We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Ranked #152 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very beautiful on the outside and all the way until you get to your room. It's very beautifully decorated with amazing Mayan murals and Spanish poems.

The rooms: are very simple/plain. There is no dresser, only a concrete closet and a vanity. The beds are ok to sleep in, there are no blankets at all, just sheets. The AC is quite loud and does not cool the room completely but at least makes it bearable. The shower worked great, had hot water and good water pressure. Toilet worked good. TV was old and there was no remote, but then again we didn't come to Cancun to watch TV so this wasn't an issue.

The staff: very friendly and helpful, except at the restaurant. The server did not acknowledge us until after we found our own seats and even after that we didn't get service until after a few minutes. We ended up walking away after finding out what the continental breakfast consists of and decided to go somewhere else. The reception staff was very friendly and answered all the questions we had and even recommended a few places for us.

Wifi works ok depending where you are. I had to constantly switch wifi networks between second and third floor because one would stop working.

The pool is quite tiny but clean and decent enough for my daughter to have fun and cool off. Other than the pool there is nothing else 'Spa' related at this hotel. There is also no gym.

So in conclusion, if you don't plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel and are basically looking for somewhere to sleep in and you are not bothered by a loud AC then this place is good for you. The artwork is definitely a plus.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank OohLaLa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    100
    93
    42
    73
See reviews for
59
167
46
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is in reasonable proximity to the ADO bus station and perfectly adequate for our one night stay passing through, however not a neighborhood with much going on besides daily life. I would not consider this a resort or tourist destination. The building however is extremely beautiful and exudes a museum like quality. The Mayan architecture and decorations, Spanish language poetry and historical maps on the walls make the hotel very memorable. The beds are reasonably comfortable, but equipped with just sheets, no blankets. Bathroom is rustic and one towel per guest. The pool/garden area is small but lovely and classic feeling with wrought iron tables for sitting and a little water fall creating ambiance. The continental breakfast option is not worth the trouble; service and food quality is poor. Overall, the hotel was fine for our purposes, however we would not choose to vacation here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cordapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I was greeted with a smile even after I checked in at 5am after my flight from Australia was delayed for 24 hours. The hotel was full & still they kept my booking for me even though I showed up 1 day late. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, shower was hot. I absolutely loved my stay. Would recommend to everyone based on the service alone!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MegsiCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

- money stolen from room first day
- air conditioning so loud you can hear it from several rooms away and you can't sleep
- maids come every morning and wake you up when you finally do get to sleep
- bar staff would often tell us that they ran out of beer

Do not stay here

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank RobG64121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Everything is good except for the low quality Internet and bathroom... amazing people always willing to help, great location to see the downtown but far away (30 mins by bus) from the beaches and clubbing zone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisTian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

On its exterior, this hotel is pleasing to the eye with the mayan replicas, statues and murals all of which tell of Mexico's ancestral past. For history enthusiasts, it is wonderful.

The room- barely basic room, hard bed which consisted of a concrete base with thin mattress and very flat pillows. The room did not feel clean,

Rooms contain virtually no furniture aside from the bed; a concrete structure which serves as a closet and a concrete shelf therein to place your suitcase. There is no dresser to place your clothes, just a wooden counter and 6 small decorative storage boxes beneath. The air condition unit is an extremely loud window unit which may even disrupt the sleep of a deep sleeper and did not sufficiently cool the room.

When I arrived, the bed was unmade, the only light bulb in the room did not work and there were no towels. I asked a housekeeping lady on the floor to assist but she told me that I have to wait till she gets to my room! I ended up speaking to the consierge/bellboy/maintenence guy who brought me a blanket, very worn towels and replaced the light bulb. I almost got the impression they they were not prepared for my arrival and this saddened me because I arrived well after check in time!

The bathroom- a quaint wall separates the shower from the toilet. No place for the soap so you have to put it in the 'window' cut out on the wall. The floor of the shower has a rough stone finish which is no doubt a challenge to clean so the mildew is clearly visible. Same for the stone counter top. The toilet worked well.

The continental breakfast consisted of toast, butter, jam, corn flakes and fruit. No hot items besides the coffee.

The pool is beautiful and adjoins a 'victorian' looking garden with massive trees and plants and plenty garden furniture. Definitely an asset to Xbalanque.

There is a Travel Agency in the lobby and Nathaniel was very helpful in arranging my tours to Xcaret and Chichen Itza. Credit cards accepted.

There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

I did not choose Xbalanque with luxury in mind but I did expect the basics and some level of comfort which was not forthcoming, needless to say my stay there was disappointing. But if all you require is a place to put your head amidst Mayan history you will be okay here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street tend to be noisy so ask for one located on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INDIRA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

some people will say that this hotel has something in it but others will argue that this is just cheap decoration for tourists...

Anyway room was not clean but neither was it clean. The AC was distributing a mouldy smell all over the room apart from the enormous noise. There is a small patio and a pool with sunbeds around. The positive side is the staff which was very helpful. They helped me to find a car wash and a laundry and even took an effort of walking me to the place which was really nice. On the other hand the breakfast was a joke... There were only fruits, coffee was awful and you could not get any juice or water.unless you pay extra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Royal Lagoon
Grand Royal Lagoon
#111 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#101 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antillano Hotel
Antillano Hotel
#96 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
1.2 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#113 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Batab
Hotel Batab
#103 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Yaxchilan No. 31, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural Hotel that represents the Mayan Culture and mythology. 80 standard rooms, are usually decorated to reflect the constant desire to show the Mexican culture, its colors and carved stones.We have Spa, Relaxation Massage, Reductive, Steam Bath (Temazcal), Facials, Treatments, Beauty Salon, Meeting rooms, Conferences, Yoga, Pilates, Film Art, Art Gallery, Swimming Pool (Out Door), Beach Club, Car Rental, Travel and tours, Wireless Internet, Parking, Elevator, Radio Station, Handicap Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalamque Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing