We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Shores Crown Paradise

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Shores Crown Paradise
Save
You added Golden Shores Crown Paradise to your Saves list
Ranked #103 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Would give 10 out of 10 for value for money, food very good, pool and beach area good, the only draw-back not enough sunbeds, don't see why you need to get up a 6am to claim a bed when your on holiday. The sea is warm and clear with some nice waves. The hotel its self is basic, if your after luxury then go somewhere else. Staff really helpful and friendly. No english papers and TV rubbish. Stayed for 10 days and overall I would rate 8 out of ten One last thing if you book make a point of how many beds you need in your room, an obvious point but I booked a room for 2 males and got one bed, and it happened to other people in our party.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 361happydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in October for our first trip to Mexico.
*Service*
All of the staff are very helpful and friendly and most will go out of their way to accommodate you. Definitely one of the biggest pluses to this resort.
*The Room*
We stayed on the adults only 8th floor of the newer crown tower. If you are childless I would definitely recommend spending a little more $ for the adults only floors - it was well worth it even though we didn't take advantage of some of the perks like the lagoon lunch cruise. Spectacular full ocean view! Room was immaculately clean and our housekeeper was very good. Marble floors and countertops, modern furniture, oversized king bed (although mattress was a little on the hard side), walk in shower, double vanity, jacuzzi tub overlooking the ocean, decent sized balcony. Room temp stayed comfortable as long as you didn't leave the balcony sliding glass door open. Outside the room in the hallways was another story, no a/c out there so very hot and humid like a sauna! The room had a mini fridge stocked with waters, sodas, and beers. It was supposed to be restocked daily, but this only ever actually happened once and the other days we had to call and request a restock which seemed to take forever. Honeymooners package (the travel agency we booked through offered this as a free upgrade) included a bottle of champagne and fruit plate which were nice, but wouldn't recommend actually paying for this option. Overall we were very pleased with the room, for the price it was definitely a pleasant surprise.
*Location*
Kind of on the far end of the hotel zone, but not a big deal as busses run up and down the hotel zone and into downtown all day for only $9.50 pesos (less than $1 USD) each way. There is a run down and abandoned resort next door which is a bit of an eye sore. We thought the beach was great - spent almost all of our time here. Water was shallow enough to wade out a ways and swimmable even on the windy/stormy days. Unlike some of the other reviews, we had no problems finding chairs at the beach even after 9 am (this could be due to us staying during the off season I'm guessing). Playa Delfines is right down the beach, practically next door. The El Rey ruins are right across the street.
*Food*
By far the worst part of this resort. I am shocked by the number of reviews that rate the food as good - these people must have very low standards. We went in expecting average quality and boy were we disappointed. The quality of food at the lunch and dinner buffets and at the snack bars was very poor. Selection was pretty decent but 90% the food was extremely bland and just down right terrible. I would compare to below average cafeteria food. Presentation was very nice and most of the stuff actually looked appetizing until you put it in your mouth. The reservation system for the actual restaurants is a joke. They will let you make dinner reservations up to 1 day in advance. We stayed 5 nights and were only able to get reservations for 1 night. Even on that night they had only a few open slots left at just one of the restaurants when we booked, which was strange considering the restaurant was only about half full when we went. We found it hard to believe that all the slots for all 5 restaurants were full by 9 am even when you tried to book a day ahead. We were only able to try Wayne's Boots which was very disappointing. The staff was great, but the food not so much. Better than the buffets, but not by much. The adults only package gets you access to a private lounge and breakfast buffet, which was decent (better than the lunch/dinner buffets) but has a much smaller selection than the regular breakfast buffet downstairs. The regular one has made-to-order omlettes which were actually good. Other than that we ate almost exclusively at restaurants outside the resort or cheese quesadillas and pico de gallo from the buffets (the pico was surprisingly some of the best we've had). For this reason alone, we would not stay at the Crown Paradise again.
*Drinks/Bars*
Bartenders will make practically any mixed drink you ask for. Mixed drinks were good but seemed a little on the sweet side. Corona Light was the only beer option available while we were there. Bar service was quick and courteous. Nothing really to complain about considering it's all you can drink for your entire stay!
*Atmosphere*
Definitely seemed to be more of a family resort, the activities cater more towards families with kids which we didn't mind because we weren't interested in participating in group activities anyways. The adults only floors and lounge are more couples oriented and were welcome escapes for the swarms of screaming kids running around everywhere. We didn't try out the adults only pool since we preferred the beach/ocean. There was music around the main pool during the day which could also be heard on the beach. Overall, not bad but probably wouldn't recommend for couples in their 20s.
*Conclusion*
Even though the food was a big disappointment, we were happy with the resort as a whole. If you are planning on going out and trying some of the local cuisine anyways like us, you should be able to deal with a few meals at the resort. Reserve your spot at the restaurants ASAP so you don't get stuck eating at the buffet! The overall experience coincided with the price we paid. Don't go in with unreasonable expectations thinking you're going to get a 5 star resort for a 3 star price. If we come back to Cancun, we will save a little more $ for a nicer, less family oriented resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jhagfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The resort is very clean. The workers work hard at keeping it that way everyday. You can see them cleaning the grounds very very early in the morning. Overall, the food we found was average, nothing to brag about. There is an Italian restaurant on the second level that is very good. Ask the manager to make the coffee and you will get a great show, hopefully he is still working there. The Osso Buco in that restaurant was amazing, had two orders in one night since it was all inclusive. The weight room is small but quite substantial for what you would need. We loved the clay tennis courts there, the clay was wearing thin but we loved playing on them. It is surrounded by the tall buildings of the resort so when you hit the ball it sounds like it will explode with the echo, felt like Nadal out there. Overall the resort was very good, the food can definitely be better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aylkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's nice, adequate, not over-the-top. The good news about a smaller resort is that there isn't a ton of walking. But a smaller resort feels small. If you go, here are some recommendations:
-If you wonder why your lights don't work, put your room key or the Do Not Disturb sign in the slot by the door. It activates the lights. It's an energy-saving thing that is not explained to you at check in.
-There is not a self-service laundry. i took liquid Tide and hand-washed things in the sink. i took clothes pins and used them to secure the wet laundry on the deck chairs, otherwise the laundry would probably blow away.
-When you call for dinner reservations, you can make one for the current evening and another for the next evening, even though you will be told you can't do that. We liked the seafood and steakhouse the best.
-The bus is 8.5 peso but you can give the driver $1. You might get change but don't count on it.
-The artisans set up in the lobby on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday nights. The hand-painted and spray-painted pictures are a good deal and you won't find them in the flea markets. The glass etcher is also very talented and you won't find him elsewhere, either.
-If you use a credit card, you will be charged extra for American Express, but not VISA or Mastercard.
-Takes lots and lots of $1 bills.
-Take big insulated cups to avoid having to get refills all of the time.
-The resort was busy, but we could always find 4 chairs at the pool or more likely on the beach.
-Take a blow up tube. They are cheap in the US, and you can leave them for other children if you don't want to deflate for the trip home. They are great fun in the waves.
-The rooms have blow dryers and magnifying mirrors, so you don't have to bring those.
-Cancun Transfers is a great way to get to and from the airport. Round trip for 4 was $65. i made the reservation on line with PayPal. It was perfect and a very clean and comfy way to travel.
-Sea turtles apparently come up on the beach at night. i didn't discover that until the last morning when i saw their tracks. Check with the gym guy to see if the turtles are around when you are there.
-The El Balam and Cenote Maya excursion is wonderful! We highly recommend it.
Hope this helps!

Room Tip: We reserved a two-room and actually got three attached rooms with three bathrooms. i don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tamnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

cant say a bad word about the crown paradise the location the food and the service were fantastic dont let any negative reviews put you off we took it on face value and were not disapointed we went for a week only but should of gone longer we were sad to leave but will be back deffo for 2 weeks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ianu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

February 17-24-2012
Just got back from our time share that we have now had for five years and the level has gone down each year. Not sure the quality of food can sink muck lower especially at the dinner buffet. Bacon is not available each morning cost cutting I guess. The Japanese restaurant was out of fried shrimp five of my six tries with very slow service.
Come on management Wi fi is available for FREE at Starbucks , Bugger King, Borders and I think even motel 6 and you want $20.00 a day give me a break. The towel policy is designed to keep people angry and in courage people to take other peoples towels because if you lose your towel they charge $35.00 for a towel you can buy at Wal-mart for $10.00. Not sure anyone would really want to take home a brown and white striped used towel unless desperate. They have no towel privileges for timeshare owners like other time share resorts we have stayed. Would look else were if interested in a timeshare glad my Crown Paradise Club only has three years remaining.
The staff is friendly , the rooms clean but have to pay for that maid service as a time share owner . The pools were fine this year because the temperatures were in the 80 ‘s they could stand to have the pools heated with solar units. The hot tub is old and could stand updating so could the hotel for that matter. The shows are fair but again not the quality of other timeshare places we have stayed .
I recommend not drinking before going to a timeshare sales meeting learn from my mistake things tend to look better with blurry eyes.

Room Tip: We have asked in the past before travel but when you get there we seem to get sorry we are full
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scupfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

OK let's get going on the hotel. We arrived in the evening around 8pm. Our shuttle service from the airport could not get up the incline to the hotel because a bus broke down in front....Onwards and upwards to the lobby. Stood in a line for a resonable amount of time. We get to our room which is on the top (8th) floor. Adult only floor. Beautiful view. In our room is what i call the white elephant a huge hot tub where i would have put hmmm maybe a couch? We did end up using it and it felt good, but i thought the concept was a little tacky. The furniture in the room is out of date. The tv is one of the big ones and not in a good way. Who cares were there for the sunshine! The beach is lovely. The food is horrible. They make it really hard to make reservations for the restaraunts...they don't answer the phone. When we ate at the seafood restaraunt it was ok. The french restaraunt was good. 2 in 10 days? My husband and i had a running joke calling the main eating area the mess hall. Terrible food! We would grab a bannana and apple and be on our way. Lunch by the pool-french fries were edible! Last but not least remember to be safe on the bus to town! It is not safe!! All in all plenty of sunshine! Beautiful view and beach. Lucky to get a lounger because people must mark them at ?? 5 am?? Then they don't use them til noon? Really people??

Room Tip: If you don't have kids try to get on the 8th floor. Quiet and adult only. Bring your own pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valpoconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#18 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
15.5 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Shores Crown Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Shores Crown Paradise

Property: Golden Shores Crown Paradise
Address: Av. Lopez Mateos Sur 2375 | Guadalajara, Jalisco, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A time sharing vacation club with access to Crown Paradise resorts and all the RCI properties around the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Shores Crown Paradise Hotel Cancun
Golden Shores Crown Paradise Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing