We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Ranked #19 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful hotel and you feel like king with their service . Also can use all riu hotels in cancun for free but this one is best out of all of them. All inclusive unbelievable best one I had. All drinks and all food very tasty

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Solnishko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Riu Palace is staggering - once you enter the main lobby, you are reminded of elegant times. The glittering lamps, art works, marble and stunning pillars that lead your eyes to the double doors and the glimpse of one of the infinity pools and caribbean sea.

Whilst grand and elegant, the Riu still manages to be relaxed and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for staff, who even serve cocktails to you on the beach!

Our room and the whole hotel inside and out, was spotlessly clean and the enormous army of staff are in evidence throughout the day, keeping it that way. Beds are comfortable and well equipped and this is truly an 'all inclusive' hotel.

We must mention the wonderful animation team, who went out of their way to make us welcome and were really entertaining every day! Make sure you take a trip to Senior Frogs (like TGI Fridays on speed) absolutely hilarious. And - Coco Bongo should not be missed!

As big 'foodies' we were not expecting too much, but what a surprise - the breakfast buffet offered more than you can imagine - a lot cooked freshly every morning and we must commend the Mexican, Steak restaurant and the Fusion - which was exceptional.

The smaller infinity pool with the swim up bar was our favourite and top tip are to make use of the tiled sunbeds in the pool - absolute paradise.

To confirm our unreserved reccomendation, we are returning very soon, so look out for us! and boys get the frappucinos iced ready!

Room Tip: Any that are facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sibillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Being for the third time in Mexico we were sure we'll have a nice and relaxing holiday...and we did. We also had a special reason for the vacation, we celebrated my husband 50th birthday at the beginning of December at Riu Palace Las Americas. Along with another family of friends we spent 14 days of luxury, relaxation and magnificent weather. The Riu experience for the second time (last year we went to Riu Palace Riviera Maya) had delivered the lot. A very nice hotel in and out indeed.

The staff, the service, the hotel, everything was fantastic. We have easily booked all the a la carte restaurants each of them very good; also the main restaurant has a diversity and quality of food difficult to match, very very nice. The room was very clean, tidied up on a daily basis courtesy to Oscar who always did a very good job. In the lobby the waiters were very careful to keep to keep you 'refreshed' with anything one could imagine; we even tried to 'invent' some mixed cocktail type drinks and we've got them. Special thanks to Paula who always has a pen and paper to make sure the customer comes first.

For my husband's birthday we had balloons and sweets waiting for us in the room and in the evening a nice cake (coming from nowhere) and the whole group of waiters singing Happy Birthday to him. Impressive and touching at the same time

The beach, the pool and surroundings are kept very clean and tidy many times we could see people working at 5 AM to get things done in time for early morning. The entertainment team accommodated the usual activities from 10:00 AM till late
Amazing the same entertainment people have the energy to put up a show in the evening for the guests

Overall a very nice holiday exceeding our expectations in many ways. 14 days we'll always want be repeated...

Room Tip: We had room 220, marginally blocked by a palm tree being at the second floor, but the sea, beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianabocanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in January 2012 for about 1 week, all inclusive.

We can say without doubt that the "all inclusive option" is really limitless!! ... You can eat and drink everything at anytime.

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pools, private beach, leisure services and facilities as well as friendly and polite staff!

The varied types of restaurants (6 if I'm not mistaken), are all worthy of 5 stars, and offer varied and very tasty food & drinks!

It is VERY WELL located, right in the heart of Cancun! Easy access walking (5-10 minutes) at various bars and restaurants such as Coco Bongo and others.

The only downside is the furniture in the rooms. They are a bit old and smell of mold when closed for long. And moreover, do not offer wi-fi (something unthinkable for a hotel of this pattern).

However with so many options for leisure and gastronomy, the place you are least gets inside the room. For this reason we do not care much with this small inconvenience.

Definitely an high standard hotel, which does not lack in the categories of leisure, food and beauty.

We found a deal on a travel website, and pay very little for a hotel of very high standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EduFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here from 22nd December to the 29th December and had an absolutely amazing time. My 2 sons are aged 7yrs & 8yrs and they enjoyed the Riuland activities with Alexandra who is a real star..Something for everyone with the beach giving you the peace & quiet and relaxation and the pool area having music, pool volleyball, salsa dancing and also water aerobics. Christmas Eve was great as they had 2 meal sittings in the main buffet restaurant 6.30pm & 9pm and they had champagne reception and the food was fab. Big plus for this hotel is the staff as every one of them has a great attitude, warm & friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We were upgraded to a Suite on the 3rd floor which had a separate bedroom for my boys and a huge walk in wardrobe, added bonus was the view of the beach and large infinity pool. Christmas day was fab when Santa arrived by Jetski (brilliant idea) all the kids had been doing mini olympics on the beach beforehand and were soooo excited when he arrived. They all followed him up to the Theatre were each 1 of them received a gift & which followed with a Disney Show. Overall a brilliant time was had by all and we will definately be returning again in the near future....

Room Tip: suites are great, have separate bedroom area, 2 tv's, shower as well as a separate bath & te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there 6 nights and really liked it. Everything went well, we get so nice room next to the see on the corner. All the restaurants were good, nice service and excallent food. Room service and cleaning were perfect.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get room on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kati1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Riu Palace Las Americas is beautiful, amazing and friendly hotel! Very clean, beautiful and comfortable beach. The drinks and meals are very good. Speshiality restorans are very nice. Internet is slowly...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aminafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#24 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 7,930 reviews
2.3 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#3 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 2,868 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#