We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location. Great People.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location. Great People.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a wonderful vacation due to the other couples staying at this resort as well the resort itself. You can go to the other Riu, but not vice versa. Much of our time was spent at the swim up pool bar. The bartenders are amazing (ask for the higher end alcohol-it is kept on the bottom shelf where you cant see it). The location is great and makes it very easy to walk to certain other places. If you go to Cancun, you have to party- the party passes are a great way to see many of the clubs in one night. I do not recommend being alone at any point outside the resort and be careful getting back to the resort after drinking at the clubs. The food at the resort is very good and there is a lot to choose from. Every other night they had local shops set up in the outside lobby so you didnt really have to leave to get gifts (feel free to haggle).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GermanPiggy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,651
    1,420
    447
    198
    140
See reviews for
1,125
2,704
85
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our 8th visit to the Cancun area. So happy we chose Rui Palace for our 9 day stay in Jan. A wonderful experience. First impressions are very important & we certainly were impressed with the elegantly furnished lobby. Room accommodations very satisfactory with beautiful views of the ocean. Entire resort is immaculately clean. Delighted with the selection of restaurants & variety of food.....something to please every palate. Fun nightly entertainment, & exceptionally excellent service from EVERYONE on staff. Although this resort is an all inclusive w/gratuities included, we cannot imagine not tipping extra for the very hard working staff who go above & beyond to make guests feel special & comfortable. We were stunned to observe vacationers who ate & drank as if it were their last day on earth & failed to leave even a small gratuity to show appreciation for the wonderful service they received. We will be re-visiting Rui Palace again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We arrived on Friday February 1. While we were checking in, we were offer a wonderful pinapple juice cocktail. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Great view from our room. Jr. suite with a ocean view and balcony. I could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here from February 1, 2013 to February 6, 2013 and had an amazing vacation. In the future, we will not stay any where else when visiting Cancun :~) I can not say enough about how attentive the entire staff is: never had an empty cocktail glass or had a dirty dish linger on the table in front of me. This location is aptly named - it really has the atmosphere of a Palace and made us feel like we were royalty. It is the perfect place to celebrate an event. February 2nd was my husbands birthday; when we went back to the room after dinner it was decorated with balloons, a card, and a cake "sculpture" of rolled up towels. Very cute!!

I definitely recommend the spa services - we had a great couples massage. Also, the photo shoot on the beach was a lot of fun. Well worth the money and time to commemorate the trip. (Thanks Sandra)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went in April 2012 with a 2 other couples, one of which had a baby. Our rooms all had beautiful ocean views. The rooms were clean and the fridge and bar were stocked. The bathroom was also clean, although it did run out of hot water for showering at certain times of the day.

The ocean water was amazing! The beach itself was a bit small. There were plenty of other places to lay that faced the beach but weren't directly on the sand. The infinity pool had a great view, but was boring in my opinion. The other pool had a bar and the entertainment team there was awesome!! We would get up at 6 and 7 am to get seats at the pool! They also had a few hot tubs, one of which was secluded up on a roof :)

The food was good. We all found something to eat. The lunch buffet outside was always easiest, but the food was mediocre. The last couple of days we decided to have lunch at the italian place indoors, which was much better. As for dinner, you have to stand on a line at 8 am to make reservations for the specialty restaurants. They were all pretty good (except for the french one - I don't think we tried it) .

The location of the hotel was also great. There was a pharmacy across street, which we used a couple of times. There was a starbucks a few blocks away and some souvenir shops as well.

Overall, I liked the hotel. I didn't love it, but I'd stay there again

Room Tip: ocean view is definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nancynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i came here for our third anniversary, and the resort is simply amazing. The first two days were chilly and windy, but much warmer than the weather back home. The last four days were typical 70-80 temps and sunny.

We have both been to All Inclusive resorts, but the Riu Palace Las Americas stands above the norm. All of the meals were excellent with freshly cooked food at each meal. We also tried their other resterants featuring japanese, specialty, and mexican cuisines.....wow...all were excellent. I would say that the japanese was the best. (Make sure that you try one of Adrian's Saki Bombs).

We set up a photo session with Adventure Photos (Located in the lobby), and Christina did such a good job we booked another session the next day with her. We didnt go on any excursions, but did try the Hobe cats. I paid $65 for a one hour lesson, learned how to pilot the boat, then took it out two or three times each day after that. If you already know how to use them, then you can save yourself the extra money.

The shows were fun and entertaining. The drinks were good and prompt service wherever you are (poolside, oceanfront, lobby, etc). We will definately be coming back to Cancun and more than likely to the Riu Palace Las Americas.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Riu Palace is a good choice when staying in Cancun. The property is very clean. The rooms are spacious and you can't beat the location.

In regards to the food and drinks, it is exactly what you should expect from an all inclusive resort. You won't have the best meals, but overall you will find something you like. The superior places to dine on the premises are Krystal and the Japanese/Sushi restaurant. Other than that, I wouldn't bother making reservations. The drinks could be a little stronger, but they will keep them flowing and be more than happy to top you off.

Although we had an issue with them restocking our mini bar (meaning it NEVER happened), they claim that they will switch out any of the beverages that you do not like, so if you prefer to drink something other than canned beer, water and soda just make arrangements with the hotel.

Overall, the only complaints I had with the Riu was the strong mold odor that covered our clothing and suitcases and the size of the in room safes. Don't expect to fit a laptop or any other similarly sized items. Also, I highly recommend that you save your pool towel so you can throw it on a chair around 8 am, otherwise you may not get a seat around the pool. The beach is way too small and shady to spend the day. Expect to get only a few hours of sun, if you choose to lay out near the ocean.

This is my third time at the Riu in Cancun and I would recommend it to other couples and friends looking to have a good time in Mexico. Compared to the prices of similar properties you are getting the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#26 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 8,821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 6,732 reviews
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#15 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 3,701 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#17 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing