We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive, well done. Royal service”
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went WAY out of our comfort zone by going to an all inclusive, huge hotel...having traveled many places in the world on the local economy, living cheaply as possible...this was an invite and was partially comped...so we went for it. Significant upgrades were given. We were in pyramid 5 which is adults only Royal Service, has its own palapa bar and grill (fabulous by the way), beach area, pool, bali beds and servers. We had our own butler, available at any time via a cell phone we were given to use. Our room was fabulous, with a bedroom and living room, both with large balconies overlooking the sea from a fifth floor view. We had one bad eating experience...at the Fuego...we had dinner with another couple, all ordering a different meal...and they all were, virtually, inedible. Our butler could have been more attentive, although we didn't 'lean' on him often enough, perhaps. I would have given this place five stars with the exception of the one restaurant...the rest were fabulous...room service was great. We never needed to use money once we checked in. Our greatest problem with the place were the ubiquitous water bottles...no fresh drinking water seemed to exist except in plastic. That is beyond comprehension. Even in the lowliest of hotels in Mexico we've had 5 gallon water containers on a pivot, or with a pump. These plastic bottles were not even being recycled, to the best of our knowledge.

Still...all in all, a very elegant time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mn2Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,122 - 5,128 of 9,492 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was my first time in Cancun and a friend of mine recommended this fantastic Resort .
Food was Great , Rooms are very Clean and Staff is friendly and helpful . Locations are nice.
I highly recommend this fabulous Resort and please have dinner at Market Grill Luis , Gerardo and Giovanna were soooo Nice . I definitely be back next year :-)

Room Tip: Tower # 1 very Quiet...Love it :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I just returned from a 6 day trip to Paradisus in Cancun, Each year 3 of us go to a different resort or cruise for our girls trip. This year we chose Paradisus in Cancun since neither one of us had been to Cancun. It was one of our best vacations as the people at this resort do everything to make it that way. From our check-in to check-out it was great. We had a suite with our personal butler (Grace) who i can't say enough about, i thought she had a gps on us because she seemed to know where we were and checked on us through-out our stay making sure everything was up to our expectations. She was a delight to talk to and did an outstanding job. Then there was Juan at the pool who was always there to help with our cabana, towels, drinks etc. He would come around every day with cold towels, fruit kabobs, drinks, cold water, anything we needed. He is an asset to this resort in pool area. If you are thinking of a cancun vacation check out the Paradisus you won't be disappointed. Truitt Family, Carolyn Parsons, Jean Powell and Betty Truitt

Room Tip: We were in Building 1 it was quite a walk to things but a beautiful view of ocean and very quiet unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just came back from our trip Feb 23-27th.
We have been to Mexico 5 times now and have always stayed All-inclusive. This was our first Paradisus trip and our first time staying right in Cancun.
The hotel location is a short 15 minute ride from the airport and I would never imagine this hotel to be a party hopping, spring-breaker location. The hotel is large but very easy to navigate.
We stayed in the Royal Service area and were very happy with that choice. There are no guests in Royal Service under 18 which was just what we wanted. You do have your own concierge and front desk services there too which made requests so easy.
The staff was super friendly and accommodating and I appreciate the efforts of the very hard working staff in the restaurants and pool areas.
You indeed do need to be up early to reserve a beach umbrella and chairs. I would say by 6:30 to place your towels and books and then go get your breakfast and come back. Or in Royal Service you can reserve a Bali Bed around the pool and we did that for our two full days. There was no additional charge and we had no issue lying around eating guacamole and fruit and having a cocktail delivered to us. There always seemed to be open lounge chairs around too. You could also go to the next pool over from Royal Service which is right there and it's quiet and has loungers. The main pool has a swim up bar and some more action. It was kind of like when you go visit a big city and check out the excitement and then your glad to get home to your quiet suburb in Royal Service.
Make your dinner reservations when you get there so you're guaranteed the times and places that you want.
The food is your basic Mexico, All Inclusive fare. For us, we can always find plenty of things to love. In the real world I'm a bit of a foody.... but I get it when I'm away... Mexico is not a food destination...so find what you like and enjoy it. I for one am sure I gained a few pounds!
Anyway... Don't worry about this hotel. the location, staff, ambiance are all fantastic!
And for me.... there is nothing like that gem stone colored sea!!! It's what brings me back over and over!!!!
Have fun!

Room Tip: For us an ocean facing room was needed. We travel to Mexico time and time again to marvel at that un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeyChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Every year my family and my in-laws go on a trip, this year it was the Paradisus in Cancun. Hands down, best service and food! The rooms were clean and the staff was very accommodating. If you need any help, just ask for Hector Laguna Weither. He not only is polite but is just a riot to be around!

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kvzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Let me start off by saying we previously stayed at Paradisus Punta Cana in Royal Service Suite and it was one of our best vacations ever which led us to choose this resort. After a two and a two and a half hour flight delay and a hectic one and a half hour adventure getting thru customs and waiting 1/2 hour to get on our airport transfer we arrived at the resort to check in around 5:30
pm. We were greeted by a sorry your room isn't ready yet - no real excuse but why don't you have a cocktail and we will try to get it ready- went back hour later still not ready - by this time I
just wanted a shower and to relax and have dinner - they offered us another room we could just
shower in and then they would move us after - I said no wanted our room and wanted to shower
and not be moved. we went to dinner - still with no room - on our way back we stopped in to
main resort check in and asked to speak with manager - I was exhausted and very upset - he made a call got us our room in royal service gave us our keys and had our luggage sent there - he apologized and told us he would email the Royal Service Manager and have him contact us
regarding the problem - we were there til Wednesday morning - NEVER heard from him!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. We normally receive excellent feedback about our Royal Service staff and service. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance .

We appreciate your feedback, it will motivate us to do better.

Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I just got back from spending 6 days/5 nights at Paradisus Cancun all-inclusive resort with my son, daughter-in-law, and grandson. What a great experience! From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated like royalty. Bianca escorted us to check-in and from there, explained the things we needed to know and helped us make our dinner reservations for the rest of the trip. Any time we ran in to her, she remembered our names and our schedule! She even made a point to say goodbye to us when we left. The food was excellent at every restaurant we went to and room service was quick and delicious. Jaime, one of our servers, went out of his way to get some cheese rolls and a specific drink and did it all with a smile. All workers at Paradisus are kind, curteous, friendly, hard-working, and do everything with a smile. It is not unusual for them to go the extra mile. Francisco was especially helpful on our departure. Rooms were beautiful and clean with large windows, sliding glass doors, and balconies. In general, the hotel was gorgeous and had an elegant, relaxed feeling. Live music was performed in many of the restaurants with the "three amigos" authentic Mexican singing group and the saxophone player being my favorites. It was always easy to find someone to answer questions as well. The pools were kept very clean. My 2-year-old grandson had a wonderful time in the 2-foot-deep pool. The beach is very close and kept clean as well. The only draw backs were that if we wanted a palapas, we would have to wake up at 6:00am to place our towels on the recliners under the palapas in order to "reserve" our spot. We had to do the same thing to "reserve" a recliner by the pool. If not, there was no place to sit. I understand they are in the process of replacing their old recliners with new recliners and should have more available by the end of March 2014. Overall, I would highly recommend this all-inclusive resort to anyone. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#17 of 177 in Cancun
6,167 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,026 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $255 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless luxury with an avant-garde flair evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Melia Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Melia Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Melia Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatan Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Melia, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing