We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Descent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonial Cancun Hotel
Ranked #135 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Descent Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

My gf and I stayed here the first nights of our trip this summer to (mexico and belize). The price had gone up since our booking by quite a bit but because we had booked 3-4 months before hand we got it for the price we did then (was really great the receptionist could see that).

Anyway, the location is so so. It's close to shopping and lots of restaurants and the ADO Bus terminal which was great.

If you're one to have some of the continental breakfast make sure you're there at 0700 exactly otherwise you won't behaving anything to eat.

The rooms are ok, nothing spectacular but you wouldn't expect that for the price. One thing that did annoy us was that other residents in the hotel are very noisy and loud throughout the night.

Also, one night the receptionist felt he was bored or something and would be playing loud music which could be heard throughout the whole hotel, so sleep that night was definitely not going to happen.

All in all, you get what you're paying for. As for the noise, bring some ear plugs and you should be fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    24
    6
    18
See reviews for
13
25
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

For a Cancun vacation, you can't beat a package deal with airfare and an all-inclusive in the hotel zone. But if you want flexibility to travel to other cities( or countries), like hanging around with more locals than tourists, and don't want to spend the majority of your time at the beach, you may choose to stay at a downtown hotel like this one.
I have stayed at this hotel 15-20 times in the last 15 years. I am going to Cancun next month, and will likely stay there again. That said, there is nothing about it which would make me recommend it highly to other travellers. If you want to stay in downtown Cancun, and are on a very tight budget, it's about the best choice. While certainly not fancy or spotless, the location is fairly central for downtown stores and bars, it's tolerably clean, and doesn't make you feel unsafe. I have paid around $40 a night, depending on the season and whether or not I wanted AC. There are several nicer options in the $60 range, and some very sleazy places for $25-$30, but this is the best you can do for $40. Twice locals had noisy late-night parties in the fountain downstairs, and a few times I slept on my beach towel rather than touch the sheets, but I consider those sort of things minor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuarapoconRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Poor service, terrible room, awful location, not even a window, let alone a room with a view!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

New York City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

My wife and i stayed there two nights. The room was clean ad the rate was $41.00US. It was just off the main drag. There was no on site restaurant, but there were some on the same street as the hotel. A large park was nearby with many activities and vendors. There was noisy construction going on while we were there but it did not go on too late. No internet but the manger said it was being installed. This hotel is not for everyone. But it got the job done for us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlOsstnewyOrkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

Hotel seemed nice, the bathroom had a few spots but overall seemed clean until we removed the bed covers. The bed was full of hairs and dirt as if someone had just slept on it. Immediately we went to the lobby and asked for new blankets or another room. The very unpleasant lady said she didn't have any extra clean blankets besides the ones on the beds of the hotel, nor another room, nor the key to the linen room. We had to sleep on top of the blankets, fully clothed to avoid contamination. In the morning we asked a maid for clean linens and she was very embarrassed, telling us she wasn't assigned that room the day before and thought that the other maid would have cleaned it after the previous guest left, but she would immediately clean it thoroughly herself. She did so, and afterward the stay wasn't so bad. It is well located near several stores, a supermarket and restaurants, but the initial experience was awful, wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

We chanced upon this hotel in downtown Cancun while looking for a place to spend our last night there. The location is very good. There is a main square just behind the hotel, which has a ton of food stalls and a very nice, relaxed ambiance. We were there on Mothers Day and they had some sort of a celebration and it seemed like the whole neighborhood had turned up.

The hotel itself is clean and quiet. Room was decent sized as was the bathroom. The AC was extra efficient (had to turn the temperature up) and the beds thankfully did not have springs.

A warning though - if you have a rental car, make sure you park it in a lot and not on the street. The street in front of the hotel has legal, free parking, but our spare tire got stolen and we had to cough up the money for it. Thankfully, nothing else was taken.

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vagabondny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvinmytravel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

Stayed here on Feb 25th 2008 for 40usd.

-mold
-no a/c
-broken chain lock on door
-broken taps
-chunky pillows
-overall dirty feel and look.
-no phone (but there was a phone book???)
-no screens on windows (shutter style)
-overpriced even at 40$


We had taken a bus from Playa to downtown Cancun for 3.50 usd and then decided to look around for a hotel to stay at. While walking past the bus terminal a man kept trying to talk to us...we ignored him at first as we thought he was selling something. When he asked again where we were going I said to look for a Hotel. He proceeded to take out a brochure for Hotel Colonial. We followed him through the public streets of downtown because we thought we would give him a chance. The hotel was in a good location five minute walk from bus station and looked nice enough. The man who led us there was nice enough but the whole scenerio was strange. I suppose he was just trying to make a few extra bucks.

We asked to see the room as we had planned to look around at all different hotels to get the best deal/suitable room. We went up and looked and at first glance it looked okay...a little worn and splotchy paint...but we did not stick around to even look in the bathroom. We payed the man at the front desk who used a big roll of money from his pockett as a till!! and tipped the man that brought us there.

When we returned to our room it and looked at it further there was no air conditioning which I thought I could handle...but it was sooo super stuffy in the room ...then we looked in the bathroom. YUCK!!!! as you can see from the photos there was what looked like dirt marks all over. I threw some water on the floor and rubbed it with toilet paper to see if it actually was dirt but it was not. It must have been just really worn and old. Basically there was mold in the shower with broken taps no screens on the windows the pillows were chunky and everything appeared dirty. I could have kicked myself for staying in the room overnight. I feel as though we had been ripped off...as it appears that other rooms had airconditioning!

I travel a lot...and can easily overlook things...but there was too much to overlook here. I felt very uncomfortable here..so much so that we had to buy cheap flip flops to shower so we didn't touch the moldy tiles.

Oh well it was an adventure! at least there were no bugs!!! and there was cable tv! the restaurant across the street is VERY GOOD!

The next night we flew to Dallas and stayed in a hotel for 60$ (interline rate)
20$ more and we had 2 tv's the nicest pillows EVER / free breakfast/free shuttle to and from airport/free internet.....

so you can see why I felt ripped off.

  • Liked — close to bus station
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING... the mold...the dirt...no a/c
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvinmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida Cancun
Hotel Avenida Cancun
#153 of 182 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suites Cancun Centro
Suites Cancun Centro
#159 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#86 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marazul Hotel Boutique
Marazul Hotel Boutique
#137 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#126 of 182 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Cancun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Cancun Hotel

Property: Colonial Cancun Hotel
Address: Av. Tulipanes 22 | Sm 21, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Koox Colonial Cancun Hotel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Cancun Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonial Cancun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing