We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real paradise”
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #23 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I went with a few friends to Cancun in March 2013 and stayed at H. Paradisus. It was the perfect choice; the hotel is amazing. Since the very first moment, you feel like in another world of peace and happiness. The first thing that stroke me once you enter was the nice smell. Then, the lobby is like a nice forest with plants, water, ... it's very relaxing.

You can find a variety of restaurants; with excellent food and service. The employees are very nice and professional; they are there when you need them but not on top of you all the time (as you find in the US hotels). It was specially nice the service at the swimming pool and beach area -where we spent most of our time! Overall, the service was excellent and the common areas are really enjoyable. The rooms are amazing as well but we did not spent much time in it because there were so many things we wanted to enjoy in the common areas, the spa, as well as the beach, that we did not have time! -)

We knew the hotel was good but it certainly exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend it if you go to Cancun!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your previous stay at the Paradisus Cancún Resort.

We are delighted to learn that you appreciated the decoration, our array of scents, restaurants and service within our property.

The team is committed to extend the world class hospitality, excellent services and wonderful meal experience to its guests. Your recognition of our efforts motivates.

We will look forward to welcome you again!!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,415)
There are newer reviews for Paradisus Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,762 - 5,768 of 9,415 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Beautiful lobby. Long wait to finally get your room. Be carefull! When you book a so called suite, it will be a regular room. For the price to stay here you have no walk in shower. Only tubs. Ridiculous! Every bathroom has lime deposits and hard water stains on all bathroom fixtures yet they keep the resort clean. Most people are very friendly but some are not.
Christian, of guest services and Max, head of food dept. made my stay much better. We had issues booking dinner reservations and some restaurants they plain suck! These two people made it a better experience and deserve credit.
Fabulous weather every day. Easy to get everywhere and the buses comes often.
Don't buy pesos in the hotel. They will rip you off. Exchange downtown. Also, don't buy more than you need. If you exchange back to US dollars you get screwd!

Room Tip: You will pay for a view. I do recommend the Royal Service rooms. You pay more but get personal atten...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SR_BR_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your vacations. We always try to provide our guests with a valuable stay.

We will review your comments with our team to ensure our qualities are more consistent. We are also sorry to hear about the inconvenience with the dinner reservation, we will look into the situation and will take any necessary action to neutralize the problem.

We have shared your comments with Cristian and Max, we are pleased to hear that our staff making your stay memorable and enjoyable.

We hope you will reconsider staying with us on your next trip to the area.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at the Gran Melia Paradisus Cancun for a total of 4 nights in October 2010 whilst travelling with 200 delegates from Europe. We were attending a Global Incentive Trip in Riviera Maya for 3 days, however due to varying flight times to and from Europe we needed an alternative place to stay near to the airport for our travellers.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and I was upgraded to one of the suites which had a stunning view of the ocean. The hotel reception team were helpful and efficient at checking the group in, however concierge took some time delivering our bags (probably due to the volume of luggage!)

The suite had a beautiful lounge area and king sized bed opening up to a balcony overlooking the pool area & with a sea view. The breakfast and hotel restaurants served a good selection of food, and there were a number of nearby restaurants too. There are some lovely little tourist shops within the hotel, perfect for purchasing gifts to take home!

Overall we had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to both business and personal travellers. The passing hurricane didn't even ruin our time there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your positive feedbacks on Tripadvisor regarding your stay!!

We are truly happy to know that you were satisfied not only with a breathtaking view over ocean but with our enthusiastic and efficient service provided by our staff, as friendliness and high quality personalized service are a priority for us.

Providing comfort and good quality and selection of food to our guests are also essential at our property, we are very delighted to learn that our facility were up to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Paradisus Cancún Resort.

Gracias!!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

In June 2010 my husband and I went on our honeymoon to Cancun, Mexico and we stayed at Paradisus Cancun (Formerly known as Gran Melia). I have to say the resort was beyond amazing, it definitely exceeded our expectations. The pictures were really nice and we were afraid that when we get there it wouldn't look anything like the pictures. Well we were wrong, it was much better then the pictures showed, the scenery was beautiful, the rooms, and lobby area looked above and beyond amazing. I was completely thrilled, we loved the food, we usually ate at the buffet, the staff was wonderful, room service was very good, and everything about this trip and resort was just PERFECT. I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone, less than a year after I got married my sister-in-law and brother went to the same resort for their honeymoon and they loved it just as much as we did. Now it has changed, it includes a children's play area, and it looks a bit different but I am sure its just as amazing. I recently booked a trip with my husband and our 16 month old daughter and we are going to Riu Caribe in Cancun and if I had known that Gran Melia had updated to a kid friendly resort as well I would have definitely booked our family vacation there. But, you never know I might look into it once second family vacation comes around :) ( I had to choose that we traveled in June 2012 because that was the only option but we actually traveled there in June 2010)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nermina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for seven nights in January. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and surpassed any of the pictures that were shown online. The restaurants located within the facility were great; small portions, but high quality. The rooms are very nice, and the beach area and pools were exceptional with plenty of room and chairs for all guests. We had a great time at the pool bar! The staff was exceptionally kind and personable. One front desk worker, Betsy, went above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience. I would definitely recommend this resort and am looking forward to planning a trip back in the future!

Room Tip: Get a room with a jacuzzi! Also, some rooms face the bay while others face the ocean, but all featu...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed her for 5 nights in a 1 bedroom family concierge suite. We had a few minor problems- but everything was always handled quickly and efficiently. Fernanda, the manager for the Family Concierge, was wonderful. Honestly, all of the staff was wonderful. We never leave our child at a kids club when on vacation, but this time we did leave him for about an hour to have dinner alone. We saw how wonderful the staff was to all of the kids and felt very comfortable. The family concierge always made our dinner reservations, and we especially enjoyed Fuego. The night my husband and I had dinner at the Japanese restaurant, we ordered room service for our son, which was included free of charge. We really enjoyed the bali beds and the beach was huge with plenty of chairs and shade. The food was very good and they were always happy to make something for my picky son if we didn't see anything that he liked. This hotel had the best kids menu out of any hotel I've ever been to in Mexico. The pool is beautiful and huge, with food and drink service all day. If you are a couple without children, I went over to the Royal Service side and it is truly beautiful, especially the adults only area with bali beds. There are many adults only restaurants but also plenty of restaurants if you are traveling with children. We stayed beachside on the ground floor and it was very quiet and peaceful. The hotel is much more beautiful than it looks in the pictures, and the specialty restaurants are decorated very nicely. This was by far the best hotel I've ever been to in my 7 trips to Cancun, we will definitely come back again next year.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what tower you stay in- once you figure it out it is very easy to get around t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanneadinolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest;

What a fantastic review!!! Thank you very much for every detail you are providing everyone with and for such an enjoyable vacation with us. The Best of all Mexican Hotels is only awarded by you, our dearest reviewers, and we truly appreciate you take your time to share your experiences on this site; you can rest assure we will be doing our very best to not dissappointing anyone who chooses Paradisus Cancún Resort based on your positive reviews.

We have shared your comments with all Team in particular Fernanda our Family Concierge.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I looked at probably 200 resorts throughout the Caribbean, and the Royal Service option was what really sold us on this one. We were not disappointed. It is absolutely worth the extra $$$! The exclusive pool, bar & grill, and reserved bali beds got us away from the noise that accompanies children and college kids on spring break(which we are...just a little older). The rooms were nice enough for us, but I could see some people thinking they are not luxurious enough. Definitely get the Ocean View room and the higher floor the better. Amazing views. The food was not great, but not bad. The grounds were immaculate all throughout the resort, very impressive. The atriums were phenomenal with vines, plants, streams, and pools around every corner. We were still finding things we hadn't seen after 4 days of being there. The most impressive part of Paradisus Cancun is the staff. Absolutely incredible service from everyone we encountered. We arrived late(around 9pm) and Hector was outside helping another couple and quickly and efficiently helped us also find the separate Royal Service check-in. Hector was also our butler and although we didn't use the phone much except for dinner reservations he was more than willing to help us with whatever we needed. We asked for some mini-bottles of vodka, but we came back to our room to find .5L of Absolut. AWESOME! Julio the bartender at Palapa was fantastic every day we were there! Sergio always had our bali bed by the pool ready for us first thing in the morning and brought fruit and drinks throughout the day. Octavio, Consuela and all the other staff in the Royal Service area were also fabulous and kept a drink in our hand. We were enjoying ourselves so much relaxing by the pool and ocean that we scrapped the idea of doing anything else(main purpose of trip was to unwind). Aldo(Bana waiter) was great and offered good recommendations. You MUST go to Vento for the Mayan Coffee if nothing else. The show that Javier put on for us while making it table side was amazing. The Red Lounge offered a quaint place to grab some late drinks and dance to a DJ's mix of music. Avenue Bar was a very comfortable spot to grab a drink and watch the little shows they put on. We didn't catch it daily, but the bits and pieces we saw looked entertaining. My wife and I will without a doubt return someday. I can only hope they continue to employ top notch employees like the few that I mentioned and everyone else that greeted us with a smile. Thanks for an INCREDIBLE week of ultimate relaxation.

Room Tip: Royal Service Ocean View above the 2nd floor-you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you for a wonderful review!

We appreciate you providing so many details and concern to advise fellow travelers of the Quality Rooms, amenities, grounds, atriums, pools and more that made your stay so memorable and special.

There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our Royal Service and Thank you for your comments about our staff, we are very much appreciated.

It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team, we all look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#16 of 176 in Cancun
6,118 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 176 in Cancun
3,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
0.2 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
3,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $279 - $708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing