We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With so much competition, will probably not go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #17 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“With so much competition, will probably not go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Iv'e heard so many people say what a nice resort this is that perhaps my expectations were to high. We have stayed next door at the RIU Cancun and actually liked it better (and it's cheaper). Although it may be a little louder, the restaurants, bars and pools are better.
I didn't find the concierge here to be very helpful. He spoke very poor English and didn't inform us that the (only available) reservations restaurant had changed to Mexican theme.
It was good however just not what were expecting. The manager was the best in the hotel.
It took more than 3 hours and 3 requests before we were able to get a bottle of water the first night. Our room was nice (Jr.suite Ocean view) but very dated. Stains in the upholstery,peeling paint in the shower ceiling, cigarette burn on blanket and the glassware not polished.
Some servers and bartender were fantastic, while others just seemed to be having a bad day.
I might be interested in the RIU Peninsula if we return to Cancun. Very new and clean with a nice layout.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,985
    1,531
    472
    207
    147
See reviews for
1,201
2,969
93
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel that is spotlessly clean. The food in the buffet and included restaurants was excellent with a wide variety and beautifully presented. The beach is powder soft with lots of chairs. The water is turquoise. Every night there is a free floorshow in a theatre on the property. Service was excellent and the hotel is near to shopping. We relaxed and only left to go to the Maya ruins at Chichen Itza. This is the second time we have returned to this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food here is very outstanding. It was very clean. Staff is extremely nice and helpful. The beach was great and the staff raked it every morning. The buffet was different every day.

We will be back for certain.

The swim up bar was very handy. There were not a bunch of super drunks running around being obnoxious. The pool bars closed at 530pm.

Room Tip: I found nothing to complain about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBQJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from this hotel. Everything the reviews say are correct, the food is great, the place is very clean and it truly is a palace. Customer service is most definitely number one at the bars, the restaurants, and all around the hotel.

House keeping staff aren't as kind though. Our safe was stolen from, it's not secure. Hide your cash in a false pocket in your luggage or something. When we went to complain that we got stolen from, (our Canadian funds, not American or pesos that we also had in there) they said "why didn't you come earlier?" To which we replied, we didn't notice till now.

Front desk staff are useless. We got a "humid" room, their word not ours, more like mouldy, after checking in at 3am due to delayed flights. I couldn't breathe in the room due to the smell, it had a rusted tub and our clothes stunk after a week here. They wouldn't consider moving us till 3 days later. They continued to say "the hotel is very full" and to "come back later". We aired the room out ourselves. Day 3 came and they didn't move us, saying we didn't pack our things, but we received no confirmation of the planned move. We had asked the night before and they said we will send you a letter.

Their policy at front desk is "no" no matter what. They're full of smart a** comments and I'm personally writing the hotel manager and riu corporate on their attitude.

I wouldn't go back here or to any Riu after these experiences.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
15 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently returned from a 5 day stay at the Riu. Let me start with saying this property is very clean from the lobby to the grounds and pool. However, the beds are all but worn out and the rooms need updating. The staff for the most part are very freindly and the Riu Players " playmakers" are what made the trip"Super David" .Now, the food other than the buffet is not worth the visit. we went offsite twice just to get a good , warm & hot meal. Dont waste the time trying to book for the special times at the resturants. The food sucks and or it takes forever to get your food and then its most likely cold when you get it. We have been to numerous resorts all over the carb. and this by far is the worst.

My wife booked a spa treatment and even got a follow up call to assure of the time and visit only to find out the next day at her visit when arriving that they had nothing for her. So I spoke to the GM on site and he did Nothing only to say he was SORRY and he had nothing to do with the spa on site.So after asking him who was in charge he stated Melissa was the manager over the spa. So off to the spa I went only to find out she was even on site. I left my name and room number only to get nothing from them.

Two days later I stopped back by the front desk to speak again to the manager just to see and if she was her only to get another asst. manager that listen to me but did nothing as well. WOW..... what happed to customer service????????

Just FYI,,,,, after looking into to this more I have found many reqest online for the Corp. Headquarters for Riu only to find that there is no way to contact them it seems. However, I did find many others with the same request, or bad visits for RIU wanting to contact them for followup or comments. It really seems to be something they could care less of, or interested in to hearwhat pass quests or staying.

I will continue my very pleasant stays at Sandals. I only get great service and food, not to mention the outstanding times at Sandals we all have had and will conitue to have. IF by chance you do chose to visit this location I can only hope you get better food and enjoy it more than the 8 of us did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarheel-2629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

all inclusive if you don't like this place you need to go to a 7star resort, the ocean out front is fantastic, you can swim , and snorkel or just bring swimming googles to see tropical fish, the service was very good I would bring a couple of bucks to tip out, it realy didn't make differance the staff still gives you great service, the resort is next door to the a sister resort so you have 2 resorts for the price of 1, don't be affraid to catch the bus for 8 pesos there is a bus going by ever 10 minutes, and if you feeling like going on a road trip rent a car, no hassles

Room Tip: ocean view and bring slipers or flip flops
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyjayhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This resort is our first Riu. We were first put on the 8th for, but underan air conditioning unit which was horrible constant noise, so they moved us next day. The resort is very clean, every doing something all the time. The restaurants were better than some we have had before. The French was the best, next the Japanese, and then the Mexican. Don't bother with steak houses in Mexico--they don't do beef well. The Italian was disappointing. Buffet for the first courses, which was not filled up from the early seating. They is very little italian dishes to choose from. Only one pasta choice--weird menu. Biggest failing of this resort is the rooms. We had two double beds pushed together---which are so hard--like concrete, and you can't pull the sheets out to make it one bed. They are screwed together, so you pretty much sleep separately from your partner. One bed was at least two inches taller than the other. I asked for new softer pillows twice, which wasn't done--so my husband took the bus to Walmart and bought me a pillow. The rooms themselves are dated, but very large and nice bathrooms, very roomy.
The service on the beach was the best---Cheers Enrique! The beach on this side of the hotel zone is calmer too, so I enjoyed being in the ocean most of the time. The pool bar closes rather early--so that was disappointing. Not a lot of activities either. This is more of a quiet hotel, no entertainment in the lounges, lounge closes at midnight, no clubs or anything. You have to go to the next door Riu for activities, but the disco is very hot and dark and played only hispanic music, no dance mix or old disco era.
The service was always quick and polite. Lobby is beautiful and also can get a cold drink there. There are an extremely large amount of smoking in this hotel, don't know why. They do allow families, but there is nothing for kids to do here, no activities, so I wouldn't bring children here. They need to have more pool activities besides volleyball, which was all day every day. The bars need to stay open longer, even us old people like to stay up past 12 on vacation!
Overall, this is not a five star hotel because of the rooms, but the service was the best we have ever had!

Room Tip: All inside rooms are pretty much ocean view. Stay up high, but not in middle of 8th floor because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank family5Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#31 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,679 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,743 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing