We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Cancun
Nearby Hotels
$337
$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
$465
$365
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$503
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$626
$506
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$803
$676
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$315
$224
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$404
$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$604
$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,608)
Filter reviews
10,608 results
Traveler rating
5,617
3,050
1,066
491
384
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,617
3,050
1,066
491
384
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsannex buildingsports barcoco bongoquiet pooljapanese restaurantevery other daybar crawlsteakentertainment staffamazing holidayactivity pooljungle tourcaptain hookmain buffetspecialty restaurantssenor frogssenior frogs
Filter
Updating list...
4,239 - 4,244 of 10,608 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our third time all inclusive. The other 2 times we were in Dom Rep. This was our second time to Cancun,our first visit was 13 years ago to the Beach Palace which then was room only. It was a time share swop. this was paradise I defy anyone to find fault with the food or service from any of the staff. Friends we were with were in the main block we were in the building to the side and I did hear one or two moans about the standard of the rooms in the main block.
We did the VIP ticket to coco bongo which you must see if you are going BUT be mindful it gets very very busy. If you are young then get down on the floor and do your thing but for the slightly older verson out there get the VIP ticket.
Did Chichen itza (sorry about spelling) last time I was there we climbed it.Spoke to a guy who had just done it this time and he was very disappointed it was sealed off and you cant get near it now.
If ther is a drop of drizzle get on the bus outside for pennies and visit the shopping malls.
Fantastic 11 out of 10 for the RIU Cancun

Room Tip: I dont know I asked about this and was told its random
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anigadavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just got back from the Riu cancun amazing hotel inside and outside stands out above the rest. when we arrived the staff were very helpful and welcoming, the service at the hotel is one of the best I have received the staff are very hard working always smiling and very friendly a small tip does go a long way. The rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard the beds were comfy after all the bad reviews we read previously the air con wasn't the best to be honest, unbelievable views from the balcony, T.V in the room were old but who sits in on holiday to watch tv they were fine for when you were getting ready at night, you also have alcohol dispensers in the rooms and a fridge full of beers water and soft drinks which was nice and refilled every 2days or if you get low just ask and they will refill them for you. The hotel has 3 pools a quite pool on the far side of the hotel a games pool and the main pool which is loud and busy all pools are a good size big enough for every one and there is also a bar pool which can get busy and loud as the day goes on, also the beach is another alternative to relax. The location of the hotel is perfect 2 minute walk from the main night life which is highly recommended. The hotel has 4 restaurants on site the main buffet serves breakfast dinner and tea daily which has a wide range of different foods every day so even those who are fussy will not have a problem, There is also a Brazillian restaurant Japanese restaurant and a steak house with these 3 you need to make a reservations for around 2days in advance me personally loved the brazillian very nice and good choice of meats. The hotel has its own entertainment team which work so hard they start around 9am and finish around 11pm there around the pools everyday with different activities going on which are great fun, they also organise the evening entertainment at the hotel which was a high standard with a wide range of different shows and none of the shows repeated themselves while we were there which is good, each night the entertainment team organise nights out to different nightclubs which are well worth the money. overall it was a great holiday would 100% go back the only bad thing was the weather had a few bad days but this time of the year is there rainy season so cant complain.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

on arival we were treated to lovely non alcohol cocktails in the hotel lobby which was beautiful,reception staff very polit and friendly,we were shown to our room which smelt slightly of damp,very clean though,we had our fridge and mini bar replenished every 2 days and we were treated to towel sculptures every day,the beach was perfect soft white sand under foot and warm blue sea though if your not confident in the ocean then this is not the place for you as there is a strong current,beach bar and on the beach massages were fab,we were able to visitmost of the riu hotels there are several next to each other,they were all lovely,mexico was fantastic we enjoyed several historic sites and we were in awe of them,the only thing that lets it down is the contsant stream of beggers and sellers who expect you to give them money,tulum was unbearable one lady on our tour said it was worse than egypt for beggers,another couple had gone to thr island of cozumel and was very disapointed by the army of street beggers and vendors who didnt understand the word no,for us the worst place was the shopping plaza dwn the road from the hotel where we were stared at by the locals who just wanted our money,i made an offer on a ring i had seen and the seller accepted my offer then sneezed and spat in my face as i left the shop he utterd some mumbo jumbo and said i curse you and your ring!!!another seller told us that we should pay top price for everything as we are here in his country eating his food and drinking his tequila!!i was so anoyed i retaliated by saying,yes pall but i saved hard to come here i have paid to be here,spent my money in your country and i have to pay a departcher tax to leave your country.after that things got hostile and we left and headed back to the hotel.sooo if you love white sand beaches with the sound of mariachi this is for you,if you dont like to be hounded and driven mental by constant wooden carvings thrust in your face dont go to mexico!

Room Tip: complain if your roon stinks of damp
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowbird49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We loved this hotel and the employees. Luis Miguel our Apple rep. was very helpful and probably the best apple rep. we have ever met. We have taken many Apple vacations and this hotel was one of the best. The food was great, lots of choices. The pools are large and able to accomadate everyone at the hotel. The location is great, very close to shops and clubs. Our Junior suite had a fantastic view. The only bad thing we found was the couch was very old and not very comfy. We would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShellyCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel was the best hotel i have ever been to. i have been all over the world on holidays from spain to miami but this has got to be the best hotel by far! it was perfect.
before we went we read that the food was horrible and hotel rooms werent nice etc but its all rubbish! the food was gorgeous different themes every night with so much choice there was something for everybody, the al la carte restaurants were nice our favourite was the Japanese- got to try the fried ice cream its delicious !!!!
The rooms were nice, beds massive nice view, cleaned every day and re stocked mini bar wtih no extra cost!! as previously said this hotel is PERFECT i would definately recommend and defintely go back!! the staff were very friendly too !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jemmat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews