We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Ocean with a few bumps............” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #4 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Ocean with a few bumps............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just got back and I have to say that The Vine has great potential. I had not been to Cancun in several years as I have found the Mayan Riviera best suited for me. I normally do a 7 day trip but could only do a 5 day deal this time. My Travel Agent is very good and knows what I like and thought The Vine would fit the bill: Top-shelf liquor, luxury rooms, good food, good service, and a great beach. I paid for an additional upgrade to the preferred club status. This gives you a higher room floor, access to a concierge floor, and access to a private pool and bar on the 12th floor. Let me say that overall I really enjoyed my trip. I did have 2 mishaps that really dampened my overall experience.I feel this is a management issue and do not know if I will ever go back.

We had a great flight and a private shuttle to The Vine. The hotel greeting was great, warm moist towel to clean your hands, a glass of champagne, a brief tour of the resort by your Butler, and on to a fast private check-in. This is where Mishap #1 occurred. We were told at check-in that we could not get a king size bed and had to take 2 queen beds. This was a big deal to me and mine. I was told that not only could I not have a king size bed, there would not be one available for the duration of my stay. With little sleep and traveling all day this set a sour tone right off the bat. I was told that I could get a King bed if I paid to upgrade to a junior suite. I refused and felt like I was being extorted to pay more money for what I feel like I had already paid for in the first place. We took our key to our 2 queen bed on the 24th floor and I began trying to call my travel agent who suggested I contact someone from Sunwing (aka Vacation Express- who the trip was booked through) in the hotel lobby to help me try and reason with the hotel. My travel agent was also calling the hotel and trying to work something out. I was told by the Sunwing rep. that the hotel was right in not guaranteeing me a king bed. All I know is that within about 30 minutes of them telling me there was no way I was getting a king bed that one mysteriously was available on the 21st floor and that they were already in the process of moving my luggage. So, my thought is why not just give me the available room in the first place and not put me through all of this. It felt like I was lied to in order to see if they could get more money from me to pay for a junior suite. I never did get a straight answer on it. It was just magic. The bottom line is, they had a king bed available, they just didn't have one for me. I got over it.....so let's move on to the good.

The property is amazing. Very clean and stylish. If you like to work out on vacation (which I do) they have the best hotel gym I have ever used. The equipment from the treadmills to life fitness weight machines were top of the line. The best part is the whole back wall of the gym is glass and you overlook the pool, beach and ocean while you work out. I thought this was amazing.

The rooms are extremely nice with great showers and comfortable beds. My balcony overlooked the bay on the left ( I guess that is what it was) and the ocean on the right. The only complaint here is that you can hear your neighbors. The balconies are not separated by walls. This can make for some awkward situations.

Food. Breakfast was my favorite as you get custom made omelets and a great selection of juices. My favorite was called "green juice". I still think about it. It did seem the hotel was at or near capacity and the waiting times at dinner seemed long. The waiters were very friendly and tried very hard to please. The food was pretty good overall.

The Coupons - I was all excited to get my $400 in coupons to use at the resort. The only stipulation is that you could not use them all at once. I thought great, no problem, I will use a $100 here and a $100 there.......It was not to be. They are a gimmick and I never used the first one. For example, you purchase a $70 bottle of wine, you can only use a $10 coupon. I was going to splurge one night and buy about a middle of the road $60 bottle of wine with dinner. The wine guy showed up a short time later with a $120 bottle of wine ready to open as they happened to be out of the bottle I ordered........after the room incident.....really? I declined.

The SPA - I was initially really interested in getting a massage as I usually do on vacation. I took a tour of the facilities to check it out. I found the staff to be indifferent and not very friendly. I passed them everyday on the way to the gym and they usually just looked away and did not try to engage in any way. I opted out this time.

Music - There is Spa like music playing most everywhere you go. In the lobby, by the main pools, etc. I found it to be distracting at times. They did have an acoustic guitar player at the pool one day that was fantastic. However, I did not spend much time at the pool as I am a beach/ocean guy. Let me say that I have NEVER seen water so gorgeous and blue as it was at The Vine. They have sugar sand and great service at the beach. I had a blast fighting the awesome waves that were unbelievable. The beach as great as it could be fell way short to me.

First, the hotel is located in a spot right where all the vendors make their entrance. Every 5 minutes your are asked if you want to but cigars, beads, sunglasses, jewelry, etc. you name it. The first 20 times you don't really mind, but after that is becomes ridiculous......and that is no exaggeration. The Hotel does nothing to curtail it. I am all for a guy trying to make a buck but it borders on harassment. This is also where incident number #2 occurred. I made it all week through the bombardment of the vendors and procured a prime front row beach chair with umbrella on my last day at the hotel. I was in bliss......waves crashing.......was all but asleep....when one of the beach attendants seated 2 gentleman about two feet from me. One of the gentlemen began hooking up an elaborate speaker for his I-phone, I-Pod etc. and promptly began playing some techno trash music with a thump-thump bass. I was listening to my music all week as well but I used ear pods to spare others from my rifts. I thought this was incredibly rude and said so to the gentleman. He did turn it down but all I continued to hear was thump thump thump. I listened to this until I could not take it anymore. Rather than take matters into my own hands I went to the hotel employees for help. I asked if it was acceptable to hotel policy for people to play external music at the beach. They told me is was ok to play audible music. The nicer resorts I have been to in the past do not allow this. I only wish I had brought my external speaker for a little battle of the bands. But I did not. I had them move me about 15 feet away to the only other available spot. This only emboldened the gentleman and he turned it up. I believe the hotel should have made the gentlemen use ear buds or turn the music off. I did not drop 3 grand to listen to some rude dude's techno trash music when all I wanted to listen to was ocean waves .............and of course the same guy ask me 50 times ask if I want to buy some cigars.

SO.......This is a very nice hotel overall. There are no grounds to wander.......it is a giant hotel.........If you are a vodka drinker Absolute is as good as it gets unless you upgrade to preferred club.....then you have Kettle and Grey Goose as options. Do not get roped into the whole time share deal or vacation club deal unless you are really interested. I opted out but talked to a Canadian who did the whole spiel and said it took much longer than they said it would and it was a very high pressure thing. He regretted doing it. You are led to believe that for an hour and a half of your time you will get coupons for two free massages......enticing right........it didn't work out that way for him........he got like $40 off or something like that....... I hope this helped.........

Room Tip: I like the higher floors but you have to pay for them with the preferred club. If you have to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Howie39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,064
    1,206
    369
    115
    70
See reviews for
564
5,206
216
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at a secrets resort and after an amazing trip to secrets st james in jamaica we had high expectations, we were not disapointed secrets the vine was easily the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We upgraded to preffered club for only 30 usd per night and it was well worth it the rooftop pool was beautiful, private and the service from the staff was second to none. Pita and Claudia stood out for us they couldn't do enough for us and always made sure we had drinks. I have noticed that people have said anyone could access the 12th floor pool but this is not the case there are locks on the doors that only worked with preffered guests keys. We stayed in room 2619 and it was modern and huge the mini bar was stocked daily with mini rum vodka and whiskey along with pringles chocolate and cokes ect.The only tiny negative i could say was there was no bath in the room but the shower is huge bigger than my bathroom at home and has 2 shower heads amazing! The food was of a very high standard and we tried every restaurant we loved the mexican& the sea salt grill for lunch benjemen the waiter was fantastic. The hotel itself blew us away so modern & total luxury everywhere you go. We never felt any pressure to tip and staff couldnt do enough for you. We will definately be back and are considering a weeks stay in july. Spend the extra money and book secrets the vine it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chamilton26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I had the best time at "Secrets!" Everyone was courteous, polite, and eager to take care of us. Special thanks to Yediera, our V.I.P. rep(I hope I spelled her name correctly), and Memo (Caesar), our Apple Vacations rep. The beach, the pools, the food, the room, all excellent! I have recommended this resort to everyone I know, because of the great time we had.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side may be subject to the loud music from the disco at the top of the resort nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LZMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I visited the Vine for 5 days (way too short) May 12-16th. The ride from the airport is approximatley 20 minutes. Check-in by far was the best and easiest we have ever experienced. We arrived at the resort by 1:00 pm and were greeted with champagne and cold towels. The room was already available. We knew as soon as we ordered our first drink at 2:00pm that this place was going to be good. We ordered top shelf margaritas and they were great! We had lunch at the buffet and knew that the food as well as the drinks were top quality. The pool area is great and the reviews that state not enough shade, chairs and complain about no swim-up bar. I would say there is no pleasing you. We are early pool people, however, we never witnessed anyone unable to get a chair or an umbrella. As I stated we arrived at 1:00 on our first day, had lunch and went down to the pool at 3:00. We had no issue getting a chair. There were plently available. Umbrellas, ask for one. These people will accomodate your needs. The choice of restaurants is fabulous. Dragons was our favorite. The steak house and italian were also great. Sea Salt was an excellent lunch option. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time to try all the choices. We will however make it a point to go back next year. We have visited Cancun and the Riveria Maya approximatley 16 times. The service, food and drinks far exceed any other resort we have visited. The staff can not do enough for you. Always serving up a smile. The rooms are great and the grounds are immaculate. We did have an issue with the air conditioning on the first night. We called maintenance. Literally within 5 minutes someone was in our room checking the problem. We never had another issue. From check in to check out this place exceeded our expectations. My only complaint is we didn't stay longer. Give this place a try. You will love it.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor. The view was great! There were complaints that the Sandos side was nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank budway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Definitely is top resort right now on the Cancun hotel strip. Lots of zen going on there, neutral contemporary decor, of course amazing wine selections, and like the other resorts right on the fabulous Cancun beach. Thought the indoor fireplace was interesting, especially when it was 90 degrees outside. But it added warmth esthetically, not temperature-wise. There's a Preferred Club level where guests can get extra perks during their stay. Big 2 thumbs up overall, fabulous new resort in Cancun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I did a lot of research before booking our trip to Cancun this year and WOW did it really pay off. The reviews for this place were almost all Excellent and after spending the week here I wish there was a rating above Excellent! Everything from the moment we pulled up to the Resort was Perfection. We arrived to an amazing greeting from the Doorman, he had chilled towels ready for us to cool off, took our bags for us and showed us up the stairs where we were met by another Greeter who gave us glasses of Champagne and walked us over to the Reception desk. The check-in experience was great, front desk receptionist answering all of our questions and setting us up with an amazing room. After check-in the Bellman was quick to arrive with our luggage and gave us a tour of the room, took us out on our Amazing Terrace, answered a few questions we had and gave us some recommendations of what we absolutely had to take advantage of during our stay.
We tried every Restaurant during our stay and all were Excellent, the Hostesses, Waiters, Chefs, everything. There is one that had a few problems during our dining experience, an Asian Restaurant called Dragons. The food was good but could have been better and the wait staffed seemed overwhelmed,our poor waiter was one of them; he ran into one of the other waiters and spilled hot tea all over his arm, then didn't clean up the mess well enough and later slipped and fell on his knee, it also took him a long time before he took our order; however towards the end of the dinner he came over to our table and apologized to us for him not being 100% and acknowledged that he did not feel he gave us his best and asked if there was anything he could do to make it better; that really surprised us and recovered the service.
The Entertainment Team here is also truly amazing. They seem to always be around to chat, play games with you and let you know what they have planned throughout the day. They all felt like great friends during our stay.
Housekeeping service was excellent and quick, Isabela was our Housekeeper and made sure our room was cleaned as soon as we walked out the door to go to breakfast!
The Beach Staff was also excellent, Blanca, one of the Waitresses was so friendly and always there to make sure you had a drink or a bite to eat and was forever smiling. There was also always someone around to help you move a chair or get an umbrella for you if you wanted one (we read so many reviews on other hotels that complained about the availability of chairs and umbrellas on the beach if you weren't there first thing in the morning; we never had any problems no matter what time of the day it was to get a seat!)
During our nights we visited all of the bars and had Amazing service at every single one. We had one waiter named Oliver that was always there for us and always remembered us. He always made sure to come say hi when he saw us and ask us how are stay was going. He was great!
So to end this extremely wrong review, I have already begun recommending this Resort to everyone I know and we cannot wait to return and see everyone again! Thank you Secrets :D

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clkit520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

we stayed here as part of our honeymoon, returned last week!! such a fab hotel, will definitely be back! the food and drink are outstanding!! the entertainment team are brilliant, they work so hard, and really do entertain from morning to night!
the rooms are gorgeous, and everything is spotless. the views are fab!
its only 5-10 mins to all the brilliant nightlife, so its perfect!
all the staff are so friendly, the lovely waiter oliver and all the entertainment staff especially magnolia, shes a sweetheart!
don't hesitate when booking, stay at the secrets the vine, you will love it!!!
sinead and Bernard, Dublin, Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benjy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,559 reviews
12.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
3.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing