We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #5 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We enjoyed our January stay at this resort and would go back, though it would not be our first choice. Overall, the resort was beautiful and very clean. It is tucked between the Sandos and Hard Rock resorts -- a little too cozy as we like grounds that are a little more spread out and with more vegetation worked into the grounds. That said, the pools were positioned well and, if you like a place where you can run into the same people frequently, The Vines is for you.
The beach was small with lounge chairs packed together. We had no trouble getting chairs and umbrellas. The ocean is a beautiful turquoise blue and had great views of it from our standard room. The atmosphere was VERY relaxed.
Our room was plenty big enough, very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The lighting in the room was an adventure. They tried to be high-tech with their lighting system and sacrificed practicality. It takes a while to figure out which "buttons" to push to get the lighting you are looking for. Vanity lighting was poor. The view from the balcony was amazing. However, if you like your privacy, these are not for you. The dividing walls between them are not solid and we could see through them quite easily.
The food was good, but not great. The best for us was the morning buffet which had plenty of variety. The specialty restaurants provided some nice atmosphere, good food, and great service (except for the one night at the steak house). During the day, we could get food any time we wanted it, whether inside or outside. I loved their homemade chips!
The drinks were just OK. We didn't have one that really knocked our socks off --- except the shots!
Service was excellent. There were more than enough super-friendly people to take care of all our needs. We never had to wait.
We would rate the Secrets The Vines as a very good high-end resort, but not top of the line. We would recommend it for other Trip Advisor travelers.

Room Tip: Many reviewers recommend upgrading to a preferred room, with access to the upper pool and a few othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Ralph B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience through this mean.

We are sad to read that some aspects about our resort didn't reach your expectations. Nonetheless we are glad you enjoyed of our distinctive quality in service, one of the characteristic aspects about the brand and our resort.

We look forward to welcome you back to provide you with the excellent quality and service same that our guests speak of.

Sincerely,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,751 - 5,757 of 8,902 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great hotel! New & clean. The staff was over-the-top. Food was excellent. Hotel room was great as well. A few issues with appliances not working in the room. Hotel addressed right away. Definitely would stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Bryan C,

On behalf of the entire staff of Secrets The Vine Cancun we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed of an excellent stay, we are also pleased to know that our staff was helpful ensuring your requirements were fulfilled.

We look forward to welcome you home again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this resort. Everything was extremely nice...especially for an all inclusive. The hotel is beautiful. The pools, beach and Booz were great. My wife and I are into good food so our expectations going into this trip were pretty low on the food experience because it was an all inclusive. To our surprise the food was much better than we thought it would be. We had one over salted meal at the sea salt grill but outside of that the food was good. Our favorite was the Asian rest and the Mexican rest. Italian was good too. Steak was our least fav on the 4 main restaurants. Filet and ny strip were a little tough and just okay. But it is hard to find a good steak anywhere in Mexico. However the Lamb was very good. Chef Mark took care of us! The only other knock is the house wine...horrible. If you are a wine drinker plan to add that to your budget! With all of that said we would come back here. I rated it a 4...but would have given it 4.5 if it were an option.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Adsalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Adsalesguy,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We are glad to read that our food selection exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed of our facilities. On the other hand we are sad to read that none of our twelve wines of the house reached your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you home again and hopefully this time you could join our complimentary tastings to enjoy other wines available besides the wine of the house.

Sincerely,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I booked this resort because it was supposed to be a couples/adults only resort. Well it is adults only but it's not a couples resort. First half of our week there was a convention group from St Louis there (only around 100 people so not too bad) but on Wednesday a group of 400 conventioneers arrived. This was nearly 1/2 the hotel. They had a dinner outside on the pool deck that evening so around 3:00 without notice the hotel staff just started removing unused chaises, tables and umbrellas all around us. We were one of the last two couples left laying by the pool and the staff starting bringing in table and chairs for the evening event. Very unprofessional so we left the area. Maybe a sign of some kind could have been put out letting guests know that this would be happening. Two days later the same thing happened. We told the manager of the area that it would have been nice to have been told and he told us he was telling us now. Really? It wasn't what they did-it was how it was done. No notice just start removing things around you. On Friday they actually closed the umbrella we were using and took it away. It was very rude. The day we left there was a beach party that night for this group and they actually partitioned off half of the beach area for them that night. Again inconveniencing half the guests for a convention group. We have stayed in a lot of all-inclusives and I would say that the rooms were very nice, cleaned and well maintained by the staff. The resort was clean and very beautiful (new). This is Cancun so the resort is like a hotel because there is no land to spread out. It is tall and long. This was what caused the issue at the pool - they have no other options for large events but to take up the area at the pool and the other two pools are much smaller and cannot accommodate all the guests. We discovered that we much prefer resorts that have more property so everything is not right on top of each other. The food was good but I wouldn't say it was great. Some things were just average. We stayed at Dreams Cabo (same corp owns both) and the food there was gourmet. This property was supposed to be more upscale so we were disappointed the food wasn't better. If you are looking for a COUPLES Resort I would say keep looking because you might get unlucky like us and have a group of convention people there that change the entire couple experience and atmosphere. There are other great options in the area we discovered from talking with other people we met. If this type of thing wouldn't bother you then by all means go for it as it is a very nice hotel with good rooms and courteous staff. They just need to decide is they are a convention hotel or a couples hotel.

Room Tip: Dont pay for preferred but ask to be a a floor not facing the Hard Rock - very noisy if they are hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovetotraveljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear lovetotraveljm,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your overview on Tripadvisor. Our guest’s feedback is truly appreciated in our constant commitment to provide excellence.

Thank you for your observations and suggestions, we have consciously revised all of your remarks. We truly regret hearing that our evening dining options have not met your expectations; we encourage our guests to provide us with their feedback in regards of our services during their stay in order for us to be able to offer them more options.

Our contemporary resort hosts adults (+18) and we are honored to welcome and promote the visits of girlfriend getaways, groups, honeymoons, birthdays, anniversaries, singles, families and weddings equally, we would like to apologize if your stay was marred due the presence of other guests, be certain that our top priority is that all of our guests are satisfied, for this reason we are very sorry to read about your experience.

We truly hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again in the future so we can offer you the truly remarkable experience characteristic of our brand and our resort.

Sincerly,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks and every thing about the hotel was superb from the staff and all the facilities if you get the chance to go you will not be disappointed .Great location with stunning views of the sea and lagoon.
waiting for secrets playa murjeres to open later in the year so we can try it as we have done maroma silversands and excellence .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear lee l,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We are glad to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service and facilities.

We sincerely look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back home in a near future.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This review is a little over due!
Secrets is an absolutely stunning resort with some of the best staff I have come across!
The staff make you feel so welcome!
As soon as you enter the lobby you are greeted with cold towels, champagne and a smile! The lobby is beautiful with hundreds of fresh flowers and it smells divine!
Rooms are beautiful and cleaned to a high standard daily, we had a gorgeous view of both the ocean and lagoon, simply stunning at sun set and the balcony is great to relax of an evening. Turn down service is wonderful! We have had this in many hotels but in Secrets its fabulous! Fluffy mats at the side of the bed, fresh towels, chocolates, dimmed lights and calming music!

We adored the staff at Secrets but a few in particular really stood out!
Fransisco - Thank you for making our stay extra special! Your attention to detail and hospitality made us feel like VIP guests!
Balam & Bethany in entertainment
Oliver, Jorge and Diego in the pool bar
Stefanio & Mauricio (I hope I spelt your names right) in the restaurant.

We really enjoyed the Blue Water Grill for Dinner, food there was great! We also enjoyed Dragons and went back to these more than once.
Market cafe is great for lunch or there are the barefoot walk ups around the pool. We also ordered room service a few evenings which was painless.

The beach is beautiful and very clean! You can find some really special shells in the shallow water. We went in September and were lucky enough to see baby turtles scurrying across the beach early in the morning, that memory will last a life time!
The pool bar does the best cocktails! Namely MangoTango! Don't miss out on that!
Hotel is just a short bus ride from all the bars and found it really easy and quick to get anywhere!
All in all we adored Secrets to the point we are worried about future holidays in other resorts as nowhere can compare!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear AimeeTravis,

It is a pleasure to read through such a detailed overview of your visit to Secrets The Vine Cancun. We sincerely appreciate the time invested on writing this review.

We were delighted that you've enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

We would certainly be glad to have you back for another round of a wonderful stay. Please feel confident to reach us prior your next visit at info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com if you need assistance prior arrival.

We look forward to have you back at Secrets The Vine, your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

​My wife and I stayed in Secrets The Vine Cancun from February 19 to 26.
We have been to different regions of Mexico before and this was our second stay in Cancun after over 20 years and also our second stay in a Secrets resort.
The hotel zone has changed and there are many new hotels and resorts, one after another on this long and narrow strip of land.
The improvement of the main road, Boulevard Kukulkan, is quite impressive and pleasant.
Secrets the Vine is situated almost in the middle of this long and narrow strip and the main entrance is directly from a side street off the boulevard. Because of this there is no landscaped property at the front. The width of the property at the back, overlooking the Caribbean sea, is very narrow and almost entirely used by the three pools, two bars and a restaurant, concrete patios and steps. Because of this it does not have the feeling of a real resort with large and lush landscapes, green lawns, trees, shrubs and flowers.
The beach is also void of any trees and shrubs and is not as inviting as many other resorts that we have been to.
That is why, in my personal opinion, this is a luxury hotel rather than a resort.
Nevertheless the architecture of the interior is very modern and tastefully decorated.
The junior suits are spacious, bright and nicely furnished. The up-keep of all outside and inside areas is exceptionally efficient.
We had selected the Preferred Club option which has its separate reception on 21th floor, small buffet for breakfast, lunch snacks and drinks, and an infinity pool and outdoor restaurant on the 12th floor.
The first night we stayed in suit 2420 on the lagoon side. The rooms on this side have problem with the noise of huge air-conditioning towers of the adjacent hotel. By our request our suite was changed to 2437, on the Caribbean side which was quiet. Rooms have the view of both the lagoon and Caribbean sea.
Free WiFi was available in all areas of the property.
The quality and variety of food and drinks was good.
Market Café offers a full range of hot/cold food, fruits and drinks for breakfast and lunch. The service was fast and very friendly.
Olio (Mediterranean) outside restaurant on 12th floor offers good choices for lunch. It is also open for dinner but we did not dine there because of the strong winds, that continued relentlessly all week.
Dinner in Nebbiolo (Italian) and Bluewater Grill was satisfactory with efficient and friendly service. The Dragon oriental restaurant was also good but the dark and subdued interior is not too inviting.
We tried the Sea Salt Grill on the main pool area for lunch but the service was slow and the food was such that we left it on table and went to Market Cafe.
We did not try the Barefoot Grill, a small outside sitting area next to one of the pools.
There are couple of points which I think needs the attention of the management.
First, the lack of adequate shade for outside sitting areas (very limited as they are). The transparent fiberglass canopies over these areas do not provide adequate shade and protection from the sun. Because of this sitting under these canopies is not pleasant, especially if one wants to seat a little longer to enjoy a leisurely lunch or drink .
Second, the umbrellas around the infinity pool (that is were we stayed every day) are flimsy and not strong enough for the wind. The second day of our stay we were not allowed to open them because they were afraid the wind will either topple or break them.
Third, the constant spraying of the common areas with air freshener or liquids of some sort, filling the air with artificial scents. Breathing artificial scent all day is neither pleasant nor healthy.
This scent was especially strong on 12th floor where the restaurants are. Mixing the strong scents with the smell of good food is not a smart thing.
And finally a regrettable phenomenon that I encounter in recent years, almost in all the Caribbean islands, Mexico and even in some European countries, which is substituting beautiful and rich local music with so called modern music with monotonous and annoying beats.
The chain may be American and the guest may be mostly from north America but the hotel is in Mexico. Please use a little more of your lovely and lively Mexican music in your common areas. Believe me we can listen as much "modern music" or Spa music as we wish in our own country.
As I mentioned The Vine is a luxury hotel with all the modern facilities, very well maintained and clean with excellent rooms, good restaurants and friendly staff.
Nevertheless if one envisions to be in a resort to enjoy such things as lush greenery, trees, shrubs, flowers, many outdoor restaurants facing the ocean or enjoy barefoot dinner on the sand, one should consider other options.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Caribbean Sea side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vahe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear vahe17,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed of our elegant accommodations, food and beverage, Wi-Fi selection, and also the facilities and special amenities delivered to Preferred Club guests.

On the other hand we regret to read that not all fulfilled your expectations and we have taken note of all the aspects you highlighted for us and your suggestions our guest’s feedback is truly important for us and we will consciously revise all of your remarks.

We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.

Sincerely,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,948 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
9,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,492 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#8 of 177 in Cancun
6,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $389 - $897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing