We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to paradise”
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #32 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Back to paradise”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just got back from another great holiday at the riu cancun first thee days non stop rain and then wow we had fantastic weather the food at the hotel was really great the drinks were just as good and the staff were great the only draw back to this holiday was down to thomson holidays the plane we went on was an old first choice one the plane was dirty and not very comfortable the staff were rude the food was awful not a great start either we were taxing out to the runway when the captain said thre was a technical fault we could not be leave it when we got back to where we were they proceeded to fuel the plane I will leave it there you can come to your own conclusion we sat there for two hours and we were not even offered a drink of water

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room this hotel will change it for you no problem all rooms have sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,269
    2,865
    983
    463
    354
See reviews for
1,895
4,118
136
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This resort lives up to the RIU name.

We visited the resort with 2 other couples. We had the time of our lives.

From check-in to check out everything was above standard. The reception was quick, friendly and very professional.

Food was above average, we couldn't find a meal that did not go uneaten. The specialty restaurant's were top notch.

The couple of drawbacks that I found during our stay are:

The grounds: I love to walk the grounds and beaches when I vacation. The space is very limited at this hotel, no long walks unless you go on the street, which is like being in downtown Chicago. Lots of traffic and no breeze from the ocean to cool you down.

The pool area:. The hotel is quite tall so the sun goes behind to early for the pool area to stay warm. We enjoyed plenty of time with the entertainment staff all were excellent.

Would I go again? Yes, if we got an outstanding deal. Two main reasons I go on these types of vacations is for the long beach & ground walks and the pool. I prefer PDC area for that reason. The hotel is great but the grounds are just to compact.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view so I cannot say if one is better then the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed that the Riu Cancun for 1 week which I simply needed more days once I was there it was absolutely stunning!
Rooms are very spacious and get cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Fridge is stocked up every other day but if you ran out of drinks simply call reception and a man will be up straight away filling it up for you! Service is brilliant!

I cannot fault the food either there is so much choice and I am a very fussy eater and I couldn't complain there is something for everybody! We tired the steak house, Brazilian and Japanese restaurants whilst we were there and they are also amazing, the Brazilian being my favourite meat is cooked to perfection.

The entertainment team are all very friendly and welcoming trying to get you involved in all the activities on offer! The hotel has a very mixed age group from people in their early twenties to families but this hotel really does cater for all. It is around a 5 minuet walk to the main strip where all the night life is so if you aren't interested in going out clubbing you wont hear any noise at the hotel! I would definitely recommend coco bongo for all age groups that was my best night in Cancun.

The beach is kept very clean and tidy and is breathtaking its exactly what you expect for the Caribbean but I would recommend Dolphin Beach which is about a 10 minute ride on the shuttle bus which is 40p bargain!

Overall I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was the BEST trip by far and staying at the Riu in Cancun was amazing. Bryan, Binnui and Sara and James from front desk are amazing. We got placed in Room 647 - Oceanview Suite. This hotel was close to all the hottest clubs and the resort was so fun! This is definitely not a place for families with young children in my opinion as it was more of a fun, party resort. The entertainment staff ie. Joseph and crew were amazing resort + party hosts. The food was good but I wasn't too fond of the specialty restaurants, they were ok. The beach was phenomenal and it did not rain one day we were there. I love it here and I will be back one day.

Room Tip: Rooms 639-655 are the best rooms in my opinion. Good view and they are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Been to many all inclusive hotels before and this is up there with the best, the only bad part about the hotel is the Brazilian restaurant. The meat didn't have the nice marinade that you would find at a decent rodizio. It was all very similar to the buffet, the Japanese however was fantastic.
People moaning about the weather need to realise this is a hotel review site not a weather moaning site. Weirdos!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank battyg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had one of the best holidays whilst staying in cancun at the Riu. The hotel was spotless throughout. Its true that rooms need updating but the time that you spend in your room whilst on holiday is minimal anyway! Whilst staying here in July last year all rooms were having flat screen TV's installed. The hotel is huge and we needed to get a lift up to the rooms, its true that sometimes you have to wait and often some americans try and push the queue but its not too bad. Be careful though as people often cram into the lift which sometimes prevents it from moving!
Entertainment at the hotel is great and staff really work hard to give you a good time. During the day they have games of pool volleyball, bingo, dance lessons, aqua aerobics and also a balloon water fight which was really good fun. Staff make an effort to get to know you and entertainment on a night was good fun too, there was also a Michael Jackson tribute night.
The bar staff are lovely and go out of their way to make you fabulous cocktails like the 'superman', also bringing olives and peanuts as appetisers.
Food was absolutely unbelievable... so much choice! The riu also hosts nights such as Spanish nights when they cook huge pans of paella or Mexican nights and make fab fajitas! The three restaurants are Brazilian, Japanese and the steakhouse. All were lovely but the Japanese may be a little adventurous for some people serving sushi and fried ice cream. We loved it though. On a weekend the hotel had a bbq by the pool,again serving huge dishes of paella and burgers etc.
If you do go to cancun you MUST NOT go home without visiting coco bongos! Its absolutely amazing. We booked a VIP package with the hotel which was well worth the money which meant that we were not standing but up in a vip area with our own waiter who would bring us drinks all night ( drinks included In the price). The entertainment staff also have nights where they take you out to the different bars of cancun like senor frogs and its meant to be a really good laugh!
I would truly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go to cancun. we would go back again no problem!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alisonredpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Cancun resort in late April. I have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts in Mexico and this was my least favourite. It is a great place if you are young and like to party but not so good if you are middle aged or have a young family. The pools are nice, the beach is beautiful. the rooms are adequate, the a la cartes are not very good, and the food in the buffets is great with lots of variety! The service was hit and miss in the buffet. We tried to get seated in either Daniel or Louis E.'s sections as they were awesome! Ramone, Carlos, and Juanita were fabulous at the swim up bar! It was certain staff members that made our stay not the resort itself. The shows are not great and the disco is so hot that it is stifling! The resort needs to upgrade their air conditioning. The main elevator was extremely hot as there was no fan or air conditioning in it. There are no organized kids activities for people with younger children. I was not impressed with this resort and will never stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a cement ridge on the 13th floor that blocks part of the beach view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIE_W936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
664 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#45 of 175 in Cancun
7,459 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing