We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not want to come home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Shores Crown Paradise
Ranked #109 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed January 20, 2013

cant say a bad word about the crown paradise the location the food and the service were fantastic dont let any negative reviews put you off we took it on face value and were not disapointed we went for a week only but should of gone longer we were sad to leave but will be back deffo for 2 weeks

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ianu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 77 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

February 17-24-2012
Just got back from our time share that we have now had for five years and the level has gone down each year. Not sure the quality of food can sink muck lower especially at the dinner buffet. Bacon is not available each morning cost cutting I guess. The Japanese restaurant was out of fried shrimp five of my six tries with very slow service.
Come on management Wi fi is available for FREE at Starbucks , Bugger King, Borders and I think even motel 6 and you want $20.00 a day give me a break. The towel policy is designed to keep people angry and in courage people to take other peoples towels because if you lose your towel they charge $35.00 for a towel you can buy at Wal-mart for $10.00. Not sure anyone would really want to take home a brown and white striped used towel unless desperate. They have no towel privileges for timeshare owners like other time share resorts we have stayed. Would look else were if interested in a timeshare glad my Crown Paradise Club only has three years remaining.
The staff is friendly , the rooms clean but have to pay for that maid service as a time share owner . The pools were fine this year because the temperatures were in the 80 ‘s they could stand to have the pools heated with solar units. The hot tub is old and could stand updating so could the hotel for that matter. The shows are fair but again not the quality of other timeshare places we have stayed .
I recommend not drinking before going to a timeshare sales meeting learn from my mistake things tend to look better with blurry eyes.

Room Tip: We have asked in the past before travel but when you get there we seem to get sorry we are full
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scupfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

OK let's get going on the hotel. We arrived in the evening around 8pm. Our shuttle service from the airport could not get up the incline to the hotel because a bus broke down in front....Onwards and upwards to the lobby. Stood in a line for a resonable amount of time. We get to our room which is on the top (8th) floor. Adult only floor. Beautiful view. In our room is what i call the white elephant a huge hot tub where i would have put hmmm maybe a couch? We did end up using it and it felt good, but i thought the concept was a little tacky. The furniture in the room is out of date. The tv is one of the big ones and not in a good way. Who cares were there for the sunshine! The beach is lovely. The food is horrible. They make it really hard to make reservations for the restaraunts...they don't answer the phone. When we ate at the seafood restaraunt it was ok. The french restaraunt was good. 2 in 10 days? My husband and i had a running joke calling the main eating area the mess hall. Terrible food! We would grab a bannana and apple and be on our way. Lunch by the pool-french fries were edible! Last but not least remember to be safe on the bus to town! It is not safe!! All in all plenty of sunshine! Beautiful view and beach. Lucky to get a lounger because people must mark them at ?? 5 am?? Then they don't use them til noon? Really people??

Room Tip: If you don't have kids try to get on the 8th floor. Quiet and adult only. Bring your own pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valpoconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nous avons passer 2 semaines à cet hotel ma femme et moi avec ma fille de 19 ans. Nous avons eu notre chambre immédiatement à notre arrivée. Deux chambres à coucher avec salle à dîner et mini-cuisine avec balcon et vue sur la mer. La nourriture était excellente autant au buffet qu'au restaurant à la carte. Les activités à la piscine et les spectacles en soirée était fait par une très bonne équipe de jeune organisateur. Il y a aussi une piscine pour adulte. Seul point négatif est la réservation des chaises à la piscine et à la plage qui n'est pas surveillé, les gens laissent des objets sur les chaises très tôt le matin et ne reviennent qu'en après midi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

we have just returned from 2 wks at the crown paradiseon 22 nov. the hotel is very clean, the staff quite friendly, the only downside was the buffet style restaraunt, it was more like a works canteen with plastic chairs and plastic plates. there are more canadians and americans there , you could count on 1 hand the number of british there so obviously they only realy catered for them and not to much for the british, they say they have a japenese restaraunt but realy it is just like a takeaway with plastic chairs and tables outside to eat on. The good side to the food was the mexican, italian, french, seafood and steakhouse all of which you can go to every night there is no limit to this but you have to ring up each day to book for the next day. The staff in all these restaraunts are extremly helpful and the food is very good , these restaraunts are a must. The entertaintment staff worked very hard all day always something going on and the shows were very good. The gardens were extremely well looked after the gardners were in them every day. The only staff that we found not to helpful was the reception staff, they seemed to not understand to well but they understood the canadians and americans though we spoke the same language they say you can change cash at the desk but they couldnt change £100 saying they did not keep much cash , but this was probably a good thing as you went downtown to the bank where you got £10 more per £100 well worth the bus trip the local buses are every few mins and will stop for you at the hotel entrance and cost about 42p each nomatter how far you travel but overall we had a very good holiday

Room Tip: rooms ending from 4 to about 12 on every floor can be quite noisy as they are right above the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mick024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Hubby and i and our 2 friends travelled here in Sept 2011 for a week thru an RCI exchange...LOVED IT...the food is delicious and there are so many choices of food, the beach was stunning white powder sand, the adult pool was great for quiet time, the fact that the hotel even has adults only sections thru out the hotel is a HUGE plus, The staff is very friendly and attentive to your needs, the property is well maintained and there is aways an activity going on...the hotel is right on the main bus route and the bus stops right outside the hotel we never had to pay for a taxi the bus was 2 bucks! Room service is great and they had a show every night, along with their own movie theatre and game rooms..there is something for all ages here which is impressive...The downfall is the A/C in the rooms are not the best and apparently it is this way in all of the rooms but it was comfortable...I will return there gladly..

Room Tip: all the rooms have a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nightnurseFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We read all the reviews before we went and new the beds would be hard and boy were they! But the room and grounds were spotless and the food was the best all inclusive I have ever had. Several have complained about the broke tiles in the rooms but they are aged marble made to look like that. Besides the hard bed the ony other complaint I have was the antique exercise equipment, they should really but a few grand that way as the room overlooks the beach and could be great. We didn't have any trouble getting into any of the restaurant with the reservtion system and actually ate at one twice. I just called a few times between 8-10 every morning for the next day as they let you make them a day in advance and whatever time I wanted. On the day of my arrival I went up to the hostess and said we just arrived and they sat us right away w/o a reservation. Loved the suishi, fried cheese sticks, fried rice, wings and nachos all available by the pools. Kids loved the slides but you need closed toe shoes for the kids to do the zip line (FYI). This was my third trip to the area and first with the kids. This place is geared towards families but does have an adult only pool on the quiet side of the resort. If you are a scuba diver, its really cheap to go through the Aquaworld tours onsite. I did a wreck dive and reef dive for a total of $65.80 with rental equipment. Rented a car for $60 and drove to Tulum and Playa Del Carmen for the day and it too was a breeze! Enjoy your stay and enjoy one of the hammocks by the beach!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BRDEinKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
21.1 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
15.5 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
13.3 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#65 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
936 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 176 in Cancun
10,251 reviews
17.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
9,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Shores Crown Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Shores Crown Paradise

Address: Av. Lopez Mateos Sur 2375 | Guadalajara, Jalisco, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A time sharing vacation club with access to Crown Paradise resorts and all the RCI properties around the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Shores Crown Paradise Hotel Cancun
Golden Shores Crown Paradise Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing