We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe The Hype”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at The Vine from April 18-25. After hearing our travel agent's testimonial and reading all the great reviews, we were prepared for a great stay. The Vine did not disappoint! The only rough spot was our check-in, which was delayed until 4:00, but management stepped up and made it right. Everything else - GREAT. I won't bore everyone with another repetitive great review, but I will touch on some things that really stood out but sometimes fail to get mentioned.

The Gym - For a resort or hotel of any kind, the gym here is top notch. For all the fitness buffs out there, pack workout clothes - you will want to take advantage of this! The treadmills and ellipticals overlook the beautiful beach. Where else can you get your cardio in while watching the sun rise over the Caribbean? There is a great variety of LifeFitness machines to work all body parts. If you use free weights, they have dumbbells ranging from 5 to 50 pounds. There is an attendant on staff should you need anything, and they will even offer you a bottled water while you're using the cardio equipment - a very nice touch! It does get a little warm in there with the sun coming through the window in the mornings, but no big deal. Just think, you're burning more calories.

Attention to Detail - Whether it's the decor, the styling, or the great service, this resort hits on all cylinders. The entire resort is gorgeous and very, very well-staffed with a friendly hard-working team that does all it can to provide you an immaculate resort for your stay. Whether it's the window cleaners up on their pulley system cleaning the outside glass, or the pool team scrubbing the pool early in the morning, everybody is always hard at work with a smile on their face. As good as the entire team was, one server that really stood out to us was Abundio on the beach. Every day that we sat out on the beach, he never let our drinks get empty and built good rapport with us. It was plenty hot out there on the beach, and he was always hustling to get the job done.

Other highlights:
- All-inclusive 24/7 room service - Grilled grouper and rib-eye steak among the menu choices...awesome.
- Free international calling - very important to us.
- Top-shelf liquor available and drinks weren't watered down - unlike other resorts
- Channel 36 :)

One last thing...bring a considerable amount of tip money and take good care of the people that take such good care of you!

Thanks for a great visit, Secrets! We may try Secrets Maroma next time, but we will definitely return to The Vine in the future!

Room Tip: The higher up you are, obviously the better the view. If you're not staying in Preferred, see if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,841 - 6,847 of 9,045 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just got back from a 10 night trip at Secrets the Vine. I have also traveled to Secrets Silversands and Secrets Maroma. Its hard to pick my favorite but I am leaning towards the Vine!

We had a standard room on the 20th floor and it was great! We did use the resort coupons to upgrade to the honeymoon suite on our last night for only ($85 total) after coupons. I highly suggest asking for a tour of the other rooms towards the end of your stay just to get a look at what is out there. B/c of the upgrade we were also able to use the spa for free for one day which was alone worth the upgrade cost. (normally $59 a person just to get into spa) If you can afford the honeymoon suite for your whole stay, DO IT, otherwise the general room is still amazing (better than Maroma and Silversands)

In my opinion the views/location are what set this hotel apart from the other secrets resorts I have been to. I also loved the modern architecture and decor in and outside the hotel. I never had a bad meal nor did I ever have to wait to eat dinner. Room service was equally amazing-I recommend getting breakfast on your balcony at least once.

A cant miss activity is the tour of the kitchen along with the management cocktail hour. We got to meet so many people associated with the hotel who really cared with how your experience was and how they could get better.

My only negatives were no DVD player in the room and the music by the pool was pretty boring until water aerobics started.

My favorite employees who made my experience memorable were:

Tea/Oliver-Wine Tastings
Neruburto- Sports Bar Bartender
Balam and Bethany-Entertainment Team
Zu-Conceirge
Diego, Freddie, Jesus- Outdoor Bar
Erik- head Chef
Albriel-pool waiter

Thanks to everyone at Secrets the VIne, I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've been to secrets Capri once and silver sands several times and had been very satisfied with the experiences at silver sands that we were curious to see how the vine compared to both. The vine is more hotel like than the other resorts. The rooms featured in web pages do not look like that unless you have the preferred rooms which is similar to time share property so it was deceiving. The hotel rooms, although clean and modern, too modern in fact where it's hard to figure out lighting system. It's either too bright or too dark. When all lights are on, the decor of the room is like being inside a casket due to the white window draping on the walls. Minimal outlets in rooms for you to charge anything. Internet connectivity they say is avail free in room but connection is very weak and slow. You' d still need to go in lobby to get acceptable connection. Food is good, and lots of it. Waiters are accommodating but service can be slow esp at sea salt and breakfast restaurants. Entertainment team is very good! We loved the diva show and the Elvis show!! Please keep bring Elvis back, we loved him when he was at silver sands as well. He was hysterical! the noise from the hotel next door can be overwhelming ! While watching shows at night, it tends to compete with the neighboring concerts from adjacent hotels. The spa has a lot to be desired. Alfredo, who tries to recruit guests to spa services gives inaccurate promises. I requested a deep tissue massage and he said he will arrange for the strongest massage male therapist for me and when I got to the spa, had Patricia who was not a strong therapist. No one was attentive in the spa area in showing you which series of water treatments are available prior to your spa service. The locker room locks have such small numbers that its really hard to see the numbers. Very disappointed with spa experience. Also, when my husband booked our reservation, he was told they offer yoga classes daily. Not true! No yoga instructor for the wk...we won't be back at this resort.. So something new, it was disappointing....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This resort was great in so many ways that many other reviewers have already stated, but I felt it necessary to write one specifically to praise the best member of staff I've met here, Jimmy at the Market Cafe. My fiancee and I came to get married at Secrets, and we were very lucky to be seated in Jimmy's section for our first meal. Immediately, we were greeted with tons of energy, enthusiasm, and courtesy. His service was fast, detailed, and came with a great attitude.

Throughout our one week stay here, every time we dined with Jimmy as our server, we never had to ask for anything. Everything we needed was done automatically, very quickly, and with a smile. If you ever have a special request, you can always ask Jimmy and he will find a way to do it for you. One day we wanted something non-alcoholic to drink that was still interesting and he brought back a "Jimmy Special" which was a great cucumber limeade. Later when we wanted another one of these from the other bars in the resort, they all said they couldn't make it. He simply goes out of his way to get you whatever you may desire. He even had great tips for local clubs, transportation, and shopping. I barely had to speak to the concierge while I was here because I could just ask Jimmy at breakfast every morning.

I came here with a group of 16 for my wedding, and every single member of our party agreed that Jimmy was by far the best server at the hotel, and he is the one member of the staff they will miss the most when they leave Cancun.

Honestly, some of the other servers at this resort could learn something from Jimmy. Eating at the many other restaurants on the property, I found that there were a number of servers who were very slow, forgot to take orders, didn't refill drinks for a long time, or simply didn't have the type of enthusiastic attitude towards customers that Jimmy does. I hope after reading this review, the hotel can ask Jimmy to become a head-waiter or manager so he can train the rest of the serving staff to be as excellent as he is.

Overall this entire resort is excellent, but being served by Jimmy everyday at breakfast definitely made everyone start the day extra happy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChairmanMaoXxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We did not think we could have had an experience of a week of relaxation, great service, food service and quality that was like fine dinning. We returned to the real world on April 28th. This was by far the best all inclusive resort we have been to. The management should be commended on assembling a staff that is attentive, know their responsibilities, know how to treat the guests. I had the opportunity to meet the general manager and discuss the hotel and service with him. He and his staff are on site and visible. Turn down was done when we went to dinner, our floor's concierge(2) knew us and called us by name. The resort, is spotless. If you are planning a vacation to rest and relax, we say go to The Vine. We will go back. The Rest. made us an anniversary cake to our surprise. BMW

Room Tip: If you are picky, south rooms facing the pools are best. There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catsRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, clean, modern, etc. The food is good, better than what I expected but the portions were small as compared with what you'd get on a cruise or at lower-end all-inclusices. I called it the "weight- watcher friendly resort." But they do it so as to not waste food, for which I commend them. I recommend doing the daily wine tastings and the kitchen tour. All the baking, pastries, etc are made on premises. If you're into shots, we learned of a drink called "[--] in the sand." It was delicious despite the name. If you get the room upgrade, you should take full advantage of the 21st floor preferred lounge. The Preferred upgrade also include spa access and 12th floor lounge and pool.

The entertainment staff were fun. Alan is very good at doing the body rolls! hot hot hot!

The staff to guest ratio is wonderful, seems like there are 2 concierge/ butlers for every guest. But they actually would do better with more waiters/ waitresses by the pools and on the beach, it took a while to get drinks. The guests were all very friendly, I think due to the fact that they are put in a good mood by a friendly staff. You're offered a glass of champagne upon check-in. Who wouldn't be in a good mood?

The only con I had with the whole trip was the "VIP" treatment. They have dedicated time-share salesmen who offer to give you discounts, vouchers, etc if you attend a 90 mins breakfast meeting. But in reality it took 2.5 hours away from our precious relaxation time. I loved the resort and would have bought a time-share, but maybe sometime in the future.

I would definitely go back and recommend this resort to friends and family.

Stayed: April 2013
3  Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at The Vine for 5 days in mid-April. You will want for nothing. I'm just going to write what has been written before...it's a great place. The staff is simply wonderful. I truly could not get over the service. They work super hard to ensure guests truly enjoy their vacation. The grounds were being cleaned day and night..i even saw them use a buffer to clean the concrete surrounding the pools. I was on the 20th floor on the hard rock side. I was concerned because other reviews mentioned this side of the hotel could be quite noisy. There were only a few nights when I heard the cover bands blasting away, but it usually ended around 11pm so it really wasn't a big deal. They have a coffee bar with snacks and deserts all day long. It's really a lovely little perk. The entertainment team did a casino night and even brought in a mini-circus. I thought it would be cheesy but we really had fun.

The Market Cafe (breakfast and lunch buffet) was EXCELLENT. The Spa was wonderful, thanks Jackie! I didn't leave the resort except to visit the mall and you can take the bus for $1 straight there. It's touristy but close enough if you need to take a break from the sun.

Some minor cons: I was unable to get internet service in the room but got a strong signal poolside. The Italian restaurant wasn't that good. The flavors weren't there and the menu could use some improvement. But, for an all inclusive the remaining eateries range from very good to excellent.

Room Tip: The "standard room" was perfect, I didn't feel the need to upgrade.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jmet1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,990 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,444 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,697 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $378 - $926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing