We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$332
$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$337
$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$817
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
$465
$356
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$800
$676
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$604
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$384
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$506
$427
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$508
$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,605)
Filter reviews
10,605 results
Traveler rating
5,614
3,050
1,066
491
384
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,614
3,050
1,066
491
384
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsannex buildingsports barcoco bongoquiet pooljapanese restaurantevery other daybar crawlsteakentertainment staffamazing holidayactivity pooljungle tourcaptain hookmain buffetspecialty restaurantssenor frogssenior frogs
Filter
Updating list...
2,984 - 2,989 of 10,605 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just arrived home after an excellent holiday so you may wonder why the moaning. First although clean the hotel is in need of refurbishment. Very dated. The riu caribe a mile away has been done and is better in many ways. Pool better layout. Dining room air con better. As we had stayed at both hotels previously we used both but preferred caribe. The worst thing is the Americans who come for 4 -7 days and just take over the place. They're loud, rude, arrogant and the language is foul. I must say Not all of them but Most. Apart from that the staff in both hotels were very good and always ready to refill your glass before you were empty. Antonia in the cancun is a good example. Lastly, last year we revisited a hotel in dom rep after a 4 year gap and were remembered with a surprise fruit tray with rum room service. This year after a 2 year gap got nothing.

Room Tip: Never knew you could pick.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidvarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Two weeks. Really lucky with weather. Staff can not do enough. Getting update next year and after few visits in the riu Careba down the road( which you have full access to as the secondary hotel for our trip and has been updated) the updates will make this even better. Food was great. All 3 Alacarte restaurants were an experience. In order Japanese, steak house then Brazilian for my tastes. All trips start at this hotel for pick up and coco bongos daddyo's etc a 5 min walk away. Unless you happy to sit in dubious waters and you want to drink all day stay away from pool bar. Lovely beach and as stated in other reviews sun does hide behind hotel but we just moved with the sun. Still get rays up until 6. Amazing trips but are expensive. Overall definatly recommend hotel and riu. Thoroughly enjoyed stay

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Let me give you the 5 Star review! If you like old and run down hotels 5 stars! If you like hard beds and bring air mattress 5 stars! If you like a cesspool for a swimming pool 5 stars! If you like the same food and yesterdays for breakfast 5 stars! If you like cheap booze 5 stars! If you like antique furniture from the the dump 5 stars! If you like shade after 2 o'clock 5 stars! Can't wait to go back in three weeks!

Room Tip: Best way to get a better room! Stay at a different hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikefish1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel could be great. The food and Service are really good. However, the rooms are below substandard. They smell strongly of humidity, there is mildew all over the bathrooms, stained and scratch tubs, no wifi service (I could not believe this). Although the all inclusive package is attractive, we did not stay more than the first night before we transferred to another hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

very welcoming staff on desk everyone is willing to help !! served with a refreshing drink in reception area. We were lucky and got upgraded at check-in process. views from room stunning.
food was fresh and always outstanding. yet again staff worked really hard, Air-con was defo a big thing with out that the humid weather would have been nightmare. entertainment on a evening wasnt really the best in my opinion however didnt mater to us that much as we booked excursion that picked us up really early so we werent out al night.
thanks to riu cancun for making our stay enjoyable !!!
lastly pool and surrounding area clean and busy, beach looks like paradise.

Room Tip: sea view waking up to paradise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavenholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews