We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best of the best...with a detail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best of the best...with a detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel overall is very superior, unbeliable luxury, and superb service, quality of food is far superior many other top 10 resorts...pools are good, no shade or suimup bar...thats a deal breaker for me, got a terrible sunburn in second day. Bottom line, id recommend this hotel if you are looking for te best in luxury and quality, wouldn't be back because no suimup bar or shade area in pool.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slgarza02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,531
    1,115
    333
    105
    65
See reviews for
479
4,784
192
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a great time! The hotel and service was excellent. The food was wonderful and there was a great variety of choices. The staff was very attentive to your every need. Played beach volleyball every day, layed in the sun, water aerobics,floated in the pool, played bingo at the pool, and the frozen drinks helped keep you cool. Had a wonderful time and hope to come back next year. Entertainment staff great. Thanks Balam, Bethany, Miguel, Alfredo,Julien,Victor,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

First impression of hotel was great. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room in VIP floor was nice, but the staff is constantly asking you to go to the "unlimited Vacation Club". They said it was something new and that I should I should at least go to see what was offered.
The Presentation is nowhere near 90 minutes, but they showed me what they offered and it looked very compelling initially. We were going to the signup process when I caught things in the contract that did not match what they were stating. (Company in not in USA, but ran out of Dominican Republic). After further discussion we decided to cancel. (In Mexico all time share contracts have a 5 day cancelation period. IT’S THE LAW), Plus I never even signed the final contract!!!
Well it’s now been a month and we still have our down payment of $5000 on our credit card. (They ran the charge even AFTER we told them to cancel). Going through our credit card company dispute process as we speak.
That is one sure way to ruin a vacation. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
38 Thank NAKAlbino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here April 9th - 16th 2013, without a doubt the most beautiful resort in Cancun. From the moment you walk in you are blown away with the cleanliness, service, amenities, and wonderful staff. We were upgraded to the preferred package which included access to 12th floor pool, butler service, premium alcohol. The view from the rooms is amazing!!!! Our room was facing hard rock and we never had problem with noise. This is a new resort so everything is in pristine condition. They have people cleaning all the time.. Even had people hanging off the sides of the building cleaning exterior windows. The restaurants are top notch.. Food is above any other place we have stayed at and the menu selection is second to none. Our favorite restaurants were Dragons & Olio. We had exceptional service at Dragons by Manuel, he is an amazing guy, super friendly, loves his job, and took care of us really good. Also special mention to Chef Edilberto & Mary Joe at Olio, who went out of there way to take care of us anytime we went to eat there! Also sent us a special dessert just for our anniversary. We also had the pleasure of having a butler, Cesar, who is the main reason we had such a good time at the hotel. If you need anything, he was there. Exceptional service!!!!! I would return to secrets the vine again and again!!! Also had the pleasure of meeting Ivan the food services manager, who always asked how we were and made the extra effort to make sure we were enjoying our stay. I am totally recommending anyone who goes to cancun to stay at The Secrets The Vine!!!!! Jag & Rita B.

Room Tip: Tip the staff that give you good service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JagandRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My boyfriend received a free Mexico getaway through work and I was fortunate to tag along. I thought this was the best FREE trip I had ever had, but it was my ideal hotel. I thought the property was beautiful and I appreciated that it was adults only.

Rooms: The rooms are beautiful and they all have gorgeous balconies. My one compliant was the glass room with the toilet that was semi-opaque in areas....I prefer to have some privacy. I did enjoy the free mini bar with mexican coke...yum! I wish they did have some nuts or chips.

Food: So I am a picky eater and I've never been into all inclusive resorts. This is totally my personal opinion, but in general the food was just "ok." I give the resort credit for having a lot of different dining options, but I have to say that most meals I was really disappointed. Even when I tried to have a simple burger at the pool, the lady at the grill barely cooked the burger that I'm sure was a previously frozen patty). Luckily, since its all inclusive, I discarded the burger in favor of the fajita bar.

Spa: I think the spa was awesome and I enjoyed my experience and massage.

Overall, I had an amazing trip, but if I were to go back to Cancun I would stay at the JW Marriott where I stayed previously because my family collects Marriott points and I don't like all inclusive types.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Banksy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Secrets the Vine is a beautiful resort with an exceptional staff and delicious food. I didn't have one complaint or problem during my 5 day stay. The pools and beach were gorgeous. I want to say that the entertainment team (Julien, Balim, and Alfredo) were great. Alfredo is an excellent DJ and had great music playing all day and night. I am definitely returning next year.

Brooke (Pittsburgh, PA)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bbutler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Secrets the Vine delivered on what I was expecting for a quick get away for a few days to warm up after a long winter. For a quick trip there is no reason to leave the resort, although if we stayed another day or two we may have done some sightseeing elsewhere. The service was spot on more times than not. One draw back was the persistent effort to try to get you to go to their "resort seminars" that I assume was to purchase time shares or some other kind of membership and upgrades to "romatic dinners". Other than that, we were able to really relax for a few days and would consider going back. If not this one, certainly a different Amstar Resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#11 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing