that it was better not to file an official complaint to open a case for its investigation as it would take much time. However, he gave me 5 dollars for the bus to the airport. So at least I had some money to leave that place. Horrible experience and the worst stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ulia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, Gerente at Mundo Maya Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014
Google Translation

Hola ulia17,
Mi nombre es Carlos Vargas y yo soy el dueño de Hostal Mundo Maya. Me gustaría responder y expresar mi opinión sobre el comentario que se hizo. Esta señora de la llegada al albergue se le dio la opción de pagar en efectivo o con tarjeta como pago la comisión de booking.com . Así que debe haber sido una mala interpretación entre nosotros.
El incidente ocurrió desafortunadamente, era la primera vez que sucedió que alguien fue robado en mi hostal. El ladrón hizo entrar en su habitación y tomó sus cosas, pero yo no se fue a su ayuda cuando la oí gritos y también la ayudó a ponerse en contacto con la policía y presentar una denuncia penal. ¿Qué tengo documentos de demostrar. Al salir antes lo hice ella devolver el dinero para los 5 días restantes. Me siento muy mal ya que el dueño que esta situación ocurrió, pero tuve que lidiar con ella de la mejor manera posible y desde el robo hice poner una cámara CCTV en el albergue y también tienen un perro guardián para mayor seguridad. Desde esta ocasión nada ha ocurrido alguna vez a mis invitados y me gustaría decir que mi hostal está a salvo.
Me gustaría decirle a esta señora una vez más que le pido disculpas por la inconveniencia que pasó con ella durante su estancia en el albergue, pero algunas de las cosas que está diciendo aquí, en su comentario son falsas. Yo trabajo duro para proporcionar presupuesto y alojamiento seguro y quisiera asegurarse de que ninguna de las personas que están pensando en reservar en Hostal Mundo Maya están juzgando mal a mi albergue y la seguridad de la misma. Muchas gracias y cualquier persona que tenga preguntas o dudas acerca de su reserva puede ponerse en contacto conmigo a través de hostelmundomaya@gmail.com .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank victorptsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jocelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel El Corazon
Hostel El Corazon
#12 of 159 in Cancun
123 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel Kukulkan
#39 of 159 in Cancun
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kukulcan Hostel & Friends
Kukulcan Hostel & Friends
#18 of 159 in Cancun
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ikaro Beds
Ikaro Beds
#28 of 159 in Cancun
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haina Hostal
Haina Hostal
#15 of 159 in Cancun
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orquideas Hostel
Orquideas Hostel
#3 of 159 in Cancun
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Maya Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Maya Hostel

Address: Avenida Yaxchilan | sm.25 m.8 lote 82 cp 77509, Cancun 77509, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range: $11 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mundo Maya Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agora Hostel Cancun is in a building that has been completely renovated, so it is in excellent condition. Our hostel is located in downtown Cancun a few minutes walk of the most important public squares and gardens of the city, as well as bars and restaurants.The interesting thing is that we are at a15 minute bus ride from the beach area, 25 minutes from the airport and 6 blocks from the bus station, where you can take a bus and visit the archaeological site of Chichen Itza, the colonial city of Valladolid, Yucatan, or any other destination in the region or country.We have clean, safe and spacious areas, a kitchen, comfortable living room with books where you can drink a cup of coffee and a beautiful garden where you can enjoy the sun.To make your trip an unforgettable experience we also have a great and dynamic staff to serve you and create the perfect environment for those who want to feel like home, providing information on cultural events in the city or how to get around. Also, if you want contact with guides to take you to find the archaeological sites of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mundo Maya Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing