We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you are not looking for much!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Soberanis Cancun
Ranked #66 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The decor is a little dreary and the beds were not comfortable. Breakfast was sparce with very little imagination. We got a pretty rate for four people in one room so I am not going to complain too much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Soberanis Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here because of the amusing name, and because the price was right. It was one of the cheaper places we could find and book through Hotels.com. We were only in Cancun for one night, after flying in and taking a bus out to Holbox the next day. It's not the closest to the bus station, but is right next to a grocery store where we could stock up on some things easily.

The room was simple and standard. Loud a/c and tile floors. But I slept okay, with no concern about drunkenanis.

Breakfast was included, and was nothing more than bread and coffee. For an additional $5 US you can get hot foods like eggs and some other things.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkingupstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We came to Cancun only for 1 night before our flight to Mexico city.
We booked this night in the Poc-na hotel in Isla mujeres for 350 pesos.

We got a double room, with 2 not too big double beds, private bathroom, towels, 2 bottles of water, TV and a bit noisy AC. Continental breakfast, tasty enough, was included.

The crew was kind and hospitable. They helped with taxis and directions.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and considering the price it seemed like a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsraeliCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I wanted a budget hotel in Cancun city but I wasnt prepared for this. Its basic - very basic. And the street its on is more than a little scary for the typical American tourist that is used to personal space and American cities. I visited a lot of places in Europe but even I wasnt prepared for the area and the type of hotel. The tv remote didnt work, and the hot water heater broke the same day I was there. The aircon worked but it was it noisy. The corridor had 2 lights that were burned out and the room was noisy with a view of a VERY dirty building and alleyway. The staff was very nice though and transferred me to their sister hotel in the hotel district at no extra cost (since we had no water to bathe or drink).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorRabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We've just spent 2 nights there...One at our arrival, the other at our departure...you should not spend more....It is expensive regarding other hotels for the same quality...And I've been robbed my mobile. I've asked everybody at the reception, but the guys don't care...So, my advise is: go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Angelalopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I was looking a hotel not in the Zona Hotelera cause I was going there to see the ruins, if u wanna also go to the beach u can take a bus and go to the public beach, but I found it very reasonable the price for what I was looking for.
The breakfast was in included on the price, was very basic but u leave ready to starting your adventures, the bus station its 2 blocks away and they take you everywhere around Cancun.
So if u are not thinking in a all inclusive hotel and low budget I think its worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enriquelimaperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I like budget travel when appropriate, like in case when all I need is a good night sleep before my plane early in the morning.

This is a hotel from hell, I kid you not. Sound isolation is non existent, the whole hotel is roaring like a jet engine from AC noise, constant door slamming and loud voices from the cavernous halls. The courtyard has parking space for your rental car, if you don't mind the cans of rotting garbage.

With so many choices of nice and slightly more expensive hotels why did I choose this one?

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dve2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Batab
Hotel Batab
#131 of 176 in Cancun
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antillano Hotel
Antillano Hotel
#114 of 176 in Cancun
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#105 of 176 in Cancun
212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#109 of 176 in Cancun
205 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soberanis Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soberanis Cancun

Address: Avenida Coba | SM22, M8, Lotes 5 y 7, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range: $33 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Soberanis Cancun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the most central hostel in Cancun, 600 meters from the bus station and 20 meters from Av. Tulum, Cancuns main street We are door to door to a supermarket and right infront of the IMSS, Cancuns public hospital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Soberanis Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing