We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far beyond AMAZING getaway!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #22 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far beyond AMAZING getaway!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Paradisus the week of January 26th to February 2nd for our annual ladies getaway and were blown away by our experience! The resort is gorgeous, clean, and the service highly exceeded my expectations. Book the royal service!! It is well worth the extra money! Upon arrival we were quickly greeted and introduced to our butlers Francisco and Erik who made sure we had everything we needed for for the week. They were so accomodating and friendly! We found a tequilla at Blue Aguave that we wanted to purchase to bring home but wasnt for sale on the resort so Fransico offered to purchase it for us on his day off and bring it in for us!! Every single employee that we encountered on the royal side was amazing and always greeted us with a smile and went out of their way to make our stay special! Our favorite servers were Karina and Consuelo! They made our stay so much fun!

As for the restaurants your definitely not going to leave this resort hungry or thirsty for that matter.We enjoyed all of them but our favorites were Vento, Bana, and Tacos. Juan Carlos and Victor were our servers at Vento and they made the dining experience a BLAST! Probably the best service I've ever recieved anywhere!! Anotonio at Bana was fantastic also! Make sure to check out the blue aguave for tacos and tequilla tastings. We vacation quite often and my biggest complaint about a lot of the resorts is the food! Definitely not the case at the Paradisus!

The nightlife at the resort is great and fairly laid back. The Avenue Bar is a lot of fun and you can expect to meet a lot of fun people! Look for the server Danielle! She was so friendly, remembered our names from day one, and never left us thirsty! The Red Lounge is a little small but a good place for dancing! Make sure you find Gabriel and order a Mexican Baby Maker!! He was such a fun bartender and always made sure our drinks were full!!

When we first booked this resort we were a little weary because it was in a transition period from the Grand Melia to Paradisus but were so happy with the experience. The only thing I would suggest is playing a little more latin/vacation music throughout the resort! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!! We will definitely return!!

Side note!! Tip the employees!!! Yes it is all-inclusive but the employees work very hard and deserve a little extra!!

Room Tip: Book the royal service in building 5!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Vickie R

Thank you for your kind and detailed review.

It is really gratifying for us to learn that you enjoyed every single aspect of your stay with us so much that you are considering returning, which actually is the biggest compliment a Hotel can hope for. Thank you so much for this and also for your kind comments about our staff, which we really appreciated and which we will make sure will be passed on to them.

I have reviewed each of your comments and we will make sure that we will work on your suggestions about music undisturbed our guest´s tranquility .

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating comments, we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Paradisus Cancún Resort.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,569
    2,032
    731
    216
    191
See reviews for
3,308
3,290
107
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,979)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wife and I arrived back to the cold and snow of MN, last night, from our week at Paradisus Cancun.

After a slow check in, we went to the pool area, until our rooms were ready. Rooms were ready by 1pm, and we changed to our swimsuits, and headed back to the pool.

Met some nice people, and had a few cool ones before dinner. Good friendly bar staff, as well as the server staff. Service is the key for me, and it was outstanding there.

Chicken wings was my lunch choice most days at the pool, the hambugers were very good too, but the wings were excellent. The pool area is very busy, so the most IMPORTANT tip I can give is, get up early, like 6am and bring towels or books, and stake out the spot you want, because by 7am the choices (if you want some shade) will be limited. 6:45am Sunday the 10th, there were no shady spots left. If you pick your spot, and go to breakfast, no one will claim your place.

We took advantage of almost all the resturants, and the food was excellent, as was the service. The skewers of grilled meat at the Market Grill, were to die for, but the chicken was the best I've ever had. Love to know how they marinade it. Lots of choices at Naos for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very well stocked buffet. The other restuarants were excellent as well, but make sure you have reservations, where needed.

The rooms were nice, and good sized, and our view of the lagoon was great. The beds left something to be desired, as I just couldn't sleep very well, but who needs sleep, you're on vacation. We were in the Main tower, numbered 3. Some had said there was music until 1-2am, but I didn't hear it, if there was. Most nights the noise died down by 8:30-9:00. The maid service was wonderful. No problems there.

The staff was friendly everywhere, and if you have questions, they willingly give you the answers you need. Want a cab? They order it for you. If they see you with your luggage, they rush to help you. As I said, service is the key for me, and here, it's excellent.

We had a water pipe break above our room in the hallway outside our door, but we didn't get much water in our room, and the maid service and others were there in seconds, to make sure our belongings were taken care of. The bottoms of our shoes in the closet got wet, and that's as far as any water went in our room. In other words, about 4 feet. Nothing else was wet. Great response to that event, which could easily happen anywhere.

I would not hesitate to return to the Paradisus Cancun. Wonderful experience, great food, great staff. Great beach. Simply a wonderful, if not blazing hot vacation.

Well done Paradisus, very well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trucker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Trucker13

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review, which we really appreciated.

We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the quality of service, facilities and food provided. We will make sure that your kind comments will be passed on to our entire team and would like to thank you on behalf of them.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Paradisus Cancún Resort and hope that you will be able to enjoy more of the sunny, lovely weather the Cancún is usually known for.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pay for the royal service...it's quiet but not too quiet and waited on hand and foot. They book everything for you, it's like you're a queen! Sergio is amazing amazing amazing and sweet and so is Consuelo at the pool bar! No complaints except for music. Would prefer Spanish music instead of techno/slow/spa. We love everything about Cancun including their music. Beds around pool are awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolynjankiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear carolynjankiv

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your positive comments. Thank you for taking your precious time to publish your review about our Royal Service.

We have shared your comments with the Team, in particular Sergio and Consuelo.

Thank you for your recommendation, we will consider the possibilities to in include more Spanish music.

Hopefully see you back in your future visit here in Paradisus Cancún

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived on February 7, 2013 at 7:30 pm. We were late we no fault to the hotel but the Air Canada plane was late coming from Toronto. As soon as we got out of the airport we were taken to the hotel within minutes. When we arrived we were greeted by the staff immediately. One person brought us cold towels and then the other staff escorted us to a quiet lounge to relax while we waited for our butler to take us for check in. I had heard about people bothering you for time share this was definitely not the case. We then were escorted to Pyramid 5 where we had a private check in. I had arranged for a upgrade to royal service with Mr. Sotomayor and Mrs Galena via e-mail. I have to say that Mr. Sotomayor went the extra mile to make sure I had what I wanted. Eric our butler has arranged for our Bali bed for the week and Sergio has and goes the extra mile to make sure we are comfortable. I strongly suggest the upgrade to Royal service. We still have 4 days to go, but extremely happy up to now.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dino1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Dino1968,

Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor!
It was a real pleasure to host you and we are proud to hear that you was fully satisfied during your stay.

We have shared your comments with Eric, Sergio and Patricia Galeana and Jorge Sotomayor. It is always nice to hear that our staff are going above and beyond for our guests to make sure they have an amazing stay.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews prior, but we had a great experience. We upgraded to an ocean view room for about $25/night. Worth the upgrade. Although they placed us in the building all the way to the end where the time share owners stay-(tower1) and our room was dated and a little rough around the edges.The bed was very firm, but we got used to it. Great views of ocean. Lots of exercise hiking over to the building! It was nice to have the outdoor whirlpool, though. The rooms were clean, and the shower pressure good! even a little dining table, which was great for room service- which I highly recommend, especially for breakfast!
The pools were cool- so we never took a dip- a little bummed, because i wanted to sit in the water at the pool bar- but it is mostly shaded. The pool bar is nice though, and all the bartenders were great- especially Alexander (the great) at the beach bar. Fun hangout!
We did wish that there was an outdoor bar open in the evenings. Was our first experience with all inclusive- which was great not to have to worry about money... the food was pretty good. We arent buffet people, but always found things we enjoyed at the buffet. Great selection of fruit and veggies. We enjoyed the sushi restaurant. Also the funghi(?) restaurant was really yummy. Didnt care for the market grill, meat carnival...
Guacamole was fantastic...ask for things you dont see--- they buffet restaurant always made me cappuccinos when I asked. Beach was nice. Location convenient to airport (maybe 20 minutes). The staff was plentiful and friendly.
We met friends from home there who upgraded to royal service- we were glad we didnt- there wasnt much value in that to us. Their tower was more modern (tower5) and kid free.
We did the time share presentation(even though i said I would never!) and it was worth our 90 minutes to do that- ended up with a free massage and another at over half price (so 2 massages for $50!) Spa was very relaxing- and massages were fantastic.
Was a nice getaway, good value, nice resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Jlitty

Thank you for this magnificient review of our hotel!

Your beautiful and detailed description will strongly encourage us to uphold and improve our excellence.

Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our team members

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are writing this from our room in this resort.
The resort is well located and the grounds well maintained. Staff are fantastic. We have been here 6 nights.
The rooms are very average size and well appointed.
Our ongoing problem has been with housekeeping. The first time our room was cleaned was 54 hours after we checked in, and after 6 calls requesting service. Examples of what has not been cleaned .... We doubt if the table tops and glass door and windows have been cleaned within a month. The deck has had a beer can in the flower box and French fries on the floor since we arrived. The coffee pot is never emptied or cleaned ... We do it ourselves.
Aside from that, with the exception that there are probably 5 hotel guests for every poolside or beach lounge chair, not too bad of a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We will be at the best possible position to assist you and inquire more about your experience. Kindly, contact me personally, I will be looking forward to hear from you while you are in the hotel.

I remain at your disposal,

Fred Boutouba
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda,
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just returned from 11 days at the Paradisus Cancun-formerly the Gran Melia Cancun. We were there from January 30th until February 9th. We were wondering how things would be with the changes and were very happy with them. We have timeshare so check in was wonderful with Blanca Taboada. She remembered us from last year and was very efficient, helpful and friendly. It is so nice to see familiar faces when we come back. Our room was ready for us when we checked in so we got right in-very much appreciated! We never had issues with getting into the restaurants. We always called the day before to get a reservation and had no issues. We very much enjoyed the Vento Restaurant and The Market Grill-the food was always VERY good. Jonathan and Emanel were our waiters at the Vento and they were AMAZING!! They were so accomodating. The Mayan coffee that Emanel made for us was really something and we highly recommend you try it. Yarmin was our hostess when we went to Vento and she always managed to put us somewhere we really liked! The Market Grill was a nice way to try different things. We always managed to eat too much! We ate at Naos a couple of times and that was always good. We also went to Mole and Blue Aquave. We wanted to make sure we tried everything. We preferred the Kuhna restaurant from last year to Mole from this year. We just liked what they offered better. The food was good, but we just preferred the old restaurant. We especially like that the resort did not do away with the beach service. Friends went to Cancun and stayed somewhere else and they had no beach servers. It is nice not to have to run up and get food or drink but rather have it brought to you on the beach. We really appreciate the fact that this resort has lifeguards who are very vigilant and always watching not only the water but also to make sure that non of the beach vendors hassle anyone. It is another thing that seems to set this resort apart from others. We watched the lifeguards go help a swimmer in trouble one day and they are very good and got the swimmer back in without issue. Very reassuring since I am not a confident person in the water. Our favorite from last year-Raul (He is now a waiter at Tempo) was there and remembered us-it is nice to feel like you are coming home when you come back! Our maid was very good in that she had our room done early every day and it was always clean and well done. The turn down service at night was nice also. Having the mini bar be part of the all inclusive is really nice-that way if you want a bottle of water in the evening and you can just get that out of the fridge. Overall we have nothing bad to say about the resort or our trip. We very much like all that they do for their guests. It makes the vacation experience a wonderful one. We will DEFINITELY be back. They are always trying to improve the resort and what they offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valeri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valeri W

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I understand that there are many travel options when visiting this destination and we sincerely appreciate and thank you for choosing Paradisus Cancún Resort to host you again during your holidays.

There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. Providing unmatched guest service is a hallmark of our property and I am especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team.

They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
4.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#18 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
0.5 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Property: Paradisus Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing