We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12th Anniversary Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #5 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“12th Anniversary Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed very short...just three nights for a quick 12 year anniversary celebration. We have been to Mexico numerous times, but always stay south of Cancun. This is the best all-adult hotel we've stayed at! The room was gorgeous...we had an ocean view honeymoon suite, and it was sweet! :) Most importantly, it was clean and comfortable!

The food was good. We have had better at the Karisma hotels (Azul Beach to be specific), but overall, we would rank it number 2.

The pools were nice, but being from Montana without kids, we spent the majority of our time at the beach. The beach was tons of fun...nothing in the way of rocks to get in your way of swimming or body surfing! One day the water was crystal clear and very calm. This is the most fun I've had in the ocean since our honeymoon in Jamaica.

Service is slow...that was the only negative for us. I'm not complaining about slow dining service, for that is nice not to be bombarded with food. The beach service for drinks took so long, we just started going to the pool bar. If you want food on the beach, be prepared to wait 45 minutes to an hour for chips and salsa. Also, our safe quit working and that took us a good hour and a half to get fixed. It was just the wait for a new safe. That was ridiculous.

I would absolutely go back!

Room Tip: I read reviews prior that said Hard Rock side was loud. We were on that side, but didn't experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HirtFamily33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,100
    1,065
    318
    103
    59
See reviews for
448
4,432
175
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catharpin, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I've been to Cancun many times. I was traveling with my sister and a friend and since we didn't have our children with us, we decided to stay at an adult only resort and I really enjoyed it.I contacted the hotel in advance and let them know that we were celebrating my sister's 40th birthday and our room was decorated with a banner and balloons when we arrived which started out our vacation in a nice way. They also brought her a sweet treat on our first night.

Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel. There were several nice things that I thought made the hotel seem "special" for example they bring water around by the pool before the bar opens, they also walk around with cold towels and a sample of fruit in the morning.

I also like that they have a pool menu for food that they bring to you at your chair. It was quick and I enjoyed it. I also liked the little sandwiches at the coffee shop. As others have mentioned, I thought it was fun how they have the chefs come by with a food and drink sample by they pool.

I always appreciate activities that take place around the pool and resort. On this trip, I took a Spanish lesson, attended a bracelet making class and went on the kitchen tour. I thought the kitchen tour was really interesting and informative. it took about an hour.

I enjoyed all of the restaurants. i always ordered a shrimp dish and really liked my meals. My sister typically ordered beef and didn't enjoy hers as much.

When I have the chance to visit Cancun again without my children, I absolutely would want to return to Secrets the Vine. We had a great trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Don't know how I'm going to summarise the sheer luxury of this hotel.

We vsitied this hotel on our honeymoon before going on to Las Vegas. When we arrived we were greeted with champagne and taken to our room by our 'butler'. We felt the check in was quick which was great as we had had a long journey.

We were upgraded to the junior suite with ocean view which again was fabulous. I would recommend that you upgrade if you stay here. It was lovely to have the patio doors open and be able to hear the sea.

The service in the hotel was impecable, couldn't have asked for more, no matter where you were in the hotel or even on the beach, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The food was gorgeous and there were several restaurants to choose from which made it even better as usually with all inclusives, the food can become a bit 'samey'.

I would go as far as to say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in and we are considering visiting again next year for our first anniversary.

LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Thank you Secrets the Vine for making our honeymoon memorable!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the preferred club as you get a few added extras!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gems0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I usually stay at the Excellence Play Mujeres. However, we chose Secrets the Vine because of complaints of construction noise at EPM (Secrets is building a resort near EPM). We really enjoyed our stay but prefer EPM. Secrets is a newer, more modern resort. However, the food, entertainment, service, and rooms at EPM are better. Better dining choices, more activities and variety of entertainment, and bigger rooms (better room layout). We also like EPM because it had more of a resort feel. We felt like we were at a nice hotel at Secrets. If you are looking for plush green grounds and relaxation EPM is your place. There is no comparison when it comes to the beach. Secrets the Vines wins hands down. The beach is cleaner and the water is clearer at Secrets. We enjoyed our stay and would consider trying out the new Secrets near EPM but we can't wait to get back to EPM next year. Lastly, we did not like the sales pitch upon arrival at Secrets. There was also the constant request for us to buy bottles of wine. This occurred when we entered restaurants and randomly as we walked around the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luvs2Travel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at Secrets The Vine for our honeymoon in August and couldn't have picked a better place to spend it. The resort was truly amazing and it was a "one of a kind" experience. We want to extend a special thanks to our butler, Alejandro for making our stay extra special. He took care of everything for us for the week and treated us as his "special" guests! When he said he was going to have coffee delivered to our room at 8:30am, he was always there at 8:29am! He was never late! Hats off for Alejandro's service and always going the extra mile. We loved this resort and the cleanliness and very modern rooms. Overall, the staff was superb! We would definitely travel to this resort again and recommend it to those reading my post. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Stay in the "Preferred Club" area. It is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just returned from a 9 night stay at Secrets The Vine in Cancun, Mexico. This was our second time at this location. It is amazing. Food, service, entertainment, cleanliness, suites were all so top notch. They will & did go above & beyond for you. Some of the restaurants have the men wearing pants but you can sit outside for the same restaurant & wear shorts. Top shelf liquor if you order it is yours. Coffee shop has cappuccino, espresso, bakery, sandwiches, candy & hot pretzels. So good! They also have a sports bar with many screens playing different sporting events. It's like a diner. Casual fare is served there if you feel more like a burger & fries. Entertainment & games are at the pools. They do need to get more floats because there isn't enough. Perfect location.
They did do spinning when I was there & I did it every day that they had it which was great. But did hear they might not be doing it next year & that disappoints me. But if you like machines or weights they have those.
We booked our package vacation with Mitch Toren from Tripguy.com. He took care of everything from beginning to end. Even called & emailed back on his day off. We've been going to Cancun for about 15 years & booked with different travel agents & this is the first time we got a card at the resort welcoming us & hoping we'd had a good trip. Also an email before leaving wishing us a good trip & that everything was good to go. Then a couple other ones. Maybe this is nothing to you but it meant a lot to us. Please contact him for any vacation needs & you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanc031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I surprised my wife with a trip to our favorite vacation spot, Cancun. We just got back and I booked us at Secrets the Vine. My wife and I are all-inclusive travelers and Secrets the Vine just shot up to our number 1 resort. We can't say enough good things about the grounds, food, and service. Those reviewers that found fault with this resort probably can't be happy anywhere. In the short time that we were there, we got to sample all of the restaurants. All of them were our favorites. WE definitely recommend this resort to anyone that wants to be pampered. If there was anything negative, I would say they need more nightly entertainment. The two shows that we did see were great; but, more would hit the spot. The circus show was great and the comedic magician was quite entertaining. Also, please limit the sales pitch for the vacation club. Let your guest ask you about wanting that feature and limit your staff to selling that product. Most people are not there for that and don't want to spend 1/4 of their vacation time listening to a sales pitch. However, that will not stop me from giving this resort "5 stars." Kudos to all the staff that made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face Hard Rock. Even number rooms face Hotel Strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCPat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 stars 5,213 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing