We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the all-inclusiveness of Cancun!”
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #32 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Riu was an all-around solid choice for a Cancun all-inclusive. Our room on the top floor had a great view - everything there is apparently ocean-view, but it was nice to be above any noise that might float up from the main pool and dining areas during the day. Each room has a patio with a couple chairs, and you can hear the waves breaking. They say they restock the in-room mini-fridge every other day, but a note asking for "mas agua v cerveza" and a dollar tip did the trick; they over-stocked our fridge each day.
Food and drink flow as freely as tap water at Riu; there are just about enough choices for every kind of taste at the main restaurant, and there were choices being freshly prepared during each meal. It was especially nice to follow meals with a massive plate of fresh melon, pineapple, and papaya. At breakfast, they also had all sorts of fresh squeezed juices. I liked the dinner at the main restaurant more than in the reservations-required steakhouse, where everything hot except the steak was served less than piping hot. The guacamole available at every meal was seriously delicious. The bar choices were impressive; the lobby bar was the largest and nicest of them all, and on request they were happy to make drinks with their name brand choices instead of rail brands. They have no clue how to make a good mojito even though it's on their menu; each one tasted good, but not like a mojito, and a little different than the mojito before it. The on-site club and sports bar were a little bit disappointing; the club had a funky smell and was never very busy. There are a few other night spots within walking distance, though.
The beach-front location was perfect; I liked being able to take a dip in the ocean and then go right to the pool, and there was about an equal supply of beach chairs at both the pool and beach areas.
I walked over to the Riu Palace Las Americas next door one day. Las Americas is a good deal nicer - the lobby and feel reminded me of the Paris hotel casino in Las Vegas. Apparently Riu Cancun guests can't use Las Americas except at certain parts of the day, but I scoped out their main buffet; it had more choices than Riu Cancun.
Overall, Riu Cancun was solid in every regard; if the choice is between Riu (basically a 3+ quality property), and a 4 star hotel-resort that isn't all-inclusive, I'd go with Riu. The abundance of choices makes a big difference!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jraphs070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,533 - 4,539 of 10,128 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2009

we have just come home from a wonderful holiday at the riu cancun. we came on here before we went as saw some poor reviews and were a bit worried about what we would find. however we said the holiday is what you make it. From start to finish we had a brillient time, the hotel could do with a bit of a update bit it was fantastic very clean and had everything that you need. the staff were excellent in all of the resturants and the bars. The entertainment team were the best, they made sitting by the pool very fun!! all i can say is i want to go back next year!! please don't read other reviews and think that you have booked the wrong place because your holiday is what you make it and no one else should influence it....................

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Look, here's the deal you have your up's and down's in this land of the USA.But if you want to know the truth of this motel this is it,The place is busy whats that tell you that it is a place to go and service yes sometimes i got a little upset,because i order some water took a awhile to get it to my room busy! but pepole of on sorts from every where where there and everyone was so very nice and wanted to know where you where from and your name and i mean it was like whaa like everyone wanted to no each other in a week time there party staff was so unbeliveable that and i mean party staff the pepole that keep you intertain.NOW THIS IS WHERE IT BECOMES SPECIAL,THEY AFTER WORKING ALL DAY then they get with you and every one THAT want's to go bar hopping
and stay out until 3 or so and get up and do it all over again 7 days a week say hi to winny for me when you go there all as nice as him and there,there to make and keep you happy in anyway they can LOVED IT AND PLANE ON GOING BACK NEXT YEAR
THANKS STEVE.............

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKEET347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

All the meals, drinks and entertainment you could want!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank iseektoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed at the Riu Cancun last week for a 6 day, 5 night getaway. The resort was beautiful, and in a great location. The pools and beaches are gorgeous. The food was good, the drinks were great, and the bartenders were very generous. The activities co-ordinators worked very hard to make sure you had a good time.

The hotel is across from Plaza Caracol, and a short walk to some of the nightclubs (Coco Bongo, Daddy-O). The hotel even offers a shuttle to one of the nightclubs each night around 11:00.

The only downsides of this hotel are the elevators and the beds. The elevators are slow and stuffy, and usually crowded in the main building. We avoided this by asking for a room on a lower floor, and we just took the stairs which worked out perfectly. Also, the beds are a bit hard. You can call the front desk and have them put a mattress pad on your bed, which definitely helps. In my opinion, these are two small details when you consider how beautiful the hotel is!

A couple of suggestions:
-Shop around to get the best price on excursions. You can go across the street to some of the shops and pay 1/2 the price that you would pay through your travel agency for excursions.
-Negotiate! Prices on everything from souveniers to taxis are negotiable. They will start VERY VERY high, so don't be afraid to low-ball them and get to a reasonable price (We looked at a ring at one of the jewelry stores...the price started out at $980 USD, and we negotiated down to $80 USD).

Overall, it was a wonderful trip. I will be going back very soon and I will stay at Riu Cancun again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bridget8981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

first i want to say...i read all the reviews and i thought this would be a good hotel to stay at. So when we arrived it was a nice looking hotel. the lobby was beautiful, but when you get off the elevator upstair...it looks like you feel back into the 70's. the doors looked like they needed a paint job. The room was an OK size but the bed was like sleeping on a wooden floor. If you have knee problems i dont suggest crawling on the bed....you should slide across butt first. Our room gave us a nice ocean view, so no complaints there.

the food was ok .....i suggest bringing some tumms or pepto with you. Im not sure if the ice from the drinks or the food got us a little sick, but it was an every other day thing. they had a nice selection of food and juices and drinks and ice cream.

the shows were very good and i would go back to any an all the shows they have. The live music was good too. it was a nice atmosphere.

The location of this hotel cant be beat....if you are into the the nightclubs...it is fairly close to cocobongo.

overall this hotel was not as good as im used to.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pral503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Hi Everyone,
Just wanted to leave some positive feedback about this hotel, me and my two mates stayed there for one week from 4th Dec 2009, and I only have one bad thing to say about it! "One Week is not enough!"
This hotel is great, its slap bang in the hart of everything, the hotel is massive, and the staff are all very friendly.
The fully inclusive is very good, you don’t have to pay for anything, but like all fully inclusive you don’t get such a big choice as a normal bar, the drinks when we where there where house spirits, but they also had, José Quervo Tequila, Baileys, Jim Bean, Beefeater Gin, Bacardi, and maybe a few others, but that’s it. Beer is xx Dos Exiquis or something, I was drunk! But we never had a bad drink, and the cocktails are very nice, and very strong.
If you get a little bored in this hotel you can go down the road to its sister hotel and enjoy all their facilities for free as well. (We never got the time, but others told us it was a great way to change scenery without paying out).
I have over recent years gone on a lot of very nice all inclusive holidays and this is the first time we have not had to put our hand in our pockets to pay for things, other then tips! (most hotels get you on no free drinks after 12pm or night club not included, but its all included.
There is always a bar open, always food available, always fun to be had.
I would say there are a number of things about this hotel you might not like, but this is only to make people aware, not as a personal criticism.
First is the Sunshine, the hotel is 15 floors high, and at this time of year, the sun is behind the building a lot, with some carful seating you can get the sun until about 2pm, but no later then this, there is a sun terrace which gets the sun all day, but there is no pool, bar, etc it just sun sun sun, but down by the pool this goes away early and is often blocked out by the building.
Personally this did not bother me, I like to sunbath till the bars open then drink anyway so after 12.00 I was away from the sun beds and enjoying myself.
Even when then sun is hidden, its still very hot so its not like you get cold!
Also there are not a lot of facilities for children, in fact there was only a handful of kids there, but it is very adult, orientated. Don’t get me wrong, this is not some horrible 18-30 style hotel, but it is very lively, the pool bar can get a bit bloke testosterone felled, but it was never out of hand, and always in good spirits.
If you are looking for a fun holiday, to meet new people, have a laugh, enjoy yourself, etc. there is not a better hotel around this area.
Please also be aware that the five star might be a little misleading if your expecting posh! Its not a posh hotel. It is a well equipped, clean, friendly hotel, the staff can not do enough to help you, but its not some tranquil paradise, its just a normal hotel, bit old in places, but lovely!
Hoped this helped, I’m always happy to answer any questions anyone might have.
Happy Holidays
Tony

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigTony_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 177 in Cancun
7,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 177 in Cancun
3,523 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 177 in Cancun
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#38 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $200 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing