We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #31 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Dates: Feb 24-Mar 3, 2013

I loved the resort!!! I have been to a luxury resort and paid the premium and I think RIU was an awesome resort. Everything was perfect. Lots of food selection, great staff, clean hotel and lots of effort made on everyone's part to keep you happy. The resort is literally a five minute walk from the club district and shopping area. I found the resort to have an excellent mix of people and a variety of ages, singles and couples. No babies or small kids. The only bad thing I have to say about this resort is about the sun exposure. Around 2pm the sun would be hidden by the huge hotel and it became chilly and the beach is very small. The entertainment at the resort was fantastic every single night and they even have a club at the resort. The club was nothing spectacular but the resort is competing with all the cancun clubs and it just won't win. Overall, I think the resort was perfect. Nothing extreme fancy but nothing was bad and lots of variety to keep everyone happy. I should mention that the hot tub on the other side of the resort is not a hot tub!! Wish they had one.
The only part that I was upset with was the club pack we bought from Sunwing. We bought 3 club passes and one excursion deal for $195 USD which did seem like a good deal at the time. But we later discovered that you can probably get club entrance cheaper if you buy directly from the club. And our excursion got cancelled every single day because of the bad weather and sunwing did nothing to compensate us for it. I guess that is the risk you take and its not Sunwing's fault but it would have been nice if our sunwing rep atleast pretended that she cared!
Everyone that goes to Cancun has to go to coco bongo! BEST club ever. Super fun!!

Room Tip: we paid extra for an oceanview room but maybe I am just not a fan of the view but I didn't find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,130
    2,795
    959
    451
    344
See reviews for
1,840
3,976
134
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Can't fault this hotel, its as described in the brocures, on the beach, with excellent standards of food and service. It is a little dated in design, but having checked out the 'newer & refurbished' RIU hotels in the same area, we were glad we picked the RIU Cancun (has a 'Colonial/Art Neaveau feel to it, tall ceilings and older light fittings, sort of Raffles Singapore), we we though far better. Take a list of your favourtie cocktails, because we must have tried every one we could think of and still they kept coming (although not all of the spirits are to UK standard, I thought the Brandy they served undrinkable, but thats the only issue).The Themed a la carte restaurants are good, but the main buffet restaurant (Don Juan) is outstanding. The chice and quality of food is amazing, and its almost impossible not to over eat (we tried & failed to eat sensibly). We didn't do much outside the Hotel, as there's no real need to leave it, but the excursions are expensive, and the loclal shopping malls/plaza's unimpressive & overpriced. Catch a Ciuty bus outside the hotel,17 pesos (£1)for two, and head for Wal Mart, just tell the driver when you get on and he'll tell you when you've arrived, Very cheap Tequila & Hairdresser, (but the tequila at the airport is also cheaper than the local shops & you can take it on the plane as 'carry on). Cigars? Well I bought some Te Amo's at the airport duty free. They are not cheap in the local shops, the beach Hawkers offer them cheaply (but as one Yank said " I smoked one of these last year and had a headache for 2 days") but real or fake? Finally (if you're looking for some peace & quiet) try & avoid 'Spring Break' which was just starting as we left. Its not just noisy Americans, the party scene is now joined by youngsters from all over the world. If your one of those youngsters (University age) this is for you.

Room Tip: As for a high floor with full sea view, some rooms on the lower floors have views onstructed by buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JT3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were here for 12 nights in total.
The rooms - good quality overall, fully stocked bar (with optics, yes optics!) which is replenished every 2 days unless you request otherwise. Safe is available but the rumour is there has been thefts so not recommended. Iron and ironing board and flat screen tv with numerous English channels. Sea view and balcony for all rooms.
Entertainment - it's okay, the best show is the traditional
Mayan the rest are pretty camp dancing shows. The pool entertainment is quite good and comprised of water polo, water volleyball etc. the pools are great but get your towel out at 2am to guarantee a lounger. Swim up bar is very cool. Use the staff night club trips to see the big clubs, the city for me was the best, cocos is too rammed.
Bars - the drinks choice are nothing short of amazing, anything bar JD is available, all the cocktails you clan think of.
Food - fing amazing, any reviews that complain about choice use lunatics. You can book 3 different themed restaurants or use the main dining rooms.
Staff - great, really attentive, polite and very professional.
Location - excellent right near the action and on the beach
Only complaint I have is the WIFI you only get an hour and half in the lobby otherwise you pay crazy prices, it supposed to be a 5 star hotel????
Summary - great hotel, great staff more a 4 star but has 5 star food.

Room Tip: One that doesn't leak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piracicaba, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I were staying for a week at this spectacular hotel (february,25 to march 04, 2013). The staf is very helpful and attentive, the hotel is clean, the food is wonderful and abundant!
Although ancient, it is well maintained and clean, everything works fine. We hope back soon!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean view are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alctoniolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Where to begin?! The Riu Cancun is far better than a 3 star resort! My husband and I have been to Cancun 3 times now in the past 15 moths, and this was our first time staying at a Riu resort. We travel often, and have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts, including two 5 stars. We have nothing but praise for Riu Cancun, and can't wait to go back! The entire resort is very well maintained, and the star is eager to serve your every need! Check-in and check-out room less than 10 minutes, and was very easy.

We stayed in a junior suite (room 447), and ha gorgeous views from our balcony! Our AC worked amazingly well. The water pressure is outstanding here.... The best we've ever had at a hotel, and there is no shortage of hot water! Our room was huge with lots of closet space and hangers. The liquor I dispenser and fridge are completely stocked with all your needs, and are re-stocked every-other day. (Which is plenty often!) The "king bed" is probably our only room complaint as it is two double beds pushed together, which was awkward. But we made it work!

The food and bars are great! We are at both the main buffet and mission buffet (pool & ocean side). I'm a picky eater, but had no problems finding great food! They have something for everyone's cravings! The crepes on Thursday night were amazingly delicious... My husband and I both had seconds on these treats! We did eat at two of the speciality restaurants... The Japanese one was great food and service. My husband doesn't care for sushi and such, but liked what he ordered. It was a nice, romantic setting. We ate at the Brazilian restaurant with another couple we met on the trip. This was an interesting experience as its a sampling type dinner. The food was good, but wasn't my all-time favorite. My one complaint is how hard it is to get into the restaurants. We would go down around 10:30 each morning, and they were already booked full... But then when we did get in there were so many empty tables?! Didn't make sense to us, but oh we'll, the buffet was plenty good!

The bars serve great drinks, and its fun to sample new things as the bartenders are very knowledgeable! Great shots, too! :) The night club is a fun place to hang out, listen to music, drink and meet other people. It's nothing fancy, but works for the nights you don't want to leave the resort (and pay $40-100 pp for clubs)! The resort shows were very entertaining. You need to get there early for a good seat! They have something for everyone! Mayan show was very cool!

We used the spa for 80 minute massages. Mexican therapist pay so much more attention to detail than back here in the US. We're members of Massage Envy, and neither my husband or I have had a massage that can compare to the ones we've gotten in Mexico. The prices were a little high though... I would suggest going across the street from Riu Palace Americanas to Bamboo Salon & Spa, which we also did later in the trip. They are much more reasonable, and both of us agree this was the best massage ever.... And it's clean, modern, and comfortable.

The beach and pools were both great! The waves aren't too crazy here so you can actually enjoy swimming, and we saw kids playing around the beach. Chairs were harder to find by the pool after 10 am, but we prefer the beach, and never had a problem. There all sorts of activities you can participate in for all ages! We had no issues of getting sun like some people said. Who needs sun after 4:30 anyways?

All in all, Riu Cancun is an amazing resort that deserves at least 4.5 stars! If you can't have a good time here then it's your own fault! This resort has it all, and seems to be a great place for all ages! It's the perfect balance of relaxation and fun! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moe723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were verry happy with our stay here. The staff was excellent and the food and drinks were also very good. Our entire family went and it was a nice family atmosphere. It was cold and windy during some of our stay so we may choose to go back. In April or May instead of the end of February or beginning of March. We are already trying to figure out when we can plan our return to this same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, Idaho
Level Contributor
215 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 8days with 2 families, all the kids were 15-21 years old so older families. By having the all-inclusive, everyone could eat whenever they wanted during the days, and we all made sure to get together for dinners. We all thought the food was very good and the selection extensive. The main dinner menu changes for the most part every night and sure some of the things could get tiresome but how much can you eat anyway. The drinking was awesome as we went across the street to a shopping area and picked up some 16 oz tumblers and just used them in the help yourself areas. When at the bars we ordered 2-3 drinks each and tried everything, always tipping the help 1-2 dollars and the service was great. We used all the water fun that was available at no cost,couldnt be better. Most of us went to the nightly shows, kinda hookie but the young adults all loved it and it was something else for them to do. The only down side for us is you can hardly tell your are in Mexico as the area is all resorts. We took the bus down to area 48(Ithink) which was a large outdoor shopping area and it was ok, but we normally go to PVR and love living like locals at The Tropicana and hanging out at a different eatery or beach daily. We would go back to the Riu given the right situation, the frickin airport was an absolute nightmare when we arrived, taking hours to go thru customs and get out of there. Would never fly in or out on week-ends.Would recommend the Junior Suite if can, also wrote maid a note daily asking her to fill up our frig with Coronas, and if you left a few bucks, she would.The ocean and beach are fabulous, pools ok.

Room Tip: Junior suite if can. All rooms appeared to have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theperry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#46 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,272 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing