We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Round PERFECT !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #26 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All Round PERFECT !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just come back from Riu Cancun.
honestly say could NOT fault a thing.
Staff went out there way to help, Room always clean after cleaners been.
Food was great, never ate so much. Pools are areas were spot loss :)
Balcony view was just mind blowing.
Added bonus, my partner proposed to me one evening in front of the perfect ocean. :))
Can honestly say will defintly go back.
Recommendations.. COCO BONGO, Night club and Show, not just for the youngsters, was one of our fab nights out.
Just watch out for Taxis, one one company on town and they do rip you off, so ask how much before u get in...

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,594
    2,545
    847
    407
    307
See reviews for
1,604
3,503
122
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I just returned from RIU after spending 7 nights at the resort. I have no complaints. The food was good, especially the buffet. The themed restaurants were OK. The rooms were good, and the ocean view from our room was perfect. The service was top notch, as well as the event staff. The resort is located down town, in the middle of all the hustle and bustle, but I didn't mind that. We ventured off one evening and did some shopping and the found some deep sea fishing for half the price that our travel agent was going to charge us. Overall a great trip for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank esimon2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from our trip and we had a great time. The junior suite we had was roomy and had an excellent view of the pool and ocean. . The room although smelled a bit musty all the time. The food was ok. The buffet had pretty much the same food all the time, but we always found something we liked. The staff an service were great. We never waited on anything, and they always had a smile !! The Brazilian restaurant was awful . The meat was dry and had no taste. We didn't like anything in there. Beach was always crowded as was the pool. You had to get up at the crack of dawn to get a chair . So many resorts are like that and it's so annoying . People put out their towels and you don't see anyone in the chairs for hours. But overall we had a good time and the weather there was great the whole time!

Room Tip: We had room 459 , a junior suite. Great location. Couldn't have had a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful week at this resort. The room was very nice and very clean, had a decent view of the
ocean and pool. Food at the hotel buffet was awesome, the themed restraunts weren't as good but ok. The only draw back was there is no food room service and the coffee wasn't great. Staff were more than awesome, can't complain about the service. The patio bar was fantastic and Frank the bar tender was the bomb!!!!!!! Awesome guy and always had our drinks ready befor we new we needed them..lol Beach and pools are very nice. Swim up bar and pool very busy and lots of fun. Very friendly place over all. Will definately stay here again. At the risk of repeating myself, the staff was AWSOME!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TamVanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall, good value for money. Beach is quite small but service, food, amenities are all excellent. Staff are very attentive.

I never had to wait for drinks, the Resort was clean, from top to bottom. Room service was great, ordered more beer to the room, and had someone at the door in no time. The Japanese, Brazilian, and Steak House restaurant were possibly better then any of the same style of restaurant that I've been too.

Bottom line, Good comfortable hotel. probably not as highly rated as some of the other ones but great location, and Cancun is about LOCATION!!

Nothing too wrong about the hotel. The staff is friendly for the most part.

I have to mention that the Sports bar is very Hockey and NFL football oriented and that's a bonus if your Canadian sports fan like me. Never missed a important game when I was there.

Book it if you the price is right!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just got back the hotel is great food was excellent we never tried the specialty restaurants we enjoyed the main one can't comment on the entertainment we did try twice to see it but on one night they didn't turn up the second night it never happened the rooms were very clean the only complaint I would say was it smelled damp room1137 but we had a fantastic view the only down side of the hotel is how it's build you lose the sun around 3-00 around the pool we also found you had to get your towels down early by 7-30 it was full of Canadians and Americans who were very loud and did tend to move your towels would go back again

Room Tip: To get the sun longer you need to get the beds near the railings
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahale095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The room my friend and I were given was on the first floor, so I was worried about late night and early morning noise. I was pleasantly surprised that it was not the case. Room was fairly good size, the bathroom was huge, and it was very clean.

Food - the buffet was decent and had good selections. We ate there for breakfast and lunch, and ate at the specialty restaurants for dinner. Always make you make your dinner reservations as soon as it is allowed. If the resort is busy, there's a chance that you won't get your restaurant of choice if you wait too long (or if they do have availability, it might be too early or too late in the evening.

The best part of this all-inclusive trip is the unlimited alcoholic drinks! A little watered down, but it's free. My friend and I started our mornings with a glass of Bloody Mary. What more can I say.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.3 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#71 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 3,784 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#40 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 6,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing