We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Went for a long weekend vacation. This was not my first time to the resort but I was most impressed this visit. The hotel is extremely classy and well designed. Located 15 minutes from the airport and on a great beach. The food is just great especially the Italian restaurant. The staff is exceptional. The beach is just perfect with lounge chairs and umbrellas available all day as well as food and bar service. All rooms have a great view of the ocean as well. My only con is the acoustics aren't the best in the room and it's a bit noisy. You can hear most of the conversations in the hallway. All and all a great all-inclusive vacation and I will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristina189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,537
    1,117
    333
    105
    65
See reviews for
480
4,790
192
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We have traveled to the Cancun area many times over the years but usually stay in the Riviera Maya area. For this trip we wanted to split our stay with a few days in Cancun. When we talked with our agent we told her we wanted an upscale all inclusive. For the first part of the stay we stayed at Secrets Carpi. She suggested that we continue with Secrets and stay at Secrets the Vine in Cancun. All I can say is Thank you Sharon from Vacationeeze.

When we first drove up I was concerned as there were shops, bars and other hotels all around us. But once in the lobby we were very excited. It is nothing like Secrets Capri. You walk in and there is this large, like 20 feet long fire wall and across from that a wine wall. We were staying in the preferred club so we were taken right upstairs to check in. Our room was amazing. The bathroom set up is slightly strange but it was very nice. The shower is very large and almost right in our room. The balcony on our room seemed to be around 10' x 30' with great ocean views.

We spent most of our time at the preferred club pool. The view from here was great. The bar service was amazing. The only issue we had was the wind. One day it was so windy that we could not stay up here. There were actually whitecaps and waves in the pool from the wind. The beach in front of the hotel is nice. There are plenty of chairs but very little shade. The beach butlers do a great job of keeping you hydrated. They also had music on the beach.

The food at the resort is great. There must have been at least 6 or 7 restaurants. We were only here 3 nights so we could not try them all. The breakfast buffet had a great assortment of food. There was plenty of fruit. At lunch there had to be at least 5 places you could eat at. I could go on and on as we had a great time. I would go back in the future. I am really glad we took the advice of Sharon at Vacationeeze and tried the Cancun area and stayed at Secrets The Vine. As I look back now I am not sure which I like more, the Vine or Capri. Each has its own different vibe and feel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I travel a lot for business and our family travels extensively internationally a few times each year. To impress me, the facility must be well designed and decorated and staffed by exceptional people. The Secrets The Vine in Cancun is a wonderful facility with spectacular staff. And then they blew me away.

We stayed for 4 nights, spent most of our time at the beach, and tried to eat at every restaurant. We opted for the preferred room configuration and accompanying services, which is worth it. Our butler, Emiro was delightful and always surprised us with the quality of service and attention to our needs; spoken and unspoken. Be sure to let the hotel know you if you are celebrating an anniversary or another special event. We arranged for a private dinner on the beach, which was a memorable experience.

This is the first time we elected to stay at an all-inclusive resort. We've been to the Cancun, PDC, and Puerto Aventurous area several times and nearly always rent a large home with staff (big family) or stay at a very good hotel. I was expecting "cruise ship" cuisine and was honestly blown away by the quality of food, the delightful service, and remarkable wine list at every restaurant in which we dined.

The private pool for preferred guests is located on the 12th floor, overlooks the other pools and Caribbean and was a wonderful place to escape to later in the day. The primary pools (3) are well staffed. Drinks and food orders were taken and delivered very quickly at every pool and on the beach, A modest tip goes a long way toward ensuring you receive special attention.

We were a bit cautious about an adults only facility; however, the wide range of ages (circa 21-50) was welcome and we never experienced the discomfort of excessive PDA. It is a great place to enjoy romantic time with your favorite person.

We had one negative experience, but it didn't dampen our enthusiasm for the facility. The SPA just isn't quite ready for prime time. The were understaffed and we waited for 15 minutes past our appointment time before being able to check in. The treatment was 'okay" but hobbled by a faulty shower that produced only scalding hot water. The SPA staff just didn't seem to be as high a quality as the balance of the resort.

Beautiful resort, staffed by generous and thoughtful people, amazing food, and perhaps the best beach in the world. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The hotel is a narrow building, with a limited number of ocean front rooms. However, the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPBTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Pros
-The property is incredible. Without question, this is one of the hottest properties in Cancun. Secrets The Vine perfectly combines party and luxury. There are tons of restaurant options at all times of day no matter what food you were in the mood for. The pools, especially the preferred level pool, were great for both relaxing and partying. Because you are in central Cancun, you can walk down the beach to all of the other nearby resorts - but who wants to leave!
-The rooms. The rooms are chic, spacious and luxurious. We were on the preferred floor and had an incredible view of Cancun and the crystal clear blue water. The shower is in the middle of the room which was also a cool feature.
-The service. Being on the preferred level, we were brought up the floor with our butler and had a special, private check-in followed by a detailed explanation of our room and the resort. All week, our butler helped us make reservations, coordinate with our transfers, and make sure our stay was enjoyable.
-The scene. Secrets the Vine is perfect for so many different types of travelers. If you want to party, you can drink by the pool and socialize with other guests and hit Cancun at night. If you want to relax you can go to one of the more quiet bars and grab a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. No matter what type of traveler you are, Secrets the Vine can accommodate your needs.

Cons
-The scene. While it can be a pro for some, it can certainly be a con for others. Sharon at Vacationeeze told us about the resort so we knew what we were in for, but this may be for everybody. If the hustle and bustle of Cancun is not for you, you may want to consider another Secrets property such as Silversands or Capri.

Overall, great trip and much better than basically every other resort in Cancun. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks to Vacationeeze for recommending this chic resort - we look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Splurge for preferred level. Exclusive access to private check-in, certain restaurants, and your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Went for a week in May. From the moment we were met at the door with a cold towel and a glass of champagne until the day we checked out and all our luggage was taken care, we were treated like royalty. We stayed in a club room with use of the private pool and private check in. Our room was amazing and had a view over the hard rock hotel. Food was amazing in all the restaurants we used and we never had a problem with the quality of the drinks (champagne, wine or beer) provided.
The only issues were - the wi-fi was a little patchy but worked fine from our room and the room was quite often not cleaned until very late in the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and we can't believe it was everything we hoped for and much much more! Upon arrival, being welcomed 'home' with a glass of sparkling wine was the perfect way to start our new life together!
Being showed to our room too find a honeymoon banner on the door was a little yet much appreciated surprise! Our room was fabulous, very modern, spacious with amazing views of the Caribbean Sea!
Enjoying relaxing days in the spa, made all our work worries disappear and relax straight into our honeymoon together!
Relaxing by the privilege club pool, sipping on mouthwatering cocktails and eating fantastic food, just doesn't do this hotel justice! All the a le carte restaurants were out of this world, with amazing food and very attentive staff! With this said, Jimmy from the Nebbiolo restaurant was simply outstanding, his service was second to none, his manner was relaxed and friendly yet very professional and attentive! Nomberto and Angel, from the lobby bar also contributed to making our honeymoon the best it could be, they were both fantastic throughout our stay, nothing was ever too much, even when asking for cocktails not on the menu, I loved with Mexican version of WooWoo!
Secrets, The Vine is just simply stunning, we loved every second of our honeymoon and can't wait to go back! It is certainly made too be your home away from home!

Room Tip: Privilege club all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I read a lot of reviews before deciding to book with Secrets: The vine through cheapcaribbean.com. WOW, What an incredible hotel! We only wanted a true all-inclusive meaning food and premium alcohol was included. I was so impressed from the moment I walked out of our cab and up to the glass doors of the hotel. They greeted us with warm towels to dab off our nasty travel hands and walked us over to get us checked in. The definition of luxury for sure!

I was blown away with how beautiful this hotel was! I really did feel like we were on a second honeymoon. Everything I read about this place was true! The ratio of staff to guests seemed to be 2:1 and everyone was so helpful and friendly. We felt welcome! Also…what people say in reviews about the “timeshare” presentation is true. They do try to get you to sit through a presentation, and they will offer you hotel coupons or credits towards excursions. Just kindly decline. You won’t want to waste a full morning of vacation time on some weird presentation.

I wrote a review and shared pictures on my blog. http://brookehamiltonblog.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/our-trip-to-cancunsecrets-the-vine/

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#11 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,872 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing