We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #16 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The three of us have unfortunately returned home from a two week break at this fabulous hotel.

The staff have been brilliant, always friendly, smiling and nothing was too much trouble and they all remembered what drink you were having and had another ready before you had finished the first one.

The hotel is seriously impressive and grand without being to ostentatious with its relaxed atmosphere.

We took a couple of trips whilst we were there. The first to Chichen Itza where the tour guide Sergio who is a professor of archaeology took us around who was the most fascinating and knowledgeable man we have had the pleasure to meet. The second trip we took was to Coba which was equally good but both trips we were picked up before 6am which is the best time of day to get there before the other tourists and the heat.

If you are in any doubts about booking here please don't we are gutted to be back and are now madly saving up to go back.

What more can I say but it was heaven.


Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 12princessb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,919
    1,509
    469
    203
    146
See reviews for
1,188
2,916
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel itself is a nice enough hotel and I'm sorry if my review sounds harsh but I'm currently sitting, for an hour so far, in a large queue of unhappy customers, waiting to speak to the thomson rep about the extremely loud drilling from the building work going on at the hotel right next to this one, riu cancun!

Booked this holiday looking to relax and recharge. Every day we've been woken by loud drilling noise which starts around 7.30am and finishes around 6pm! Everywhere you go, pool, bar, beach, sea all you can hear is loud intrusive building work which has completely ruined our holiday! The dust from the demolition actually makes it difficult to breathe in some areas especially when the wind is blowing towards you and if it gets in your eyes it stings like mad as I found out on my first day trying to relax on the beach! The building work also caused the water to stop to this hotel on Tuesday morning for hours meaning the toilets would not flush and we had to go on an excursion without getting a shower, felt absolutely disgusting!

I think this would be a nice hotel but unfortunately our entire holiday has been ruined by the building work! I think it's a disgrace thomson failed to disclose this at the time of booking, especially considering we booked 7 days before departure! We spent nearly £2,000 of our hard earned money to sit next to a building site for a week!

I'm absolutely disgusted and writing this to save anyone else from my holiday hell! I have been advised the work may go on for 6 months so if considering staying here I'd check on the work.

I can only hope we are able to get a refund from thomson otherwise we have lost a small fortune for nothing but a building site!

Sorry to the palace las americas, the service is friendly and rooms clean etc but unfortunately my stay is ruined by the building site next door, approx the hotel grounds are 50 yards apart, basically touching each other!

I wish I could go home right now, the next 3 days are going to be more of the same, no relaxation, unable to use pool bar etc with building dust and noise, sitting inside wishing the time away desperate to get home!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

8 Adults celebrating my cousins 50th and him and his wife's 25th wedding anniversary. The staff was awesome. I really enjoyed it all. My only issue is the humidity made our sheets feel damp all the time. But all I had to do was walk out to the patio and all was better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justbeachy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

If staying here disappoints,then you really are a moaner or from the royal family. Stayed here for eleven nights all inclusive and can honestly not say a bad word about this place,oh and I am hard to please,ask the wife.
You know how on your way to a hotel that in the pit of your stomach your hoping that you haven't made a terrible choice an that your vacation will be a nightmare ? Well stay here and you'll have nothing to worry about,believe me. Food,service,location,cleanliness and all amenities are first class.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank JimmyOd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Simply ahhh-mazing. I'll share some pros, some could-be-betters (still not quite cons) and tips from our week-long stay at the end of April:

Pros:
- The property is visually stunning.
- Everything is immaculately clean.
- The staff are ALL very friendly and helpful.
- The beach is great because there are gorgeous rocks to take photos on and still plenty of sandy spots for swimming and snorkeling.
- I was really impressed with the food, even down to the buffets...there's always something for everyone!

Could-Be-Betters:
- The beds. From scratchy sheets to impressively lumpy pillows, they need some help.
- The AC. We had the AC in our room on full blast for the whole week and never got it cool enough. Perhaps a faster setting on the fan would help, or additional fans for the rooms.
- Would have been great to spend one day in a cabana on the beach - there are only beach chairs down there. Many people use several and turn them into teepees to stay in the shade.
- The drinks. The margaritas were just depressingly gross...stay far away! Lots of sugary syrup in the fruity drinks, would have been better with better alcohol and real fruit juice.

Tips:
- Be prepared to get up in the AM to reserve a chair by the pool. Many people wake up at 6AM to get towels and reserve chair and most all are reserved by 8AM.
- Reserve restaurants as soon as possible (two days in advance of the reservation). Sakura (Japanese - our favorite) and Krystal (Fusion) both fill up before noon two days before. Tio Pepe (Mexican) is the other speciality restaurant, but it doesn't fill up as quickly Seatings are at 6.30 and 8.45.
- The top pool (with the statues and cabanas) is more for families, where the lower pool (with the pool bar) is more for couples and friends who want to drink. Both have gorgeous infinity edges!
- The spa is really expensive. $169usd for a 50 min couple's massage inside. After the fact, another couple said there's a massage parlor across the street that has amazing $50 massages.
- There's a hut to the right of the hotel on the beach where you can rent snorkel equipment for free and kayaks for $2 per person for an hour! Do it!
- Tip the bartenders - a few $1's goes far for service!
- Keep the curtains closed all day to keep your room as cool as possible.

Overall ~ 4.5 stars! Will definitely stay at another Riu Palace in the future.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for an ocean view room - we had to keep the curtains drawn the entire time t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calliejoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Back from a week stay at the Riu Palace Las Americas. We were lucky to be upgraded to a sea view room on the sixth floor. The hotel is very clean, the food at the buffet is fresh and varied. Unless you are accustomed to Michelin star restaurants on a daily basis you will not go hungry. There is always a good choice of meats, fish & sea food, salads, pasta station and a good Mexican cuisine station. The desserts are better than most all Inclusive hotels, there is a good choice of ice creams and there are lots of lovely sweet and ripe fresh fruits (pineapple was the sweetest I ever had). Staying only a week we only made a reservation for the Steak Grill. Reservation was hassle free and quick. The Steak Grill was OK but we appreciated the change from going to the buffet. However, you do get better steaks at the buffet and on our last night Thursday lovely lobsters were also on offer at the buffet.
There are two pools and a small but lovely white sandy beach. There are loungers with parasols available on the terrace above the beach. We never had trouble finding loungers although we could see people reserving their places early in the morning. The sea, being calm and warm, was excellent for swimming . However it went deep quite quickly and this I guess would not be so good for young children. The infinity pool in front of the hotel was quiet and the one where daily entertainment took place was full of drunks and the noise there was deafening.
The room was like many other Riu Palace hotels: spacious, clean, good bathroom, ample storage, a mini bar and alcoholic optic bottles.
The staff is friendly, hardworking and therefore deserves tipping. A special thank you to Manuel at reception.
If you are used to stay at the Ritz then yes you may find some little niggly things like pillows not being the softest, bedding looking a bit tired (but still cleaned)or there are only two lifts. Just remember this a good value hotel.
We were lucky with the weather as it was a sunny all week with one shower during one night.
Since this was not our first time in the Yucatan, we did not go on any trips. One afternoon, we just took the bus R2 to go to the Walmart supermarket. If you like cooking then this is the best and cheapest place to buy local ingredients like chillies, spices, salsas, nuts and chipotles. Also there is a good selection of beachwear and bottles of Tequila cheaper than in the usual tourists shops.
Lastly we travelled with Thomson and this is our third trip on a Dream liner plane. Every time we have experienced from reasonable to long delays both in bound and out bound. It seems that Dream liners are badly designed as even with small faults it is difficult for engineers to get to the right spot making every little check a long and tenuous process.
Enjoy your holiday we certainly did.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonConstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel Riu Palace never seems to let us down The rooms are very well maintained and the motel ground and beach front are keep clean. The all inclusive restaurants have good food, but the speciality restaurant are fantastic. The evening hotel entertainment are well organized and the staff is polite and professional. We have always stayed in Riu Brand Resorts and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: requests second floor suites that face the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing