We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape”
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #32 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel gave our family a gift as were able to reconnect after my husbands military deployment. Our children enjoyed the kids club where they were able to play freely around us as we relaxed by the pool or the beach. Food was great and we were able to forget the responsibilities of time

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,080)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,314 - 2,320 of 10,080 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here for 3 weeks in december 2010. Rooms were a bit dated but the hotel staff made up for that. Overall was a good trip. I'm not really into all inclusive as I like to eat out often. Food was average buffet style unless you go to the a la carte restaurants which were all good. Espicially like the Japanese restaurant (don't eat the wasabi pea whole though) It almost blew my head off!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dannyphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Best Resort ever. The Pools were great. We loved the Beach . We also loved swimming in the Ocean. The pools was nice and cool. We also enjoyed the Non-Alcoholic Margaritas by the pool swim up bar. Nothing to dislike.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the beach on the south side are nicer.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Corney Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Riu for a week in May and loved it! The pools are fantastic, the beach is wonderful and it was so nice to be able to walk off the property into the city at night. Every room has an ocean view, which is such a treat! We would come again!

Stayed: May 2014
11  Thank JenBraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have to tell that this place is awesome. Well, you can find many along the zona hotelera in Cancun, but the access to the sea (except rocky parts) is amazing, just directly from the pool area. Animators are great. And the hotel is exceptional. Service is just according to Riu standarts - one of the best offer of food :-) It is not so far from town by bus (ruta 1 or 2) and close to the ferry to Isla mujeres. The only thing i hate about cancun is one hotel next to each other. But this is worthy....

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I after suffering the dreaded Deli belly on precious holidays I was skeptical about eating anything not cremated however the food choice, quality and preparation was first class. Staff were friendly and appeared to genuinely care about guests having a good stay. Beware of the mosquitoes after grounds have been watered but all rooms have screens to save you being bitten and rooms on the higher floors were too high for them to venture to. Loved our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors. Views are great, noise is reduced and mosquitoes don't fly...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very nice rooms, great staff, great food, there's always something going on. Less then 10 minute walk from all the attractions and the location is safe. Highly recommended. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JimmyG875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#40 of 176 in Cancun
710 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 176 in Cancun
7,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 176 in Cancun
3,190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 176 in Cancun
3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#38 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $215 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing