We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Perla, Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“La Perla, Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Best restaurant on the resort! Try the beef medallion! Exceptional service from Javier Varela. Also special mention of Francisco. We also enjoy lunches at La Perla, particularly fresh seafood! Beautiful view of the beach.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,586
    2,037
    734
    216
    191
See reviews for
3,320
3,300
107
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed in room #3558 May 11-16th... The resort is absolutely stunning.

The lush vegetation, modern lounging areas, and breathtaking ocean views kept my eyes and camera very busy. The resort is very clean, safe, and strikes a great balance of fun and relaxing. The food was excellent. Naos is basically the only option for breakfast and lunch, but the international style buffet offered plenty to chose from. Multiple options for dinner. A personal favorite was Blue Agave, the tacos and tequila bar that doesn't require reservations. Naos, Blue Agave, Fuego, Bana, and La Perla all exceeded expectations in both food quality and personal service. Market Grill was decent, but will probably skip in future visits. Reservations did not seem necessary during our stay, but it is highly suggested that you book a few upon arrival.
Overall service throughout the resort was top notch.. restaurant, bar, and housekeeping staff were all very friendly, fast, and helpful. The room was clean and well appointed with a gorgeous view. The beach is my idea of perfection.. tides can be dangerous, but just use caution and pay attention to the flags. There are plenty of activities and social opportunities if you are looking for fun and excitement.. but there is no pressure to take part if relaxation is the priority.
This vacation/resort was true paradise, and I will absolutely visit Paradisus Cancun again!

Room Tip: Oceanview was worth it! Tower 3 is the main building- can get loud between 6-9pm, but quieted down w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemmccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I just returned from a trip to the Paradisus with my mother. We had a wonderful time. The décor is beautiful. My mother loved all of the plants and water features including the koi ponds. We stayed in the Royal Service area. It was very quiet. We enjoyed the amenities offered in the Royal Service lounge area like the continental breakfast and the bar/snacks available the rest of the day. Our butler, Cesar, was very nice. We didn't use his services a lot, but he was very friendly and brought us white tea pillows at night and a bottle of tequila to take home. He also helped make our restaurant reservations. Our favorite part of having Royal Service was having the Bali bed at the pool. It was so relaxing and nice to get a break from the sun.

The beach was beautiful even though the water was a bit rough. The grounds, in general, were immaculate.

We ate at the Blue Agave on our first night as it is the only restaurant other than the buffet that doesn't require reservations. The tacos were very good. We also ate at Fuego. It was fantastic. Hector went above and beyond to help us as I have celiac disease and have to eat gluten free. All restaurants were very accommodating of this. We also enjoyed our dinner at The Market Grill which is like a Brazilian steakhouse. On our final night we had tapas at Vento. Another excellent meal.

The only minor complaint was that the housekeeping staff kept taking our washcloths when they cleaned and not replacing them with new ones.

All in all, we had a very enjoyable experience and would love to go back. My mother is already talking about returning next year with her husband.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Paradisus May 2 -10 and we loved it! We were there for our daughters wedding and it was beautiful. The staff was very helpful when we were not happy with our first room. We ate at several of the restaurants and we were not disappointed with any of them. A special thanks to Luis at Naos. He was very attentive. The beach was great and the staff that brought us drinks there were great! We will be back!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NLBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the lobby very exotic with lots of plants. I attended a Forum. Too many steps to get to the convention center, first you can use a ramp, then go up two steps, walk a few yards, then go down 5 steps (why not keep it on one level and descend 3 steps??), then walk another few steps, another step down, repeat same and finally get to the escalator. My knees were killing me after doing this several times a day. The single steps are not marked, if you are distracted you can easily miss it and fall.
The hotel lacks clear markings, very few places indicate room numer locations. Many of us kept getting lost, I finally learned my way around on the third day. Everybody was very friendly and helpful, housekeeping a bit spotty, out of 3 nights I received turn-down service the second night only.. Coffee in the room was replaced after I asked for it, not automatically.
The food was good, some of it delicious. You have to be a good walker in that hotel!
I did not see a lot of installations for handicapped guests, except the one ramp going down to the convention center. Could stand some improvement in that regard.
The hotel gives a relaxed feeling, the music in the evening in the hallways is very soothing. The view of the ocean is breathtaking, the beach is OK, of course it has waves and can be rough, but after all, you are in Cancun. If you want calmer waters go to Riviera Maya. I hear Paradisus just opened a hotel there.

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean view. It is well worth it. If you can´t walk far, ask for a room near an elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regula_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel was beautiful as well as the staff with one small issue/problem. The housekeeping staff was slow. Our bed didn't get made until after 3pm, I don't like that. But, overall it was great and yes I would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Tammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a truly special resort where we had a memorable time.

First of all the stunning looking venue stands out to you and has a very warm welcome (even if the incense smell is a bit over powering on the nose.

We went for the Royal Service which meant we had a adult only area of the hotel and offered 24 hrs concierge service. One of the best elements was the service provided by the staff at the hotel. The two stand outs being Carlos who made sure we were well looked after while relaxing by the pool and Eric who was part of the concierge team. Both we're very consistent and had a great eye for detail.

The restaurants offer a fantastic variety and great quality. The favourites being BANA excellent quality sushi & great setting and Mole which made sure we were well looked after with excellent classic Mexican cuisine and good wine.

I would definitely recommend this resort if you are thinking of staying in Cancun, and interested to see other Melia resorts going forward.

Nick B

Room Tip: If you can afford to stretch the budget definitely consider the royal service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
4.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#18 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
0.5 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Property: Paradisus Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing