We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradisus”
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #24 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cancun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradisus”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Paradisus was an awesome experience. Staff was very friendly and plan to go back soon! The beach and water was the most beautiful I have ever seen but the only thing it lacks is beach music by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Speavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,832
    2,132
    765
    223
    205
See reviews for
3,506
3,445
114
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,068)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Paradisus Cancun is recommended for those looking for all inclusive resorts without sacrificing luxury. The place itself is beautiful and spacious with welcoming staff. My boyfriend and I came to relax and just get away so we were both blown by the experience here compared to other all inclusive resorts we've stayed in. We had an ocean view room so we woke up every morning to the blue Mexican sky and bluer water. The rooms were clean meticulously everyday and the girl that cleaned our room was so friendly! (We stayed in room 3610)

Every morning when we went down to NAOS for breakfast, the waitstaff was super friendly and cheerful. Actually, I take that back, the waitstaff was super friendly 24/7. Might I add the numerous food possibilities from morning to night? Room service is included as well and they have a handful of restaurants and bars to choose from for dinner and late night drinks (these are all included as well) every night. Room service and the minibar in your room is included as well.

The pool is sparkling clean, the entire resort is always kept pristine. The only problem I had was with the waitstaff in La Perla, I had asked for a rare steak but the waiter said it might be too soft for me and he'll make it taste better (language barrier? I don't know.) Anyway, my steak came out well done which was too overcooked for me. The guy restocking our room's mini-fridge also stopped restocking for us after the third day, for some odd reason. Room service was great, however. It's like a genie in a lamp, you say your wishes and BAM! All is well and fixed.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort. I lived in a regular ocean view junior suite so I can't say much about family concierges or royal service although if our service was this great, it should be even better. Family concierges have their own private check in/out spot with a game room for kids and royal service has their own restaurant as well as more VIP perks.

Paradisus, you've ruined the rest of Cancun's all-inclusive resorts for me. This spoiled NYC girl is definitely coming back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Relied on reviews from trip advisor and booked 5 days for a getaway with my husband. We got a great deal on Hotwire. The best part is the beach, which is lovely. If you are looking for a place to spend time relaxing by the water- either the ocean or one of 3 pools, this is a great optin. The room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. Note that this is a huge resort, and as such lacks the intimacy of a smaller facility. Also, the food is ok, but predictable, and not the highlight. However, the service is exceptional. Friendly and willing to go the extra mile to guarantee comfort and satisfaction. Overall, we were very pleased, and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor. There are no bad views - the lagoon side was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyF91764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review! We're very happy to hear that you've been enjoying our property and even happier to hear that you coming back !

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Well, this is a normal basic 3 star hotel. I don't know where they get the nerve to call it 4 or some even 5 star hotel. I’m highly disappointed too at trypadvisor as they awarded an excellence award in 2013. Boy has trypadvisors standards gone down the drain. They give an award to anyone now days. I remember when this actually mean something but now, uff.

Back to the hotel, Hotel is nice. Great location. A little outdated but so are most hotels in the hotel zone. So the selling point if their outstanding service. Reading previous comments, I could not believe it that much till it happen to us. Wanting an A+ experience, we took the Royal Service package. For the high price plus additional cost for Royal Service - What a waste of money! Technically the only benefit you get is a butler, that if you’re lucky they answer their phone, then you’re in heaven. But not us. They will take care of all your reservations. BUT that doesn't mean you will get one or at a decent time. ESPECIALLY if the butler has an afternoon shift as all reservations for a good time slot are to be made before 8am. If your butler arrives for work in the afternoon, guess what? You are out of luck. And they say no one else can help you as he’s your butler.

Furthermore, all the offerings on their website are not good / valid. Reserved Cabana beds while you’re there? You only get 2 per stay. If you want more, you need to get on a waiting list and then be on top of the people who assign them as if someone shows up with a large bank roll, you are out of luck.

Service – waiters are almost nonexistent. If you want something, lots of times, you have go get it yourself.

Check in – almost 2 hours. Not because the room was not ready. But because our butler was not in to start his shift and no one else could help us according to them. Then only 2 people checking in patrons with a huge line. So much for Royal Service.

Check out – at breeze. No issues here other than only 1 person doing check outs in the morning. So a little slow

Food – most of the food served is at room temperature or cold. Only hot meal we had was at the Market Grill. And good luck trying to get a reservation. Unless you want to have dinner at 6pm or past 10pm, you are out of luck. HOWEVER, all restaurants are half empty most of the time. Talking to several waiters and hotel staff, these actions are encouraged by the hotel management to push people to go out for food not using their restaurants, thus eating less thus increasing their bottom line. Which makes sense. It’s a business. BUT don't make it so obvious! Spoon feed us something to make us believe the restaurants are full because of the great food. They are just that dumb.

Room service – good selection. Food is a C+ / B-. However the fastest we got our food was 1.5 hours! Least was 1.5 hours the most we waited was a hair under 3 hours.

Mini- bar in room – if you drink / eat everything in there, good luck trying to get them to re-stock. They question you as if you were a criminal.

So, in conclusion, this is a 3 star hotel with great location and not so good staff. For this money you can stay at any other location as this is one of the priciest places around. I highly recommend you opt out of Royal Service as you are practically giving them your money obtaining practically nothing (other than 2 Cabana reservations per stay)

Maybe it was a fluke and my stay was horrible just for us. But I can tell you that while complaining, at least 5 other couples where there too doing the same. If you stay there, good luck. Maybe you’ll do better than us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

We normally receive excellent feedback about our Royal Service, because is one of the best spaces in the hotel with personalized attentions, superior comfort and refinement to make your stay in Cancún an exquisite and memorable experience.

We called a meeting with all of the involved staf and would like to inform you that our heads of department and staff were properly informed about the particular circumstances you mentioned. Be assured all necessary measures have been taken in order to avoid similar situations in the future.

We hope you will consider trying our hotel again.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel for a business trip where I was presenting as a guest speaker for a business convention. The experience was dreadful , the first night they would not let me meet with the organizer since I was not staying at the hotel and I was forced to pay $85usd for a night pass in order to meet with him in one of the locations of the convention center. Instead of offering a solution like meeting at the lobby or business center I was pushed to buy the night pass (bracelet ).
Once in the service was slow the cafe (indoors) was awfully hot and my drink was made with cheap liquor ( after 85 entry fee I expected something better ). The day of the conference everything was just a sign that this hotel time had passed. Terrible coffee service ( and old coffee pot bowling all day ) almost no electrical outlets in the convention center and noisy AC on the conference rooms. This might be great for tourists but not for business travelers and conventions

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope you will consider trying our hotel again in order to evaluate for yourself the improved service and our commitment to addressing the items of concern that you experienced when you visited us.

We would truly welcome an opportunity to better demonstrate to your our usual standards of Business guest service, comfort and convenience.

Warm Regards,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed in the Royal Service Building 5 for adults only. Was very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the hotel. Mericio, the pool concierge, was very nice. Courtesy beach bag use during the stay and suntan lotion by the pool.
Didnt really see a need for a personal butler.
Reservations at the resturants are hard to get for prime time. Buffet was sufficient and had good food.
Would book this hotel again for couples or family trip

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate and thank you for your kind feedback. Thank you for recognizing our Royal Service benefices.

We are glad your family and you were comfortable during your stay, and we are glad to know the team was professional and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming your family and you once again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRVING
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. They have an amazing beach, pool and staff. Thanks so much to Efrain in the lobby! Can't wait to go back!!! The staff was truly wonderful, always polite and helpful. I enjoyed my food, drinks and night shows at the Avenue Bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NELLY_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you home!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
10.5 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 175 in Cancun
5,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Property: Paradisus Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing