We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$539
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$289
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$312
$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$579
$371
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$886
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$672
$510
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$560
$379
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
$397
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,701)
Filter reviews
9,701 results
Traveler rating
7,524
1,470
465
141
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,524
1,470
465
141
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket cafepreferred clubpreferred poolbluewater grillsea saltpiano barpreferred levelblue water grillsecrets resortpreferred roomdragons restaurantentertainment teamolio restaurantcoffee barhoneymoon suitegreeted with champagnethe hard rock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,594 - 6,599 of 9,701 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I went to Secrets with my family over Thanksgiving. We all enjoyed our stay so much, but who wouldn't? The resort is beautiful.

Pros:
- THE STAFF. They were extremely friendly and accommodating. I can't praise the entire staff enough. All of them asked us how we were doing and if we needed anything. Alan, who was part of the entertainment staff, invited me to salsa dance with him! I can't say that I know how to salsa, but it was so much fun! He told us all about events and made sure we were always having a great time. Also, The staff at the Market Cafe even cooked up the fish my dad had purchased outside of the resort. My dad also played ping-pong with one of the entertainment staff members and had a blast. They were just so fun.
- Food was everywhere. You could not go hungry at this resort, even if you tried. The food was delicious, especially the steak dinners! Room service was also 24 hours.
- Cancun is a great spot, especially if you're from Chicago, because it's only a 3.5 hour flight. We booked with Apple.
- The rooms were really clean and nice. The double head showers, motion sensing lights, light pads in three locations, and the balcony were all a great touch.
- You were welcomed by champagne, a wet towel for our hands, and staff that carried your luggage.
- The lounge is beautiful and relaxing, the pool is breath-taking, and the beach is very clean.

Cons:
- There are no ways to make reservations at the hotels, but we never waited more than 30 minutes. Plus there's always an open bar.
- You're pressured to come back and pay for more things several times throughout the trip. For example, they gave my parents on a > 2 hour presentation/tour around the hotel explaining the benefits of becoming a preferred member, even though it was only supposed to be an 1.5 hours max. They did give us a big coupon for the spa though.
- The $200 dollars you get for having a room, you cannot spend at one time. It's divided into several different amenities.

Tips: Talk to the staff, especially Alan! Order enough food at dinner when you go to the Italian restaurant or the Japanese restaurant. Get to the pool early in the morning to get a chair. Ocean front and ocean view are completely different, so know which one you're paying for. Get yourself a pina colada and make sure to enjoy the live music when available :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Jenny K,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We were delighted that you've enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we've been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations. Our team looks forward to having you back in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

From the moment you arrive you are looked after incredibly well. Fantastic service in every single area of the resort. Entertainment team were excellent and activities were plentiful during the day if you wished to join in. Yoga/ stretching in the morning and spin class if you want to start the day active. I would rate four of the dining experiences as excellent and all the others great and very difficult to find any kind of fault with. Breakfast in the room was fantastic so treat yourself to that and let the superb waiting staff set you up on your balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts
2  Thank 871michaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear 871michaelm,

Thank you for choosing us to stay and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to hear your experience with the hotel was excellent and the service received was superb.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Secrets The Vine Cancun. Our team looks forward to having you back in a not too distant future.

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel has a great upscale - modern feel and the staff are incredibly nice. This hotel suprised me in that it caters more toward a quiet / book reading audience. As a large group of middle age couples, the night life was much to be desired but the Entertainment Team made each and every day worth while and memorable for all of us!! Kudos to Bethany, Kendall, Sunday, and the rest of the entertainment team for injecting life into our experience!!! If you are looking for music by day and nightlife, this is not the type of hotel you would want to stay at. Food is awesome, staff is awesome, entertainment team could not be any more kind and accomodating!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jbudd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Jbudd4,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our Entertainment staff’s attentive service. Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

We would certainly be glad to have you back for another round of a wonderful stay. We look forward to have you back at Secrets The Vine, your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards.

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our second visit to STV was awesome. We took another couple with us and they agreed that STV is a special place. The food was outstanding, especially the Italian and steak house. Remember though, their cuts of meat are not the same size as American restaurants. However, I did have a couple filets that were 5-7 ounces.
Service is impeccable and anything you need, within reason, will be provided. We needed a sun shade in one of the pools with the chairs, instead of moving all of our stuff they were polite and brought a sun shade into the pool! Pretty awesome.

Entertainment staff is very nice and fun. Some people complain about there not being enough events but let me tell you, you make your vacation what you want it to be. There are plenty of activities on the resort property and if that doesn't suit you, you can buy excursions on site. We ate, drank, played volleyball, bingo in the pool with fun prizes, nightly shows, etc. jet skis and parasail directly in front of the resort.

Shout out to Kara, Sunday, Victor and Alan on the entertainment team.

Room Tip: Preferred level is only worth it for the higher floor rooms. The extra benefits are only an extra lounge and pool. All the action is at the beach and not at the preferred pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kohstafh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Kohstafh,

We would like to thank you for selecting our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure receiving you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

As many have said before, this is a beautiful,modern hotel which is kept immaculately clean by the ever present hard working and friendly staff. The pool areas were well maintained and again, kept very clean.

Bedrooms - We can understand why some people wouldn't be keen on the wooden floors and glass cubicles in the rooms, however, we had no problem with them whatsoever and liked the openess and look of the room. The air con was easy to use and efficient. The lighting was quirky but we got the hang of it fairly quickly. Good to have two sinks, although the 2 sockets were above just one of the sinks. Would have been nice to have a socket above each. Hair drier is provided and also an ironing board and iron. The safe and instructions are clear and easy to use. No idea how anyone could have anything stolen from their safe if they'd locked it properly (just saying). We were on the 15th floor on the Hard Rock side, overlooking the preferred pool area/Olio restaurant. This was perfect, as we got the sun all afternoon. Sea and lagoon view from balcony. No issue with lots of noise from there in the evening, as others have previously reported. Of course there'll be music from other hotels close by, they are holiday resorts and that is just par for the course. However, the wide, noisy corridors can be more of an issue. The wooden floors, length and breadth of the corridors means the sound does carry. Just something to deal with in a hot country hotel as carpeting is impractical. There are USB sockets as well as power sockets in the rooms, which is handy for charging phones and other gadgets with USB connectors. The mini fridge is kept well stocked and the coffee replenished. No fresh milk in the fridge however, just 1 sachet of coffee mate included in the coffee kit. However, we fetched fresh milk from downstairs and kept a cup in the fridge. Toiletries provided were of good quality. Soap bars, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion. Plenty of towels and face cloths plus mats. Towelling robe and slippers also provided. Plenty of hangers and wardrobe space. Good size balcony with white box style wicker chairs and a white wicker cube table. You can see through the partitions along the row of balconies to your left and right, but somehow, it isn't too obtrusive. Means you get plenty of light and air whilst on your balcony. Beds are comfortable but note that bedding (sheet and light duvet) is 50:50 cotton/polyester, so can get a bit warm at night. We turned the air con down at bedtime to counteract this.

Pool areas - 3 good sized pools (plus the preferred on a different level) well maintained and cleaned with plenty of fresh towels provided throughout the day. Staff friendly and helpful. Bars wells stocked with quality brands. Plenty of cold bottles of water offered thought the day by the serving bar/pool staff. Plenty of sun loungers for all with umbrellas for those needing shade. Plenty of sun loungers on the beach, which was also well maintained on a daily basis. Covered seating areas available plus cabanas with sofas and sun loungers. Music played throughout the day, so something to be aware of for those not keen, although we found that listening to our iPods as an alternative was fine. Security ensure only Secrets residents come up from the beach to the pool areas. Toilets not well signposted, but there is 1 (male and female) by the Manatee bar plus a large toilet suite of cubicles along the corridor beside the Entertainment team booth and the scuba booth. Interestingly, we noted a lot of people queuing for the single cubicle by the bar as if they were unaware of the main pool toilet area. We had asked on day 1 as there was no signage. Just something to be aware of.

Entertainment - great team of enthusiastic and fun staff, providing daily events from 10am plus a specific evening events. The daily programme didn't vary but you knew what was coming and could take part or not without pressure. The team were Winnie, Victor, Bethany, Kendall, Sunday and Kara. Very approachable and greeted us daily by our names. We enjoyed the aqua aerobics at 12pm and the Bingo in the afternoons at 2pm. Also on offer were beach volleyball, pool volleyball, minute to win it and the daily question, which could win you a prize if you're right, or the closest to the answer. The evening entertainment, which we opted out of, included magic shows, casino nights, live music and dancing.

Restaurants - the breakfast buffet in Market Cafe was varied and generally of good quality. The one gripe we had on most mornings was that the butter portions were either not available when the doors opened at 7am and/or they were so cold that the butter was rock solid and unusable. This was mentioned on several occasions but alas, no real progress on this front was made. The butter issue was prevalent in all restaurants we visited where bread rolls and butter was provided. Again, mentioned there and in these case, the butter was 'softened' for us. Note that it is worth mentioning issues with any food items at the time. The staff and chefs are more than willing to accommodate requests or listen to feedback and act on it. No point holding back until the Tripadvisor review (just saying). One case in point is in Dragons Asian restaurant, where we dined on the first night. We have a thing for spicy food and had hoped for something flavoursome and spicy in a Panasian restaurant. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case. On providing feedback on the meals we had been given, this was taken on board, so that the next time we went in, we were served by the head chef (the very engaging, friendly and accommodating Chef William). He personally took our order and was keen to understand what we were looking for. Our request was for an authentic and spicy Thai red curry. Chef William didn't let us down. He cooked us an amazing red curry with the perfect level of flavour and spice to suit our palates. He made sure we were happy with the quality before leaving us to enjoy our meals. The next night, again, he came out specially to ask what he could spice up for us. This I've a Thai green curry and again it was just wow. So, once more, we urge you to be open and honest, but constructive, with feedback on food in the restaurants at the time. Constructive is appreciated and accommodated! We had great service from Manuel in Nebbiolo Italian restaurant and from Jesus (Hesus) in Bluewater Grill. Both lovely restaurants with interesting menus. Note that for those with a bigger appetite, Nebbiolo in particular, serves small portions, so bear that in mind if you're hungry. The house wines are perfectly good so no need to go for the more expensive on offer. We read that some people had been pushed the wine list. We never experienced any pressure at all and that was mainly down to saying straightaway that we were happy to try the house wines. After that, we always asked for the same waiters in the restaurants we visitd, so they knew our preferences. Note that the Mexican Cabernet Sauvignon house red is very good indeed! The lunchtime offerings included burgers, nachos, paella, fish, hot dogs at the poolside or Barefoot Grill. The Sea Salt restaurant is also poolside and provides good food. For those looking for a wider selection, the Market Cafe does a very good and extensive buffet lunch, including a sushi bar and a roast of the day. Always plenty of meat, fish, vegetables, salads, fruit, bread and minimalistic desserts (not really to my taste) including a chocolate fountain. Cocktails in the restaurants are stronger than those served at the pool bars, so if you need a good alcohol kick, have a margarita in the restaurant...but be sure you have someone to help you out again afterwards hahaha.

Hotel in general - beautifully presented inside. Plenty of staff to help with questions or assistance of any kind. Toilet areas immaculate although the motion sensor taps aren't very sensitive, so can be tricky getting running water. Again, obvious signage for the toilets are lacking inside the main lobby. We asked on day 2 as we found it odd that there was no notification of them. They are located by the concierge desk, opposite Red Vine Bar and also by the lifts close to the hotel shop/boutique. I mentioned this as feedback to the concierge, which was taken on board. Again, if you find anything could be improved, say so while you are there! We had no pressure from timeshare sales people at all. We weren't even approached. We went and enquired ourselves but only to see about half price discount on trips. However we decided we didn't want to sit through the hour+ presentation so opted out with no issue whatsoever. We did hear others saying they'd been 'pestered' on several occasions but we certainly weren't. One thing we noted on rainy days was the inpouring of rainwater under the glass doors of the main lobby areas. Now we wonder if there is a design flaw here as there is no apparent drainage and no seals along the bottoms of the glass doors. So, the afternoon/evening rain meant staff busily pushing the water back out under the doors with rubber brooms then plugging towels along the length of the doors until the rain stopped. Not ideal and slightly alarming if sitting at a table by the doors having dinner (Dragons) whilst water pours in behind your chair. A couple of real annoyances, while we were there between 21Nov and 3 Dec, were a business conference taking place over 2 days, with a huge marquee set up on the beach below the main pool area, blocking the view and preventing that part of the beach being used by the residents. Is this a holiday resort or a conference centre? Also, there was a photo shoot taking place over 2 days, which again caused disruption in the main pool area, with some areas unavailable on 2 mornings and the unannounced closure of Dragons, the Sports bar and Red Vine bar on one day. Not impressed! Some thought required on managing these events and making it clear to residents that they'll be taking place. Putting a note under your door the night before with little clarity on what's happening, is not good management of expectations.

Ok enough I think. All in all, a very impressive hotel and staff and a very enjoyable holiday. Definitely considering a return visit. Very minor issues and all easily addressed, hence the 4 rather than 5 rating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egon_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Egon_Rosie,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed overview of your stay. Our guest’s feedback is truly appreciated in our constant commitment to provide excellence.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service, on the other hand have taken note of our opportunity areas and we will consciously revise all of your remarks.

We would certainly be glad to have you back at our resort, please feel confident to reach us prior your next visit at info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com if you need assistance prior arrival.

We look forward to welcome you back home.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews