We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Ranked #20 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have just got back from an 11 day stay at this hotel. So glad we chose it as it is just beautiful hotel with a certain 'old fashioned elegance' about it! It is peaceful and classy and the staff are so helpful and polite and go out of their way to make your stay as wonderful as possible! The open buffet was varied and good quality and I was always spoilt for choice! Our room was massive and cleaned every day to a very high standard. Some people have mentioned the' musty' smell in the corridors, which is true but no big deal. We didn't try the different restaurants as you have to book and we preferred to do our own thing. Im sure there are other lovely hotels around but loved that this hotel was in the centre of things and we were able to walk to shops etc or take a short bus ride to the shopping centres. We also were able to use the facilities of the other Riu hotels which was nice.
We went on two trips when we were there, the first was to the island Isla mujeires which Im sure is great if the weather were good but it wasn't this day and to be honest think we should have been allowed to cancel . Our second trip was on the speed boat which was a nightmare as the sea was so rough and it was really scary and then to top it all it broke down and we were marooned until someone came and rescued us! I think they should explain that you are made to go fast in rough seas and through a crocodile infested lagoon, which incidently a second boat in our convey broke down and the girl was crying she was so terrified! I personally would never ever do this trip again and would advise anyone who is even a little nervous not to go on it!! We have met people who thoroughly enjoyed it, maybe the water was a lot less rough for them! All in all we had a lovely holiday with only a couple of rainy days, was a bit peeved that we had to pay £45 each exit tax which was never mentioned when we booked our holiday!!!!!

Room Tip: The higher up the less noisy!! Worth asking for an upgrade as we did and got one for free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank minxkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,610
    1,407
    442
    198
    138
See reviews for
1,104
2,672
84
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip and the property was very clean and efficient. Food was just okay on the buffets but we certainly never went hungry. The restaurants, however, were great. We were traveling with a 1 year old and there were multiple activities for her as well. Overall, I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The accommodation was very clean with regularly stocked fridge. Too bad the company decide which drinks go on the optics. We had the standard supply of good branded Tequila, Vodka, Brandy and Bacardi, none of which I like so we went to reception and asked if we could possibly have any bottle replaced with gin but he just pointed to the bar. We wanted gin in the room so we could enjoy a drink while sitting on our balcony at night and not have to take the lift 5 floors down to the bar every time we needed a topup. At the bar they happily gave us a very large gin each with no ice or mix so we could take it upstairs but it was so messy to have to then pour it from one glass to another so we could add mixers. This seems to be a fairly common issue as we heard a few people ask the rep if they could change a bottle. The staff were fabulous and very pleasant. They seem to work hard constantly keeping the place immaculate inside and out. The one annoying thing was a maid coming to the door nightly, sometimes after 10 pm, to ask if you want clean towels, one night we were asleep when she came to the door. We didn't even need the towels as we had plenty clean ones daily. The food was okay,nothing special, but we went next door one evening to Riu Cancun and they had a better variety , it's also a beautiful hotel. Back at our own hotel we had a fabulous meal at the Fusion restaurant, the Japanese restaurant, and the Italian one was fantastic. The huge disappointment was the steakhouse, the one we most looked forward to. The steak was tough as old boots, I asked for mine to be done medium, my daughter asked for very rare yet both were done the same, and tough! You get chatting with other people and the Italian restaurant was recommended to us by quite a few and rightly so, it's fantastic although strangely they didn't do pasta but steaks were cooked to perfection and the soup was to die for. We had 3 lunches and 2 evening meals there. All staff, including beach bar waiters and towel quiosk, were friendly and helpful. The beach was wonderful and it was a joy swimming in that lovely warm sea. We will definitely go back. Didn't have young children with me so can't say what facilities were like for kids but the pools were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elena125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Took my 16 year old for four days to escape the Iowa winter. We booked Jr Ocean View, got 6th floor, center of building, SPECTACULAR view of the ocean and pool area. Love, Love, LOVE hearing the ocean waves crashing outside my open balcony door...ahhhhh relaxing.

Pros-Location (walking distance to flea market, shopping, easy bus ride to downtown or Wal Mart or to the other RIU's which are fun to visit and you have full access to all 4 of them!) Resturant staff very good, great rooms, great shower, clean facilities everywhere, plenty of resturant options, wait staff on beach is excellent, the beach is great even if shaded in the late afternoon and somewhat small...we never had a problem finding 2 beach chairs or poolside although it was fairly busy Jan 18-22 when we were there. Snorkeling right in front of the hotel around to the right in front of the rocks was very good with 100s of fish, and I saw a barracuda and a couple puffer fish (nothing compared to Hawaii, but for the convenience it was really good!)

Cons-Buffet food is what it is, not as good as cruise ships, also didn't change much while we were there (but we always found plenty to eat!), beds a little hard but sleepable.

This is our second stay at a RIU (once at CABO) and both times we had a great time and felt the value for the money was very good. Compared to other hotels that cost 50-100/night less people had all kinds of problems in their reviews like bad smelling water, noisey rooms, etc, where if you just pay the RIU Palace you will basically have a worry free vacatinon with few or NO complaints...what's that worth? We probably had 20 virgin Pina Coladas a day, this had to easily offset the price of an all inclusive even though we don't drink alcohol.

We would certianly go back in a heartbeat, and probably will. I've only given two other places that status: Grand Wialea and Kaanapali Beach Hotel, both in Hawaii...so I think VERY Highly of RIU Palace Las Americas.

Tip-If you like a little bit of an ocean walk/hike (maybe 1.25 miles?), we walked the beach from the RIU Las Americas to the RIU Palace Penisula and RUI Caribe and then enjoyed their facilities one day...in a couple places you have to walk around some stuff but it's a fun walk with lots of neat ocean front things to see and activities if you want to parasail or rent wave runners or eat at an ocean front grill etc along the way. Took us 1 hour and was a highlight of the trip for the cheap (free) fun we had...spent $1 each to take the bus 5 minutes back to RIU Las Americas.

Room Tip: Our Balcony on Jr Ocean Suite was HUGE and the rooms for that catagory seem to mostly have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank prcted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We just got back from Riu Palace Las Americas on Jan. 18th. 8 of us went on this trip. It was a great stay. Food was good but could use more American style food for finicky eaters. Front desk check in wasn't the quickest. Entertainment staff did a great job with various games. "Choco" was our favorite. Shows at night were good. Mostly dancing. My father in law did Karaoke next door at the Riu Cancun. Beach was beautiful and big enough for us. Very clean resort. We visited the other Riu properties nearby and we all liked this one the best. The Palace Peninsula is very nice and modern. We just preferred Las Americas more. It just seems cozier. The Peninsula is very wide open. Seems like it can hold a lot of people. We ate at the Peninsula twice and the majority of our group liked it better than Las Americas. It is a very hard choice between the two. I would just stay at the cheaper one and visit the others. It's a very short $1 bus ride between them. I also recommend taking the catamaran ride over to the Isle of Majerus. All drinks and food included. Snorkeling wasn't the best but we did see a shark resting in a crevasse. We held a nurse shark for a small donation. You get to shop downtown Isle of Majerus. On the way back you get to try the spinnaker. It's like a a swing using a sail off the catamaran. It was very hard coming back to the midwest and the -5 degree weather. Hope to be back soon. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle have larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at other RIUs so many times and this one with a Place brand is not a lot better than Normal RIU brands in food and service. Is it worth spending extra money by staying in a Palace? And get the sane food and watered down drinks, then I would say no.

Don't take me wrong, the hotel is beautiful, the staff and service is excellent.

I would still stay here again, if the price is right as compare to other RIUs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel specify all rooms having ocean view - when in reality for real ocean view we had to pay extra upon checking in. There were no option to book it right away at the time of our booking. The hotel may used to be high class/luxurious type - now smells like an antique store. It does have all the decorations but it feels like it needs some fresh renovation to it.
Food was not impressive, Riu Next door (where you also have access to) had better choices for the buffet. The beach is great being a little separated and having less waves.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#25 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 8,679 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#39 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 6,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#15 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 3,588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing