We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Great honeymoon spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May 2011 when it was called the Gran Melia Cancun. We took a little bit of a gamble with this hotel, as many of the reviews we read were subpar. However, I could not imagine a better place to have stayed for our honeymoon! We stayed in an ocean view room and had an all inclusive plan which allowed us to try all of the various food and drink options offered on the resort. I would definitely both the ocean view room and the all inclusive package! The "lagoon view" rooms actually overlook the parking lot, with a lagoon in the distant background. The atmosphere in the main building is incredible and has a jungle-like vibe. The hotel itself is huge and has five separate towers. We did say when we booked the reservation that we wanted a king-size bed, but that was not ready for us when we got there. They initially told us that it would take an hour or two for the room to be ready, but it was shorter than that. (This was my only issue upon check-in.)

Our room was spotless, incredibly comfortable and came equipped with a balcony hot tub (which I believe was standard on all rooms). The minibar in the room was only stocked with soda and beer, so those options are limited. But if you're looking for late night drink options, the bar/lounge in the lobby is good to keep in mind.

If you want to eat at any of the hotels three restaurants only open for dinner, it's a good idea to make reservations as soon as you arrive because the reservations fill up quickly. If you don't make a reservation, there are three more restaurants open to just walk-in. The food was incredible, especially the breakfast buffet. INSANE!! It was delicious,

Other people commented on the timeshare marketing and such, but my husband and I did not encounter this at all. I guess somehow we managed to get around it?? The staff was kind and friendly. There were water sports available to us, but we didn't do any of them.

Again, we took our trip in May 2011. Things may have changed since then, but our stay was incredible!

Room Tip: Ocean-view all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Departament at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review. We all are delighted to know that you had such a great experience at Paradisus Cancún Resort

Our team is committed to extend the world class hospitality, excellent services and wonderful meal experience to its guests. Your recognition of our efforts motivates us.

Our team will look forward to welcome you again

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,586
    2,037
    734
    216
    191
See reviews for
3,320
3,300
107
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Paradisus Cancun is incredibly big, however, the service makes you feel like you're the only guest at the resort. The food was good at every meal which is uncommon at many "all inclusive" resorts. Wifi was also very fast. I will be back in Cancun in January and will definitely be staying here again. Great experience all around!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landryhumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Departament at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for such a positive review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to post! We think our staff is pretty great too and appreciate you taking the time to say so as well! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel and staff. The decor is beautiful and the choice of restaurants is incredible!
Pool side is clean and the bar serves the ultimate cocktails. There's a lot of activity in and around the beach and it's impossible to be bored in such an incredible place! The club within the hotel is also nice if you're looking to boogie! Would definitely book again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarfree_candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Departament at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you kindly for sharing your review. We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed out experience and we are most grateful to hear that our staff making your stay memorable.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Paradisus Cancún soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

General impression is good. But hotel appearance is a little old style. It's consisted by 5 connected pyramides. If you are in the middle (3rd pyramide) it could be noisy due to the music in the bar till late night and waterfolls in the main lobby.
The Royal Service isn't so "Royal". The breakfast provided there is not so varies and if you prefere have a possibilities to chose from big assortment it's better to go to main restaurant. But in the same time you can enjoy by good selection of drinks and snacks from 11 pm till late night in a cosy atmospher of private lounge.
Several restaurants provide good possibilities for launch and dinner. Tempo restaurant is outstanding, providing fine dinning (not included in all inclusive). Degustation menu is very good accompanied with selection wines proposed by chef.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vadim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have never been to a more friendly beautiful resort in all of my life. Atmosphere was spectacular, people were so amazingly accommodating, the wait staff, especially Antonio, Alejandro and Carlos were amazing at the restaurant Hadar. I will never forget my stay here and will be back for sure. Oh, and did I mention the awesome dancers and nightlife?? Truly a gem!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbringetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arranged to stay at Paradisus Cancun after a ten day stay in NYC. It is certainly somewhere I would chose to stay again and the staff go beyond expectations to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. I was a little hesitant about the food in an all you can eat - the food shone. It was spectacular. The rooms are very roomy, however a little dated. The only negative I have and it's only one was we had a few inclusions in our package which included vouchers for the day spa. Our travel agent advised we had a certain amount to spend and this was refuted by the front desk. Eventually we got the vouchers, however we were informed that they had to be broken down and not used in one transaction. My massage was $220 USD and across the road it was $35USD. Can't compare the setting - but this is the one place in the hotel that they certainly see you coming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Futia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had previously stayed at this hotel prior to becoming Paradisus.

We stayed four nights, five days. Hotel is 15-20 minutes from airport. Staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. All the restaurants and bars are exceptional in service. The variety and quality of food is that of 4 stars.
It is in a perfect location in Cancun! The rooms are very large and spacious. The hotel is kept very clean, there is staff available all day to help with needs.
I would only stay at this hotel for every trip to Cancun. Why try something else when Paradisus is PERFECT! You will be treated like royalty!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in main tower, all restaurants are located in main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank araceli p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Departament at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your recent review .

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel, all of the facilities and found our staff efficient. For us our staff it one the most important things to make the difference with our guests.

We hope you will consider us for your next stay in Cancún as we would love to see you back.

Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
4.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#18 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
0.5 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Property: Paradisus Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing