We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloft Cancun(Cancun)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (7,114)
Filter reviews
7,114 results
Traveler rating
4,526
1,670
538
217
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,526
1,670
538
217
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstio pepemusty smelljapanese restaurantspecialty restaurantsocean viewswim up barcoco bongomattress padsteakquiet poolmake reservationsactivity poolwrap around balconyhotel is beautifulliquor dispenserdinner reservationsjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,810 - 2,815 of 7,114 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here from February 1, 2013 to February 6, 2013 and had an amazing vacation. In the future, we will not stay any where else when visiting Cancun :~) I can not say enough about how attentive the entire staff is: never had an empty cocktail glass or had a dirty dish linger on the table in front of me. This location is aptly named - it really has the atmosphere of a Palace and made us feel like we were royalty. It is the perfect place to celebrate an event. February 2nd was my husbands birthday; when we went back to the room after dinner it was decorated with balloons, a card, and a cake "sculpture" of rolled up towels. Very cute!!

I definitely recommend the spa services - we had a great couples massage. Also, the photo shoot on the beach was a lot of fun. Well worth the money and time to commemorate the trip. (Thanks Sandra)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went in April 2012 with a 2 other couples, one of which had a baby. Our rooms all had beautiful ocean views. The rooms were clean and the fridge and bar were stocked. The bathroom was also clean, although it did run out of hot water for showering at certain times of the day.

The ocean water was amazing! The beach itself was a bit small. There were plenty of other places to lay that faced the beach but weren't directly on the sand. The infinity pool had a great view, but was boring in my opinion. The other pool had a bar and the entertainment team there was awesome!! We would get up at 6 and 7 am to get seats at the pool! They also had a few hot tubs, one of which was secluded up on a roof :)

The food was good. We all found something to eat. The lunch buffet outside was always easiest, but the food was mediocre. The last couple of days we decided to have lunch at the italian place indoors, which was much better. As for dinner, you have to stand on a line at 8 am to make reservations for the specialty restaurants. They were all pretty good (except for the french one - I don't think we tried it) .

The location of the hotel was also great. There was a pharmacy across street, which we used a couple of times. There was a starbucks a few blocks away and some souvenir shops as well.

Overall, I liked the hotel. I didn't love it, but I'd stay there again

Room Tip: ocean view is definitely worth it!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nancynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i came here for our third anniversary, and the resort is simply amazing. The first two days were chilly and windy, but much warmer than the weather back home. The last four days were typical 70-80 temps and sunny.

We have both been to All Inclusive resorts, but the Riu Palace Las Americas stands above the norm. All of the meals were excellent with freshly cooked food at each meal. We also tried their other resterants featuring japanese, specialty, and mexican cuisines.....wow...all were excellent. I would say that the japanese was the best. (Make sure that you try one of Adrian's Saki Bombs).

We set up a photo session with Adventure Photos (Located in the lobby), and Christina did such a good job we booked another session the next day with her. We didnt go on any excursions, but did try the Hobe cats. I paid $65 for a one hour lesson, learned how to pilot the boat, then took it out two or three times each day after that. If you already know how to use them, then you can save yourself the extra money.

The shows were fun and entertaining. The drinks were good and prompt service wherever you are (poolside, oceanfront, lobby, etc). We will definately be coming back to Cancun and more than likely to the Riu Palace Las Americas.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Riu Palace is a good choice when staying in Cancun. The property is very clean. The rooms are spacious and you can't beat the location.

In regards to the food and drinks, it is exactly what you should expect from an all inclusive resort. You won't have the best meals, but overall you will find something you like. The superior places to dine on the premises are Krystal and the Japanese/Sushi restaurant. Other than that, I wouldn't bother making reservations. The drinks could be a little stronger, but they will keep them flowing and be more than happy to top you off.

Although we had an issue with them restocking our mini bar (meaning it NEVER happened), they claim that they will switch out any of the beverages that you do not like, so if you prefer to drink something other than canned beer, water and soda just make arrangements with the hotel.

Overall, the only complaints I had with the Riu was the strong mold odor that covered our clothing and suitcases and the size of the in room safes. Don't expect to fit a laptop or any other similarly sized items. Also, I highly recommend that you save your pool towel so you can throw it on a chair around 8 am, otherwise you may not get a seat around the pool. The beach is way too small and shady to spend the day. Expect to get only a few hours of sun, if you choose to lay out near the ocean.

This is my third time at the Riu in Cancun and I would recommend it to other couples and friends looking to have a good time in Mexico. Compared to the prices of similar properties you are getting the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HeatherS913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We recently honeymooned in at the Riu Palace Las Americas, Cancun and had an amazing fortnight.

Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived. The main lobbies of the hotel were beautiful - marble floors, chandeliers, fresh flower displays and the list goes on.

The standard bedrooms are all junior suites (2 double beds/ seperate lounge area with couch and coffe table and tv, bath/shower and double sinks in the bathroom) The minibar is stocked daily - Smirnoff, Bacardi, Jose Cuerva and brandy as well as bottles of water, 7Up, Pepsi, club soda and ginger beer.

There is also a coffee machine and this is stocked daily and we were greeted with a fruit basket and champagne in the room.

Palace Las Americas is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. There are cleaners working 24/7 to ensure the high standards are maintained.

The staff are all friendly and go out of their way to help you. Service here is second to none. If you tip well they remember your name, what you drink etc and will always have a table for you.

The food was great - the main international buffet had a vast selection of dishes both for breakfast and dinner. There are 5 other table service restaurants - Japanese, Italian, Gourmet Cuisine, Steakhouse and Mexican. Our favourites were the Mexicand and the Gourmet (Krystal Restaurant)

There are no extras to pay for brand names or cocktails, the above restaurants are all included too but you need to book daily at the Customer Relations desk in the main Reception area.

There are a couple of pools, the one with the swim up bar is noisier and there are a lot of games there throughout the day. If you are looking to relax then the beach is best or the main pool. Waiters come around the pool and beach regularly taking drink orders.

The nightlife is only a 5-10 min walk away from the hotel. Coco Bongos is a must and Carlos and Charlies is good for a laugh. Senor Frogs was a disappointment and we would not recommend it - overpriced and smelly/dirty.

Although the reps in the hotel offer excusrions, we purchased ours from the stall just down from the hotel opposite the car rental store. They offer the same trips a half the price. Captain Hook dinner cruise was the best one we wnet on and we enjoyed the trip to Chichen Itza (it is a long day on the bus though).

All in all a fantastic timer and we will definitely return to Cancun and have decided to holiday with Riu and Thompsons from now on as they have many hotels worldwide.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view balcony as standard. Don't forget to book restaurants asap up to 3 days in advance
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AshleighMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews