We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #21 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Amazing Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just returned from Cancun and a week at the Paradisus. A couple of dedicated employees really made the trip a wonderful experience. Asuncion made sure we were consistantly taken care of while at the beach - she remembered our names, took the time to get to know us, offered options, and when it started to pour down rain she made sure to ensure all of our items were kept safe even though she was getting soaked!! Also, in the main lobby bar - Ingrid was wonderful. She remembered us and our favorite drinks - she went out of her way to make sure we had everything to have a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,466
    1,994
    715
    206
    185
See reviews for
3,239
3,223
105
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,940)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel was wonderful.My husband and I had an ocean view one bedroom in the Royal Service section.The view was spectacular from our balconies and from the bathroom.This was our third time going to Cancun and I can say this is the best resort that we have stayed at.Unfortunately we only booked a 4 day trip.We enjoyed this resort so much that we tried to extend our trip a couple more days.Everyone at the resort was very friendly especially the young ladies at the Royal Service desk.Our butler Hervik was outstanding. Hervik went past his usual butler duties to accommodate our needs.All the restaurants were outstanding.This resort was beautiful on the inside and outside.My husband and I are already making plans to go back next year.This was the third Paradisus resort that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Paradisus Cancun in pyramid 1 from July 8th-July 17th. As Melia timeshare owner we pay good money every year for resort maintenance and that's why they have separate section for timeshare owners in most resorts. This resort has gone through a transition from Gran Melia to Paradisus but the quality has not improved at all. Upon arrival we had to give a long list of things to our concierge to have fixed. our fridge wasn't working and had to be replaced. Picture frame above my kids sofa bed was covered in mold and we asked them to remove it from the room. Dinning chairs had mold and had to be replaced. On more than one occasion our sheets and towels had stains all over them and one night we had to ask for new sheets at 11 pm and we ended up with sheets to small for our bed. On our third day which happened to be our wedding anniversary we noticed a bug infestation in the bathroom. We called to ask someone to come and take a look to see what was gong on since they were taking over our whole bathroom sink and toilet. After 15 min they send someone to our room with a can of bug spray in hand. Since we had 2 small kids with us and my husband has allergy to the spray we didn't let them spray the bathroom. After 2 hours of people coming and going in our room to figure out what was happening they suggested that we should switch rooms. our only room option was in another pyramid which we had to take since there was nothing else available. New room didn't have a kitchen (which we needed because of our 2 young boys) had dirty and old dining table and chairs, very old and uncomfortable sofa bed for our kids and again flickering lights with no WiFi in the room so still not 5 star for sure. To top everything off my 6 year old son slipped in the bathtub few days after and had to be taken to the hospital to get stitches in his chin. very stressful for all of us. After speaking with the manager she told us there should have been a insert for the bathtub to prevented from being slippery and yes our room didn't have one. Over all I'm very disappointed with the whole resort. Managers and staff for club melia really tried to help but they can't really do much because in my opinion all the rooms need upgrading specially the members side since we pay for maintenance. Thanks to Club Melia staff Betsy and club melia manager Ivette Sanchez Ponce for all their help. I would to go back but NOT till the rooms are renovated.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Departamento de Calidad at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your last stay. We want to thank you for all this comments because this is the only way we can improve to make your vacations better and better each time you visit us. We also would like to thank you for your business as a Club Melia member and because your fidelity to our brand. Be sure that we are working to improve each one of the issues you mentioned and also we will work hard to improve and renovate the rooms in Club Melia to make your future stay more pleasant.

We really appreciate all the information received hoping to see you soon back in Paradisus Cancun,

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. I had a room in the "royal service" section and it was beautiful. Can't think of anything negative to say about this place! All the food was delicious, bars had top shelf liquor, rooms were beautiful! Service was great too! The crowd here was older, so if you're looking for a party resort...this probably isn't it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ONE302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Departament at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We genuinely appreciate your honest feedback and we are delighted that you overall enjoyed your experience.

We are also grateful that you mention your Fantastic time in Royal Service. Your recognition of our efforts motivates us!!

Thank you for sharing your impression, we do look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit Paradisus Cancún Resort to show you the result of our commitment to service excellence.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am a member of Club Melia and this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at! The service and everything in general was outstanding and the girls from the club were wonderful!!! Definitely will come back!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went to the Paradisus late August with family concierge package and it was definitely low-season considering the hotel was empty and quiet. Here's the run-down:

Staff - Wonderfully courteous and very gracious. We were greeted at the door with cool towels and were directed to Family Concierge check-in. The room in itself was amazing with candy lining the shelves and entertainment for the kids while the adults handled the paper work. Valets and bellhops were all very nice. My only gripe was that I had asked the concierge to freeze some b-milk for me for my 5 month old for the plane ride home since I'm not allowed to bring ice or liquids - I was very clear on FREEZING. Our last day, I picked it up on the last day and it was barely cold - I had to throw it out. I was very close to not being able to feed my baby on the ride back and that really upset me. They can't really accommodate a nursing family.

Cleanliness - Housekeeping was great. With family concierge, they left little surprises and treats in our room nightly. I had clutter all over the counters and they helped me organize. Very impressed.

Accommodations - There is NO AC in the public areas of this hotel. It is We were in the central pyramid which was convenient to the restaurants and pools. The rooms were well-appointed (save for a fridge that could freeze). We were able to squeeze in an extra cot and pack n play with no problems. There was one day, however, where the AC shut down for 5 hours during a 98degree day. That was barely tolerable and I can't imagine that happening during high season. The hotel is old, no doubt about it but it has been updated nicely. Note to parents: the public pool is VERY deep for kids - 5ft. If you want to access the shallower end, you have to have family concierge! They also let you reserve a cabana with the upgrade which is a must-do!

Entertainment - This was our biggest rub. Entertainment was few and far in between during low-season. we were looking forward to our preschooler being in the Kids Club but most of the activities were canceled due to the low attendance. The nightly shows were only on Monday, Wednesdays and Fridays while we were there so we only saw 2 shows for the 7 days we were there. The schedule of activities were pared down to basics like Bingo, Volleyball, Zumba.

Food - Was very good. Market Grill was a churrascaria which was a unexpected surprise. Bana had very decent and edible sushi (another pleasant surprise). Vento and Fuego was OK. Service in all the restaurants were slow (low staff maybe) except for Blue Agave which also had good tacos. Naos buffet had decent selection as well. Can't speak for the adult-only restaurants but it was overall very good. They are missing ICE CREAM, though. What resort doesn't have soft-serve ice cream?

I would consider returning but not during low season.

Room Tip: Get Family Concierge if you want access to shallow pools for kids. Try and get rooms in central pyra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainlinenewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Departamento de Calidad at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel. We are proud to hear that our Family Concierge staff fulfilled most of your expectations; however, we apologize for the b-milk inconvenience and we will be sure that this will not happen again in the future. We take pride to hear that the cleanliness of your room impressed you. We also want to offer an apology because the AC and entertainment inconveniences that you had during your stay, we are working hard to update and improve our daily entertainment as well as the nightly shows. It is pleasant to hear that our outlets fulfilled your expectations and we already talked to the Executive Chef about the need of ice cream in the restaurants. Your comments will make our staff and services improve and for this we thank you again, hoping that you give us the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel is situated on a white sand beach in a nice quiet location with easy excess to the city, restaurants, golf course, etc.. I arrived there with my wife and we received warm welcome from the reception staff immediately after arrival.Hotel is newly reconstructed , clean , excellent staff everywhere bars, reastaurants. Food and drinks are excellent and preapred from high quality materials.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms on side of pyramids - you will watch the others balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Departamento de Calidad at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time and for your words about our hotel, we couldn’t be happier with it!
It is so rewarding for us to know that you and your wife had a great time here and enjoyed our accommodations and staff. Our goal is to make each guest feel like home in our hotel!

Once again, thank you for your kind comments about your stay at Paradisus Cancun.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.2 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#17 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,597 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Property: Paradisus Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing