We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Las Palace Las Americas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #17 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Riu Las Palace Las Americas”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Positives:
- Lots of food and drinks available
- Great view of ocean
- Very close to ferry to Isla Majures
- Wait staff very helpful

Negatives:
- Older hotel, deffinitely can see wear and tear
- Food was good sometimes, and not soo good other times. Seems like they have 1 huge kitchen, and all the food, even for the restaurants come from that kitchen. You can get the same food at the buffet that you get in the restaurants.
- The beds are not very comfortable.
- This is the biggest negative, and why I would not stay here again: The smell of MOLD. It hits you in the face everytime you walk in the hotel and your room. I got most of the smell out of my clothes, but I cannot get it out of my North Face Backpack for luggage. I will not stay here again for this reason.

Room Tip: - Get balcony view on east wing - Tip the waitstaff... they work hard, and they appreciate it. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bo1234562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,151
    1,572
    497
    210
    152
See reviews for
1,227
3,124
97
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great stay at this hotel.

Room:
We e-mailed the hotel prior to our stay and asked for a higher floor room and king bed. Both requests were honored. Additionally, I had read that the beds were hard, but we had absolutely no problem with this. Comfortable bed, great view from the balcony, room was quiet and didn't really smell musty as many guests complain. Mini bar in the room was great and replenished daily. The only problem we had in the room was that the shower head would fall when you turned the shower off, so I almost got beat up by it!

Food:
Food was very good overall. Breakfast and lunch buffets were great. Lots of options to select from. Many made to order items and stations. The dinner buffet had a great variety. A la carte restaurants were pretty good, but after eating at the buffet on the last night, we honestly wished we had eaten there more. Food was great. Krystal was our favorite a la carte restaurant.

We had seen many reviews prior to visiting that suggested that the reservation system was complicated. We have stayed in resorts with restaurant reservations before and found this hotel to be much less complicated. We stayed 6 nights and we were able to get reservations to all the restaurants. We could make reservations up to 3 days in advance. We just went down and made the reservation anytime during the day. No need to line up at 8AM, when we would go down around 10 -11AM we had no problem making a reservation for a few days later. Much easier than hotels where you have to stand in line every morning for that evening's dinner reservation. No reservations are required at the italian restaurant, so we ate there the first night, no problem.

Also, you can get food 24 hours a day. The italian restaurant stays open for snacks 11pm-7AM, and we even ordered room service one night at 4 AM. So very easy to get tasty food anytime you want it.

Pool / Beach:
As many others have reviewed, the beach is fairly small at the resort, and gets crowded with people during the day. However, there are many chairs around the pools and tanning areas at the resort. We actually preferred to sit between the two pools, close to the bar, with an amazing view of the ocean! Such a beautiful view. By 3 or 4PM the sun pretty much does go down, but we would stay out until about 5 just enjoying the view and the surroundings. Servers were prompt bringing drinks and always ready to bring you anything you wanted.

Bar/Drinks:
We were quite impressed with the drinks for an all-inclusive resort. Some of the liquor brands we drank were smirnoff, absolute, johnny walker red, cuervo, bacardi light and anejo. We would have liked to have a few higher upscale brands, but these were just fine. They had finlandia vodka, but only in cranberry - which I found kind of odd. I tried this but wasn't a big fan. The lobby bar had a great selection of martinis - we loved the espresso and chocolate martinis. We had margaritas and daiquiris by the pool and always added a dark rum or tequila floater and they were great. The little outside bar outside of the japanese restaurant was good as well.

We walked over to the riu cancun and were so glad that we chose the palace over this. The brands of liquor they had were very low, just the regular rail stuff that we did not care for.

Service:
All the service was great. Staff were very friendly. Everything was very clean. Everytime we sat down to eat we were asked if we needed something to drink, or anything else. Glasses were never empty. We did tip most of the time, but never felt pressured to tip and got great service either way. The staff members were very appreciative when we did tip them.

All in all we had no complaints. Yes the beach could be larger, but this didn't cause any problem for us. We would have given the resort a 4.5/5 if that was an option.

Room Tip: Higher floor, but not the 8th floor, as these don't have balconies (maybe they sell these as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenAngl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Not a terrible resort, a lot of positives, but ultimately there are much better options nearby. On the positive, most staff, excluding front desk, are very helpful and work too hard to please. Food was good, although reservations were hard to get even in the 2nd week of January (slow season). Drinks are great and bartenders and waitresses aim to please. On the negative side, beds are awful and linens remind me of the 80s. Beach is nonexistent and rocky. Sun is in short supply as building blocks sun deck by 2pm. Front desk was awful, 'I'm only an employee' and 'there is nothing I can do' were common responses. Also, I'd advise against using riu shuttle service, it is an unaffiliated company and riu has no control over service. They wanted to pick us up at 3am for an 8am flight so we could drive with a couple who had a 6am flight. We cancelled our shuttle service, but could not get a refund (spent $35 on a can), but still received 3am call to let us know they were leaving without us.


Overall, not an awful resort. Plenty of positives, but realize you can do much better than this. Many resorts nearby are similar prices, but offer better beaches and sun exposure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nniziolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Pros:
1. Good price for what you get - ocean front rooms have a great view
2. Clean rooms, good room service (they do a good job cleaning)
3. Good Food all the way around - nothing special - but good enough
4. Service is excellent - the wait staff - hotel lobby workers etc... are all very friendly. No one every told us we couldn't do that, or have this - they were all extremely accommodating and friendly.
5. Nice Pool area / Pool Bar

Cons:
1. Beach front is lacking room - hard to really enjoy the beach here because it is so small (next trip might look at a hotel where there is more beach front)
2. Sun gets blocked by the hotel when you are near the pool (depends on time of year, but there is more shade here than I would have liked)
3. Hotel seems a bit older, not as fancy as the pictures looked - probably because the hotel is 10 years older than some of the pictures they used.
4. Beds are not the most comfortable - and heads up: When you order a room with double beds, they are pushed together, so it will be like you are sleeping with whomever is in the "other bed"

Lots of reviews mention a mold smell, and yea, something smells a bit, but that is impossible to avoid based upon how much moisture is in the air - I didn't smell anything out of the ordinary.

Overall I would not rule this place out on my visit back to Cancun, but I would also shop around and look for potentially a newer hotel with a larger beach front that gets full sun all day. If I could give it a 3.5 rating I would have. (don't forget to like this review if it has helped you!)

Room Tip: Ask for an OCEAN FRONT JUNIOR SUITE, then get a CENTER ROOM on the 8th floor facing the ocean - they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Will definitely be back next December! I definitely rate this palace a 6 star hotel! Absolutely gorgeous and the entire staff including all cleaning , waiters, bartenders at all the bars around the resort was totally awesome. .very glad we chose to stay here instead . The Hard Rock Hotel resort. Definitely be back in December can't wait..♥

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markandtammy11-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I took our first trip to Mexico for our honeymoon over New Years Eve. Since it was our first trip to Cancun, I read tons of reviews to find a great place. We were very happy with our choice of RPLA. If I could give it a 4.5 I would. Most things were amazing.
ROOM: We arrived at the hotel before check in, but they allowed us to check in anyway. I had booked us an ocean view junior suite. The room we got was on the 5th floor, and the view was AMAZING. I had told the hotel we were coming for our honeymoon, and they sent us up a bottle of champagne and a fruit plate, which I thought was very nice.
There was plenty of room in the junior suite for the two of us. We loved sitting on our balcony with a drink from our stocked minibar. My only big issue was the hard, uncomfortable bed. My neck hurt every morning. I also didn't love the shower in the room. It was a little slippery getting in and out.
FOOD: We tried most of the restaurants on site. The buffet was great for breakfast and lunch. Lots of options. Loved the mimosas! Our favorite a la carte restaurant was the Japanese - Sakura. We also enjoyed Krystal and the steakhouse. We had our last dinner in the Italian restaurant, which was a good option that didn't require reservations. We did have reservations for the Mexican restaurant, but we ended up taking a late nap that day so that we were ready for our evening out at Coco Bongo, so we didn't try it.
The reservation process is a little annoying. We only got into Krystal on New Year's Day because we were a party of 2. It was filled the rest of the time we were there. For the Japanese restaurant we actually went down to the 6:30 reservation time and waited outside. At 6:45 we were given a table since another group didn't show up. Glad we did this since it was our favorite place.
DRINKS: The drinks weren't very strong, but that is to be expected. If you asked for a little extra liquor, they were more than happy to add more. And of course we always tipped when we made this request. Lots of yummy choices.
SERVICE: As many other reviews state, RPLA is top notch when it comes to service. Every hotel employee we came in contact with was wonderful. At dinner, as soon as my glass of champagne was half empty, they were there to fill it right back up. We both can't say enough about all the staff at the hotel. Thank you for making our trip so memorable.
POOLS: There are 2 pools at the hotel. A quiet pool and a more lively pool. We spent all of our time at the main, more lively pool. That is where the swimup bar is. We loved to get a drink and go sit by the infinity edge of the pool and just enjoy the view. My husband even played a little pool volleyball everyday. We also took part in a few of the other games by the pool that the entertainment team put on. Getting a chair was kind of difficult, though. The hotel was sold out since it was the holidays. On New Year's Day we got up a little late, and it took about 20 minutes to find chairs. Chairs on the beach were VERY hard to come by unless you were up super early. We also spent some time in the nice covered hot tub that overlooks the ocean.
OTHER: We did go to Coco Bongo through the hotel. It was nice because they provided transportation to the club. Helped us get in and get up to the VIP area. We had so much fun there! The drinks are weak, but the show is awesome.
NEW YEAR'S EVE CELEBRATION: We had so much fun at the NYE celebration that the hotel put on. All of the a la carte restaurants were closed for the night. They had all the guests sign up for one of two seating times at the buffet. The evening started out with a cocktail reception. Then we went to the amazing buffet. So much food and champagne! After a few drinks at the lobby bar we went into the show room they have. They had a Michael Jackson show and a DJ that night. The party went on until about 3 am. They had a big countdown, which was fun. They gave all the guests champagne, NYE hats and other decorations, and a bag of 12 grapes since it is customary to eat 12 grapes at midnight in Mexico on New Years. Loved that touch!
We loved our first trip to Mexico at Riu Palace Las Americas, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioWendy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

enjoyed our stay here location is nice but didn't have beach front that much and can't see sunset from hotel. food was very good. service was good. far better than Riu Cancun but next time planning to try Riu Peninsula as their pool and beach area is much more better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gill15112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 175 in Cancun
9,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotels private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing