We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday of my life amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #17 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just got back from 2 weeks stay and can not find a bad word to say about this hotel it's exactly like the pictures if not better we had our wedding here so we got upgraded to a suite which was amazing and huge although some of our quests stayed in junior suites which were great to. The food in this hotel is amazing even the buffet was fantastic the bech is very small and even worse this time of year as its their winter so the tide is in the sun does go in around the hotel early but there's still loads of places to catch it including the roof terrace that not many people know about. But the one thing that made our stay fantastic is the staff they can not do enough for you from the lobby staff to the restaurants and the pool boys I never had to wait for a drink infact they topped me up without me knowing most of the time and we never got asked for tips. This hotel is 5 star all the way from the location to the food to the cleaness I would defo go back again and defo recommend was the best holiday of my life.xxxx

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,707)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,011 - 2,017 of 6,707 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from Cancun and loved this place. The food was better than other Rius.The beach was narrow and the sun was blocked by the hotel from about 11 to 2. Getting to the water sports check out involved walking across a lot of rocks. Service was great especially at the indoor bar. Yes it was damp but being in a warm wet part of the world it's to be expected.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from here 3 days ago. I cannot find one thing about the whole experience that I would change! The stupid nit-picky reviews are ridiculous! The staff from the maids to the front desk to the bartenders were all awesome! Shout out to Abu, he is awesome! If you just tip a few dollars every time these people will go out of their way for you. The room was nice and we got an ocean view upgrade. The bed was comfortable enough, we were exhausted by the end of the day so it didn't much matter. As far as the smell, I didn't find it that bad. I tend to be pretty sensitive to smells and it wasn't so bad that it was an issue. People talking about having stealing issues: if you don't want it stolen don't take it or lock it in the safe!!! The buffet for breakfast and lunch was great. Make reservations for the other restaurants early. We ate at the Japanese and the steakhouse. Both with great service and excellent food. We missed out on Krystal but were told it was great as well. If you couldn't find something you liked then I don't know what you're looking for. Guillermo was our rep and he was awesome as well, very helpful and went out of his way to welcome us and answer any questions. We are not pool people but the two pools were very nice. The beach was great. They had lounge chairs put out every morning and their was plenty of room for everyone. I'm not sure how anyone can complain. The weather was sunny and hot, the water was beautiful turquoise. The rocks/reef area on this beach was great to explore. I saw tiny crabs and small colorful fish, very cool! You can rent snorkeling gear, kayaks, catamarans right on the beach. Overall we had a great experience and would 100% recommend this resort. We would go back in a heart beat. Take some of the negative reviews with a grain of salt. Some people will find anything to complain about!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

booked 21 days to stay at this hotel only stayed six.Good points food was great 24 hour room service and 24 hours snack bar all good.Staff were all fantastic even the cleaners the hotel is big and does look good.Bad points yes it stinks of mould and it is damp.Your beds will feel it and your clothes will all be damp and smell It as a very small beach well its not a beach really 2 very small pools.There is no entertainment after 11.If its raining you will get wet going to resturant.And this is a big point do not take more than 400 cigerettes they will fine you all your cases are scanned and ladies do not carry money in your bags customs lady stole two hundred pounds off me we did report it.And last our thomson rep danielle was brilliant she got us moved to riu palace penisular.

Room Tip: get a higher room 5 onwards and floor 5 has double beds
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tacey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Overall this resort was decent. The small beach can not be made bigger but thankfully we are not beach people. The food was above average but we expected a little better. The entertainment was very good and the theater was actually impressive. Our room was good, not stellar. One word to the wise is make sure you lock your room when you leave. We came back twice to find our door open. there was nothing missing (locked safe helps) but we met some other people who were not so lucky. That said they could surely use some better security practices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stay here in December and had a horrible experience.
On my second night here, while I was away from the room for 2 hours at a dinner reservation booked through the hotel (hmm I wonder who knew I wasn't going to be in the room), thieves broke into the balcony door and stole my 2 iPads which would not fit into the small safe.

The management did absolutely nothing about this and did not even provide any amenities to help me deal with my loss - even something as simple as a discount on a excursion or a move to a safer room would have been ok. They did nothing.

My room was on the first floor, the balcony doors are very easy to open from the outside - one of the locks does not even work and the door doesn't shut all the way. I attached photos so you can see yourself. Also all the balconies on the first floor are attached so someone can easily walk between the rooms. If you stay here I highly recommend not getting first floor room.

Besides this what I would say is that the wait staff is very friendly but the food is a bit disappointing. I know its an all inclusive but some of it was barely edible. Also unless u get the deluxe oceanview room - all the other rooms are 2 double beds - no king size. And the beds are not comfortable at all.

Room Tip: dont stay on first floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nj973ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

cant find a single fault with the place.. all these people moaning on.here.. totally dont listen.. its fantastic..

the food is unbelievable... the drinks selection and quality is unbelievable.. the service is un real... best hotel ive ever stayed in by a country mile!! will definately be back!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
10  Thank Potterstokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 176 in Cancun
10,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
5,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 176 in Cancun
9,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $267 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotels private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing