We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noise, Noise ,Noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Ranked #16 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Noise, Noise ,Noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Just come back from a two week stay at this Hotel.Both my wife and I are exhausted.Not from the activities from the holiday but the lack of sleep due to rowdy drunken guests coming back between 2am and 6am disturbing our sleep.We had shouting in the corridors,arguments and loud music in the rooms above and below us and almost a fight breaking out on the balcony below.There were numerous drunken louts wandering around the hotel and I was confronted by a drunken British "guest" in the lift who was very intimidating and used appalling language directed at me.There are two pools although we only used the infinity pool as the the was an activities pool for the younger element.Hence this was noisy with thumping music blaring out and various games being played by people who were fuelling themselves up with plentiful supplies of all inclusive alcohol.Needless to say a quiet afternoon on the sun loungers was unobtainable.I packed my ipod away as I couldn't hear it. Was I in a Club 18-30 holiday no I was in a 5 star luxury Hotel?.WE had very little assistance from the Hotel I was offered a room change but as I had an 4th floor Ocean/Pool view I was going to end up on the 7th floor not knowing what I was going to get..Yes there is a musty damp smell in the rooms and generally around the hotel.I am not surprised because when it rains the Hotel leaks like a sieve.The smell comes home with you in your suitcases and clothes.If you like shade when you are sunbathing you are out of luck.There are not enough of them and what there are, are mainly broken.If do want one get up around 5.30am and put a shirt or scarf around them to reserve one , you will fry in the heat .

Overall a poor holiday if want to relax and have peace and quiet do not go to this resort or hotel and by the way they relieve you of £70 before you leave the country as way of thanking you for visiting their country.

Overall the hotel is average in most areas,although the food is great especially the speciality restaurants.In the main Don Roberto restaurant when then get busy they do not replenish the food and the quality goes down .

We were disappointed with our stay and thought that the Hotel was unsure what type of quests it wanted to stay with them.This hotel was not what we expected.

Oh and don't forget as you leave the country they relieve you of £70 exit fee as a thank you for visiting their country

Room Tip: E mail ahead and try and upgrade for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andmoresome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,929
    1,509
    469
    204
    146
See reviews for
1,191
2,921
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Beautiful lobby. Great personnel. No chairs by the main pool so we didn't use it much. The activity pool had some chairs, more on the beach. Good activities and very friendly employees.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trouble02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

You do need to put your Do Not Disturb sign out though, cause staff is in your room alot. They keep your mini bar stocked, they come in to change your towels after you take a shower in the evening and go to dinner, then they come in and turn your bed down or if you have any deliveries they bring them in. They were in there alot. But this was a all inclusive and very beautiful/ Very high class facility. Loved it..

Room Tip: It is worth paying the little extra for beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnpdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just got home and already wanting to return for third visit this year. It's amazing! Damian at the front desk is the best! Ask for him to check you in, He will fill you in all on you need to know. Definitely tip him. It will go a long way. Rodlopho at the bar outside by the Japanese restaurant is also great. Like I said tipping goes a long way. Bring your own fun plastic up and you can bring anywhere and they will it up at any of the bars. Very clean and classy resort. Very friendly, and they really do make you feel like royalty here. Particoate in volley ball at the pool. Use the hot tub and sauna In the spa it's free. Go to isle mujares and rent the scooters for twenty bucks all day. Go to the interactive aquarium in Down cancun-105us dollars for two people- went in a cage and fed the sharks for an extra 20 you can swim with the dolphins too. Bring sunblock. It's expensive there. And be sure to eat at the steak house and Japanese. Those two are the best. The buffets are always great. Try a dirty monkey it's like a chocolate banana daqurie. Delicious! Man agent is always present and making sure everything is ok,. I love this place. I have referred three couples here and they also loved it. You will have a blast. Get a shot of bailys or kahluha before you go back up to your room at night and bring it den to breakfast with you out it in your coffee. Have fun!!!

Room Tip: Tip the front desk(Damian) ask for a west wing rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SOKICKASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed with a friend at the RIU Palace June 11-18. The hotel is beautiful, however we had a group that stayed in the room above us that partied from 11:00 p.m. till 4:00 a.m. every night. These young men drank tons of booze and would drop their empty beer bottles over the balcony to the cement patio below, thus, shattering all over the place. They also thought it comical to relieve themselves over their balcony, and of course splattering onto ours. We also found broken glass on our balcony. We called hotel management several times, and they offered to move us, however, we thought the problem above us should have been the ones to be moved. Also, my friend and I both had items stolen from our room. She had a brand new dress taken, along with various other items. I had a velvet pouch with a swarovski crystal bracelet that I stored in it. However, luckily I had taken the bracelet out and put it in the safe. The thief did take the pouch, but imagine their surprise when it was empty. This was my friends first trip to Cancun, and will definitely be her last. If I do return to Cancun, it definitely will not be at the RIU Palace. This is unfortunate, because I have stayed at this property twice previously. Hotel management really dropped the ball on this one!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jackblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Awesome hotel. Well i am going to write a very detail review so you can know what to expect. Excellent service. Every body is willing to please you and help you. I highly recomend Juan at the pool. He is awesome. He make sure your glass is never empty. An important advice is to tip everyone that gives you a great service. a couple of dollars make their day, and help them a lot. The hotel is very clean. You see people cleaning at all times. The room are espacious and clean. Theres a little mold odor in the room but its because people leave wet clothes in the room. I got allergy but it didnt stop me to have a great time. The shows at night are great, its not like cirque d soleil or blue man group but its pretty good. There are difderent restaurant, I enjoyed the brazilian the most. But overall they are good. The lobby staff are great. The only thing that was missing is a money change machine in the lobby. Its hard to change large bills to tip. But across the street, next to the bank there is a money exchange place and they dont change you any fee, so i recomend you to go there. Also you dont need to change a lot of money in mexican pesos because every place acept dollars.
Tip: if you want to buy great and cheap souvenirs go to market 28 in downtown, theres a bus that take you there for only 8 pesos. Because in cancun is a little expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsi2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks from the thirteenth of June and found the
Overall stay very good. We were very sceptical before travelling reading some reviews on here about
Theft and the beds and the smell etc. I can say that thank god we didn't have any issues on the theft
Front but did make friends with people who did have issues. We we're always very careful to lock all our valuables in the safe and in our suitcases and kept keys with us at all times. Lots of people forgot safe keys and went back to rooms when remembered and found money missing from safe. We did hear a lot of this but if you are very careful like we were you should be ok. Also ladies with nice shoes and bags were leaving them in cases too locked so I did this also and things were fine. The smell hits you when you first arrive but then you do get used to it again we brought fabreeze with us and left air conditioner on and it was fine. We were on the third floor and the corridors are the worst bit apparently when a hurricane hit last time it hit the hotel hard and washed away some beach so I guess the smell is from then. I am a sun worshiper and we had to get up at five am to get the best spots otherwise all beds are taken up. When the sun was out it was very hot and we got a lovely tan considering we only had nine days out of fourteen that were sunny the other days it rained and when it rains boy does it rain and it lasted all day so this was a disappointment to us obviously but it's not the hotels fault. The beds in room we didn't have an issue with but can see why some thought they were hard but can honestly say always had a good nights sleep. Cancun swell is very safe and when shopping didn't feel uncumfy at all found everyone very friendly and welcoming. On arrival we also asked if they were any upgraded rooms and they said yes they had allocated us and another couple with free upgraded rooms as we were frequent travellers to Riu hotels which was very good we gave a two hundred pesos tip and it was like we had given them the world. Tipping is up to you but you will find you want to tip them all because of the good service you get. The bar waiters by pool and at night especially they come to you every few minutes. Daniel in the restraint was our main waiter and again we tipped him every day aswell. We did leave the maid a tip every day also and when we saw her she always said hello. Everyone in hotel very friendly too especially entertainment team they are fantastic day and night. The shows at night are good also some better than others. The crazy show especially that's by the e tertainment team that was the best. Overall we had a great time just the weather let us down. Just make sure everything locked away and you will be fine.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 8.5, Manzana 50 | Lote 4, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in "Corazone", Cancun???S resort area * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the hotel???S private beach * 8-storey building * 100 m/325 ft. To Hotel Riu Cancun * 120 m/390 ft. From a shopping centre * 10 km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun * 20 km/12.5 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cancun
Cancun Riu Palace
Riu Las Americas Cancun
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing