We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Cancun Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #16 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Cancun Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everything about our stay here was perfect.

We arrived on a Thursday and was instantly greeted with 2 glasses of fresh squeezed juice. There are many restaurants you can eat at but the lunch grill out by the pool is the best. They cook the best paella! Of course all drinks and food is inclusive at this place. The specialty restaurants were pretty good and diverse, but make sure you reserve times at the front desk 1-2 days in advance.

The night entertainment was good for a thursday night at a hotel. It was a comedy/dance show that was put on by the staff of the hotel. For being staff members they were pretty talented and gave us so much energy, it was impressive! Did not check out the shows other nights because the hotel was in such close walking distance to the bars and clubs there, which was a major plus!

The rooms were very clean and spacious. The beds were not the most comfortable but it still provided me a great sleep every night. Before I came here i read reviews about an issue with the smell of the rooms, but our room was perfectly fine and had no weird odor.

Overall a great hotel, we are scared to go back to Cancun and go to any other place since this one was so amazing.

p.s. don't eat the food in downtown Cancun, i got a little sick from it and it's not trustworthy. but the food at this hotel is definitely good, you won't need to worry about that there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,917
    1,509
    469
    203
    146
See reviews for
1,188
2,916
90
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently celebrated our four year wedding anniversary and chose to stay here, mostly based on other peoples' reviews. Definitely made a great choice! The staff is very friendly, the room-Jr Suite with Ocean View-was AMAZING!! Small issue with plumbing in our bathroom but they came right away and fixed it.

The buffet is delicious, plenty of healthy choices! We were unfortunately unable to eat in the Krystal Restaurant or Japanese Restaurant, they were booked! So make your reservations as soon as you get in for the entire week! Room service was ok, but who cares at 3am! =D

The pools were so much fun, especially with all the activities they have going on, and who doesn't love a pool bar! The bartenders keep your drinks filled, thanks Julian!!

The location is perfect! Across from a mall, and for all of you party people, 10 min walk (in heels!) to the main strip where Coco Bongo, Mandala Club, Hard Rock Cafe are located! So much fun and felt completely safe the entire time walking back at 1:00am!!

Did I mention our room was stocked with endless Dos Equis, Vodka, Tequila, Rum, Whiskey.....I'm just sayin'.....

Overall super fun experience, would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor and above, in the center, rm 325 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my second time staying at a Riu Palace resort. This time I booked my vacation through the Riu website, and it was a better deal, with flight than any other vacation site. My travel was through Best Day Travel, and they were great, from pick up to drop off. The agency put no pressure to purchase any extra excursions, and just made sure your ride back to the airport was all set up. We decided to do the chitz en itza tour, which is 12 hours doorstep to doorstep, but well worth it with the pyramids and the cenotè visit.

I stayed here October 5Th-12th. As far as the resort it self, it was wonderful. Since we had experienced a Riu palace before, we made sure to eat at the Fusion restaurant twice this time. The food was wonderful. Overall food across all restaurants, and the buffet was great. The buffet had food for just about every taste. The bar staff was great in making sure your drink was always full. But make sure you watch it, these drinks will sneak up on you.....they may be weak, but they kick in. The rooms were always kept clean, and hotel staff was always cleaning the hotel. The beach was wonderful, along with the clear water. At times you could actually see fish swimming around you in the shallower parts of the beach.

The hotel is within walking distance to the ever so famous Coco bongo. I did not go just because it is $40 per person for all you can drink. That's why I booked an all inclusive hotel for. You can walk around the flea market down there, but all the shop keepers hound you to buy something from their stores. Best is to take a cab or taxi to some of the local malls, such as Plaza Kukulcan which has the largest tequila store I've ever seen.

I will continue to visit Riu resorts in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank electrical_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back from my 4th trip to RPLA. My last visit was in 2010 and I was a little concerned when I saw reviews about it needing "updating". I don't know where those comments came from because this resort is just as awesome as it was in 2010. The staff are wonderful, attentive and always serve with a smile! Wilbert at the pool makes sure you want for nothing.

I just can't say enough about this awesome resort and am already planning my 5th trip in 2014 :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed here last week. This resort is phenomenal in every aspect. It really is a 5 STAR resort. The variety of food, desserts, drinks at the buffet, the restaurants is incredible. Food is being cooked on the spot at the buffets fresh, desserts are to die for, I've had everything I could ever want from steaks to lobster, every type of foods you can think of. The lobby is spectacular, it really is a Palace! Pools are super clean, as is the beach, and every other inch of the resort. Every night after dinner you have Live shows, broadway plays or live singers.. All in all we had an amazing time there's just too much to say. And best of all, the staff are super friendly and helpful. It sets a positive vibe they're all very friendly and nice. They don't even ask or hint for tips, they don't care they're happy to help n are very courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cancunriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

If your looking for hotel that offer you the best and friendliest service in Cancun, then you must go to the Riu Palace Las Americas. This hotel we have enjoyed their service, food, and clean stay for the past two years. We are planning our next trip for 2014 again in the same hotel. This past September we enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Riu Palace Las Americas. The service was above any reproach I guaranty I have never seen a Hotel put out as much as they did. The front desk staff was just beyond friendly even sent up fruit and drinks to our suite. The service at the restaurants within the hotel was again amazing. The service for the rooms is just as caring as for my birthday the maids made me a cake in towels with real flowers. We ill never forget the service, care this hotel and its staff has given us. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be pampered as they have an excellent spa as well. This is what a vacation is all about. Best vacation ever!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Ocean what a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFG1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed in April 2013 with girlfriend.

Hotel/Room:

Amazing. Only thing that looked a bit dirty was the roof of the bath/shower (I thought it was because the cleaners wouldn't have been tall enough to reach). Brilliant room could not complain at all.

Staff/Service

Every single person could not do enough. A small tip went a long way. Star of the place was Abundeo, the waiter in the lounge bar on an evening.

Food:

Fantastic. The choice, quality and venues were top class.

Would we go again?

I would go back to this place at the drop of a hat. I can go on and on and on about how great this place is but at the end of the day I would whole heartedly recommend this place and just say two words: Book It!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing