We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vento restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #21 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vento restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose the all inclusive meal option, the only way to go. Two of our dinners were at Vento. We had Emmanuel as our waiter both times (he was the reason we went back the 2nd time).
The food was superb and Emmanuel was able to make recommendations based on taste, portion size, etc... Every recommendation he made was perfect.

If you stay at this resort, make sure to eat at Vento, and ask for Emmanuel.

The resort is beautiful. All of the employees are extremely nice and helpful. Betsy really helped us to switch rooms, as we were assigned a lagoon view (aka parking lot), on the first floor with a king bed, but we got reassigned to the high floor ocean view with double beds as requested.

Pillows need replacing, and bathroom fixtures need some repairs.

The beach is pristine, with very few vendors harassing us, which is a pleasure.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisabeif66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,466
    1,994
    715
    206
    185
See reviews for
3,239
3,223
105
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,940)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed there with my fiancee last week in January. Overall the impression was good but not great.
The good is with the facilities, since the "renovations" the overall impression was that the money was spent mostly on the public areas, e.g. Lobby, pool area etc. The room although comfortable was dated, even though we were given a complimentary upgrade. When compared to RIU hotels, Paradisus differentiates between guests. Many of the top shelf liquors are NOT included in the 'all inclusive' rate, neither is liquor in the minibar in the room (only beer and sodas). At Riu hotels, the minibar is stoked with liquor dispensers. The bar tenders at the Paradisus with a few exceptions, will not hesitate to tell you that top brands are NOT included. The restaurants are good with two exceptions, the main restaurant NOOS is too small to accommodate the large number of guests every morning overflowing to the outside tables and consequent poor service. BY contrast, The BANA, Vento and Fuego are excellent restaurants with great food and excellent service. There are other restaurants that are only for guests that have booked "The Royal Service" a category of service that ORBITZ (our booking agent did no let us know existed). The Market Rodizio, an attempt at Brazilian food was not very good with limited meat selections and very tough beef and lamb. Overall, if I had to do it again I will book at RIU where "All inclusive" means All Inclusive. Having said all of that, the people were very courteous and helpful especially the guys at the pool bar.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, book the Royal Service and have breakfast brought to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasWoodstock_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were invited to stay at this resort by our son and daughter - in - law.
The beach and pools were beautiful !!!
The a la cartes were quite good too.
The rooms however were a little tired. Now we were in the "members" building.
You'd think they would treat their members better, but I don't think this is the case.
The price they charge for all inclusive is way too high. But you have no choice as
the prices they charge at the resort are astronomial !!
Plus the charging of the pool beds for the days is just not right.
Not sure if we would go back again or not

Room Tip: where we were in the "members building" ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0sm056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I, 30 y/o, stayed at Paradisus Cancun Feb 17th-22nd. This was our first time staying in the hotel zone. we stayed at a handful of "luxury" AI resorts in riviera maya and punta Cana. Paradisus is by far the priciest, but didn't "wow" us as much as other resorts such as Now Jade or Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar. Dont get me wrong, Paradisus has a few great things to offer, but the things it's lacking can left us feeling flat. Here's a few examples:

Good things:
- the beach is wonderful, huge, full of shells, and pretty easy to find a chair or palapa. Note: pay attention to the flags. We had red flags out our entire stay. The ocean was very rough to swim in past the waist. The life guards had to help numerous people back to shore.
- the lobby area is beautiful, great for photos
- the ocean view room view was incredible, glad we paid extra for that.
-Staff are fabulous, every single one of them are helpful and courteous, and do a great job handling some of the obnoxious, sometimes overly intoxicated,people they encounter. The staff really make this place shine.
- the food is pretty good. Reservations are easy to make. The buffet food was hot and decent to grab a quick meal. fuego and the Market grill are highly recommended.
-Quick activities are offered daily such as wine tasting and pole dancing ( yes pole dancing). We tried the wine tasting, per the recommendation of Diego. We are so glad we did! Carlos, the sommelier, is fantastic, funny, and knowledgable. It's worth trying at no extra cost.
-a bus stop is located right outside of the resort and offers a safe a cheap way to quickly travel to shopping and restaurant.
-the nightly entertainers are very talented

Not so good things:
- upon arrival we were asked to participate in a marketing "breakfast" the flowing morning. We politely declined, but was continued to be asked to attend this. We had to get very assertive and say no multiple times. this was a bit uncomfortable and not a very good first impression.
- the pool was Freezing! Too cold and deep, way too uncomfortable to swim in. We didn't swim or lay out by the pool our entire stay. It was impossible to find a chair by the pool unless you went out there before 9am. People claim multiple chairs for the day, first come first serve. There is no oversight on this.
- Although very clean, the building and rooms are showing signs of aging. You could get a newer resort for your money.
- there was not enough entertainment at night. After the 45 minute entertainment show, the only other option is to go to the red room, which is a small club. The red room is good for a visit or two, but there were times when a live band with dancing out in the lobby would have been preferred.

Overall, it's unlikely we will return to Paradisus Cancun, not because we had a bad time, but just because there are better AI resorts out there for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cancunconron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

First I will say the resort is beautiful, however the rooms are completely outdated. The bathtub is gross, almost looks like it was not cleaned. The drapes in our room were full of mold! And we asked for a king size bed but had no choice but to take two double beds. We were told we would be charged extra for a king bed, after we already spent close to $5,000 to stay here.
Our rooms were not cleaned until 4-5pm, which I think is unreal, and I have traveled a lot and have never experienced this.
The service on the beach and pool area was great and the staff was always so pleasant. We only ate at one restaurant because our waiters Antonito and Luis were awesome. Whatever we wanted to eat, weather it was on the menu or not, they provided. They truly made our vacation.

I will return to Cancun, but will NOT return to Paradisus.

Room Tip: Ocean view is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babycakes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear babycakes_13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding our hotel. We take all comments and criticisms seriously and appreciate the time you took to write your review. Everyone at the Paradisus Cancún Resort aspire to ensure that all of our guest receive an exceptional experience.

As a team we work hard to satisfy, as much as possible, the needs and requirements of our guests, but it is important to mention that the beds types and rooms placement is based on availability and is not guaranteed. We always invite guests to let us know the specials requirements anticipated, this will allow us to work best so to realize them or to provide better options.

We do have a procedure whereby the room is cleaned (from 8hrs until 16hrs) and then double checked by a supervisor; this clearly was not the case for you. Our housekeeping manager has been asked to investigate this. We apologize for any inconvenience.

We will continue making improvements and thank you for your suggestions and observations. We hope that one day you will afford us an opportunity to restore your confidence in the Paradisus Cancún Resort.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Paradisus Cancun is an incredible Hotel, with excellent food, impeccable service...They really take care of Everything....The choice of all the restaurants with a great choice of very good imported wine, One of the greatest Wine Cellar...at reasonable price...

And the Restaurant Tempo is the best experience of restaurant and food .... in my life....And I have the chance to travel alot, and always in very good restaurant....

Room Tip: Every Room are very Nice and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Egide B

Thanks a lot for your review. We all are delighted to know that you had such a great experience at Paradisus Cancún Resort .

Our team is committed to extend the world class hospitality, excellent services and wonderful meal experience to its guests. Your recognition of our efforts motivates us.

Our team will look forward to welcome you again

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were there for 2 weeks and BOY,,, talk about a beautiful hotel and location. Situated in the middle of the strip with lush lawns and trees in front of the hotel (9 holes executive par 3) a beautiful beach with lots of palapas( enough for everyone). Bar service and lunch delivered at you palapas (Hamburgers,club sandwiches,wings,nachos) by friendly staff (no charge.... but leave a tip). The sea was warm and the waves were fun to swim in. The hotel is made of 5 pyramides connected together as pyramide 3 is the main one where all the activities take place, such as ,,, the main buffet, all the À LA CARTE restaurants , shops , the avenue bar where the nightly shows are, the Red lounge disco,the spa and a medical clinic.Inside these pyramides, you will experience a boidome like feeling, There is lush vegetation , vines hanging from every floor down where small pools with exotic fish ,an Asian restaurant, a bar are,,,, FABULOUS.Since this pyramid has 8 floors. Take the time to go up there and see this exotic rain forest from above..... Breathtaking !

We were in pyramide 1 (Club Mélia) . This place was very quiet and relax , The rooms are comfortable , had a very good matress (king size)... We even had a jacuzi on the balcony .... Ocean view is a MUST.

Food was great everywhere , Buffet was great, We really liked the Market Grill where they serve huge pieces of meat from gigantic brochettes...... Make sure to eat breakfast at the buffet outside on the porch..... what a VIEW of the Carabeen sea !!!!

We travel a lot and believe me .... the house wine is good at this hotel. The wine is always from a corked bottle. Spanish,Argentine and YES... we even drank fine Merlot from Bordeaux at tha Asias restaurant BANA.

Staff is very nice and attentive to your every needs, A thank you to RUBY,our concierge..... a fine man,

All in all, Paradisus Cancun is a wonderful 5 star resort that is a must if you're planning to go in Cancun, I stongly recommand it.

Room Tip: Pyramise 3 is little noisier than the others because of all the activities taken place there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis2755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.2 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#17 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,597 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Property: Paradisus Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing