We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what an experience. We want to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was the first time my friend and I went to an all inclusive. I am a fussy vegetarian and I was blown away with how well I was looked after by the assistant food and beverage manager Francisco. He ensured the general managers and head chefs of each restaurant knew about my dietary requirements and every evening we were greeted by the restaurant manager and very often served by the head chef personally! Francisco made us feel like royalty and none of our requests were too much for him. His hospitality and attention to detail made our holiday so special and memorable and just because of that we want to go back!

If you have any special dietary requirements, you will not be disappointed with this resort. All the restaurant managers recognised me very early on and they often offered me dishes that were not on the menu to ensure I had enough variety and choice.

Francisco always went out of his way to look after us despite the hotel being busy with so many guests. His hospitality was warm and genuinely sincere for the entire week.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor, closer to the ocean side on the Hard Rock hotel side. This has better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pdk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,790 - 5,796 of 9,033 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

This review is late in coming. We stayed here for 4 nights over the Christmas 2013 holiday. We like the Secrets chain and thought we'd give Secrets the Vine a try.
We arrived via taxi and were given cool towels and a welcome sparkling wine. We were taken to the Preferred Club "lounge" for check in. I say lounge loosely as it was more like a small room where the check in desk and the preferred lounge was located. We were not impressed with the lounge at all. I realize that Secrets the Vine has a small footprint but the lounge area could've been made larger. The bartender here was poor at best. The man never had a smile. I asked for a coffee martini and got espresso with vodka in it. No kind of sweetener to tone down the bitter espresso. I had to put Splenda in it but it was still awful. We visited the Preferred lounge one other time when we checked out and just had wine.
Every floor in the Preferred tower had a concierge next to the elevators. Ours was there only half of the time but he was very friendly.
The room was great. Big and spacious with a fantastic view of the ocean. The balconies aren't private though but that's what the robes are for. I enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the early mornings having coffee before breakfast.
Speaking of breakfast, it was great. Each day you had a wide variety of foods to choose from as well as made to order eggs. The wait staff here was exceptional. For lunch, we ate at the buffet as well and were satisfied with the selection. We never did try the Barefoot Grill.
Dinners here were very good, at least what we had. We ate at the Bluewater Grill twice and were not disappointed. They made a fantastic drink there called a Chardonnay Martini. We liked it so much that the waiter got the recipe for us from the bartender. I make this at home now and it reminds me of our stay. We also ate at Nebbiolo, the Italian restaurant. That was pretty good also. I liked the fresh wheel of parmasean cheese that you could scoop out of. One dinner that we had was what they called a "romantic dinner". It was served at the buffet restaurant in the evenings. It was a prix fixe menu with what was called lobster but in reality was really langostino. Overall, this dinner was okay but not worth the price. The restaurant was kept very dark being that it was supposed to be romantic. With that said, it was too dark and we asked for more candles on the table in order to see the food we were eating. Lol.
We absolutely loved the private pool for the preferred guests. It was a small and kind of intimate space with it's own bar and servers. Those bartenders at the preferred pool certainly know how to make a drink!
Why the almost perfect review? Well, we sat on the beach twice and both times the wait staff were either extremely busy or forgetful that you couldn't get a drink on the beach to save your life. We had to chase down the beach servers several times, even walking over to them. After placing our orders, these same wait staff never had our drinks and mind you we tip well, especially for beach service. We tip $5.00 per two drinks while on the beach. That didn't seem to matter any. I'm hoping they were just short staffed for the Christmas holiday. After two days on the beach with barely any service, we moved and sat at the preferred pool where someone would come around every 15 minutes asking if we wanted anything. We didn't get to sit at the main pools but they were all gorgeous looking. We loved the lobby bar at night as well. Good drinks and friendly bartenders.
We enjoyed our stay at Secrets the Vine and look forward to returning but not during peak holiday times.

Room Tip: If possible, slurge on a preferred room. You are on the highest floors with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zebralb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you are looking for excellent food, luxurious service and amazing vacation, Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa is the perfect hotel!
When we first entered the hotel, the staff welcomed us home with a glass of champagne.
We were on the 26th floor and the view was breathtaking, the beach on the left and the Laguna on the right. We chose the preferred club option and it was so worth it. We enjoyed the 12th floor pool and the Ólio restaurant. Salmon tartare there was fresh and delicious!! It was practically our lunch everyday. Alex was very attentive and made sure we were missing nothing. The staff was so kind all the time.
As my first trip in Cancun, I enjoyed every minute and day...we booked for 7 days, but we would have stayed an extra 3 days...
Secrets The Vine Cancun hotel totally deserves its 5 stars.
I would definitely go back and I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Miss_Sunshine0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2014

Dear Miss_Sunshine0107,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We were delighted that you've enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we've been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 10 days (March 23 - April 2) at the Secrets the Vine Cancun. We arrived at the hotel around 11:00 a.m. Since our room was not ready, we where told that we could get changed at the spa on the 12th floor. We took a good shower, so relaxing after an early flight, and then went back to leave our carry on with our luggages. We went to the Sea Salt restaurant open for lunch from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Well located, overlooking a pool and ocean. We got our room around 2:45 p.m. Nice room overlooking the pool with an ocean view. Huge shower with plenty of hot water and the bed oh! so comfy.... The hotel is sparkling clean. We had minor issues in the room but it was fix quickly.

Every night, the maid doing the turn-down, would leave an activity flyer called the "Sundial". Great idea. It gives you all the info. regarding the numerous activities of the coming day and which restaurants are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You are always offered a daily spa special. The gym is very well located, on the 12th floor overlooking the ocean. We did go for a spa treatment. We got there 1 hour before and went in the steam room, the sauna, cold pool and finally in the jaccuzzi pool.

The activities are well organized and the Entertainment team is great. Special regards to Brittany, Allan and Alexandro. Really enjoyed the beach party with live band....

All the restaurants are good and NO reservations needed. Really enjoyed the kitchen tour with William Lafontaine, Head chef at the Dragons restaurant and the every day wine tasting. Tuesdays and Thursdays at 6:00 p.m., Camila, the someliere, is showing how to open a porto wine in the lobby. Unusual technique. The Vine Café is great for good coffee, fresh home baked pastries and at lunch time, good sandwiches.

Special thanks to Rosendo at the Sugar Reef Bar, Edouardo at the Market Café.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Belsou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We took a sisters trip to Secrets. We have not one complaint regarding any of the Staff. We upgraded to the preferred club. I didn't see the benefits other than the pool and there is a floor where you can check in, and just sit for a small quiet relaxing snack. The staff treats everyone very nice and friendly. Breakfast was our favorite meal of the day(goat cheese with chocolate, yummy,). The other restaurants were average. I do wish they offered more desserts for those with nut allergies, but I was ok with ice cream or gelato.
The resort is very clean and the rooms were comfortable.I do wish they had put forth the extra effort to make sure our rooms were adjoining as we requested. Room service delicious. The chicken wings with sauce were some of the best I have had in a while.We enjoy hot showers, and the shower water was never really hot, more so warm. We appreciated the entertaining staff trying their best to entertain. They danced with us, played volley ball with us and knew all 4 of us by name and helped my sister feel comfortable despite her being deaf.
Perhaps one day we would not mind returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alimcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Couldn't have been happier here!!! I've been to Mexico many times and this was by far my favorite place! I usually struggle with food as I'm a vegetarian but not here! Some of the restaurants even have separate vegetarian menus!! I didn't have to live off chips and guac! :) and I'm an avid Starbucks coffee drinker and the coffee bar they have in the main lobby was just as good if not better coffee! The staff was perfect! I said more then once I felt like we could eat off the floor at anytime! Love this place-will for sure be back and would highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicoleRoufs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2014

Dear NicoleRoufs,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the options we have available for our vegetarian guests, we are always happy to offer options for our guests.

Again thank you for your review and choosing us to stay, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you home again in the future.

Kind regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

the food is top notch, we didn't want to leave the hotel. the food here is so good that you will not find a better restaurant anywhere in cancun. The coffee bar is also way better then anything you will find at starbucks. the room is really modern and the showers are huge! the sink did get clogged but the staff came and fixed it quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aborja4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2014

Dear aborja4,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We were delighted that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that the only issue you had was resolved promptly.

We look forward to have you back at Secrets The Vine, your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,987 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,441 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,683 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $373 - $911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing