We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back Next Year!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going Back Next Year!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is absolutely the best all inclusive resort we have been to over the last 15 years. We have been to many all inclusives, but the Secrets brand, especially Secrets the Vine has exempletory service with everything one would expect from a 5 star rated Resort. We stayed at the resort for two weeks and had no complaints. The food and beverage were delish, entertainment and accomodations were 5 star with a lot of activities. Just tell them what you want and they will do everything possible to make you happy. The resort itself is gorgeous with a modern ambience. We would like to mention the following people who made our trip over the top:

Joanna and Deyanira at the Front Desk

The Entertainment Team members of Luis aka Panna, Alan, Victor, Jesus, Winnie Pooh, Bethany, and Ceasar

Alex and Gabriel at the Water Sports

Francisco Manager at the Nebbiolo Restaurant

Wilburt, Jorge, Lino at Oleo the Restaurant

Zu in the Internet Dept

We will definetly see you guys next year!!! Frank and Mae

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaceTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,371
    1,250
    392
    118
    72
See reviews for
595
5,450
225
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This resort is truly 5 star. We have stayed at many all inclusives in the DR, Bahamas, and Mexico. We have three sons, age 24, 22 and 20 and all 5 of us were wowed by the Secrets The Vine and exceeded all our expectations. The decor is modern and fresh. The rooms spacious - the floors are gorgeous! Loved not having to be tied down to reservations at the restaurants and despite almost full occupancy by the end of our stay we never waited for more than 15 minutes. The food was fantastic, caters to Americans which we prefer. The only restaurant that needs a little guidance is Bluewater Grille. The menu was excellent but the chef literally charred and over cooked all 5 of our dinners. The ingredients were great so just needs a little training on not over cooking food. The food at the breakfast buffet was fantastic, also the food at the Italian restaurant Nebbiolo was beautifully prepared and delicious. A huge treat was the international buffet by the pool on Saturday night. Not well attended but wonderful grilled lobster, shrimp, steak and chicken with great music. The entertainment was fun and tasteful throughout the week. The service is beyond impeccable and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating. I can't say enough about how great the staff were. Daniel at Sea Salt, Perla, Alberto - all wonderful! The pools are gorgeous and the best part is that they are heated! The Chefs come out poolside daily in a wonderful extravaganza and deliver food from the restaurants to people at the beach and by the pool. The drinks were great, top shelf liquor. The spa was lovely and the massage I had was great. The hotel is very generous with towels pool and beachside and leave piles on the beach so you don't have to hunt down extras.
I have one small suggestion which is to put up a few bigger umbrella/shade structures for families who like a combination of sun and shade. We were part of the preferred club and enjoyed having that last bit of sunshine at the private pool on the 12th floor. Thank you for making our Christmas holiday warm, inviting, special and luxurious.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 22nd floor and had the afternoon sunshine which helps since the other hotels block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gralda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We travelled in December for 1 week, we'd booked the trip in September a little nervous as the hotel had only opened a few months before. We then watched all the  negavite reviews on Trip advisor, so much so I wanted to cancel, after a 11 hour flight from the UK I wanted perfection, I am SO SO glad we stayed with the booking as the hotel is absolutely fantastic!

The hotel do seem to have addressed many of the issues that previously featured on this site, the noise was my biggest concern and have to say the poolside was no noisier than any other 5 star hotel I have visited, busier and noisier at the weekend but you do expect that. 

I have visited Cancun twice before and stayed in The Royal, the two do not compare - everything from the rooms, food and service is better at The Vine - I like good food and whilst the menu at The Royal looked fantastic what you were served didn't resemble the dish - The Vine offers a fantastic menu, great service and beautifully presented food in the different restaurants they offer. There are no reservations so of course if the hotel is full and you want to eat at the popular times you may have to wait, we didn't have to wait but then again we ate early. One thing I hope the hotel do is change the menus seasonally, The Royal offered the exact same menu on both trips -even McDonalds offer different dishes so fingers crossed The Vine do keep the menus interesting!

The hotel offer wifi, it could sometimes be hit and miss I the room but was always good in the public areas and even on the beach ! The also have a fantastic App to download - I'd recommend anyone who is even thinking of booking a trip here to download it, you can see the activities and restaurant menus in advance, when you are there you can use the App to contact the hotel and even order room service, all from the comfort of the beach, could do with an iPad version of the App rather than just iPhone ( just a thought?)

I have travelled to many top rated 5 star hotels around the world and always felt that there is a difference between  5 star all inclusive hotels, the standards of the all inclusive are always lacking that 'something' that makes them that bit special - The Vine have put so much thought into every aspect of the hotel it truly is up there with any 5 star hotel I have stayed in. I hope to be back next year and hope they keep up the good work and keep the quality and standards so high.

Room Tip: I stayed in a preferred room these are higher rooms and you will therefore not be overlooked by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jobygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, E-Concierge at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear jobygirl,

Please receive warm greetings from Secrets The Vine Cancún Management and staff, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the food and menu selection; we thank you for noticing that we are constantly monitoring our Media Sites we are always looking for our guest’s satisfaction.

It is a common practice at Secrets Resorts & Spa’s to constantly create delicacies to add to the menus, we look forward to your next visit as you will find there are new courses on our menus.

We regret to know that you have not found our Wi-Fi services to be excellent, although Wi-Fi services might fail due weather us will report this to our supplier.

We are overjoyed to know we will be able to host you again, please don’t hesitate to contact us for any arrangements you need to make prior to your arrival.

Best regards from your home in México,

Zuleica Ávila
Secrets The Vine Cancún|
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I are in our 60s, and have enjoyed December trips to Mexico for many years. This year we went to a brand new hotel, Secrets the Vine. We were on the Preferred level.

The service was first-rate, and the facilities were clean and comfortable. The big surprise for us was the food. Most all-inclusives we have been to have had bland food; not Secrets the Vine! The food here is as good as you will find in Cancun and far better than most restaurants.

Some reviews we read complained about the music at the pool. We did not find this a problem at all. Some have complained about the lounges by the pool being in the sun. We found the attendants at the very helpful in providing umbrellas.

We feel that Secrets the Vine was not only a great place to vacation, but also a great value for what we got. We are looking forward to going back and would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: We felt the Preferred rooms were worth the extra money; but I don't think you will be disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed 8-18 Dec as a couple, in a preferred club room floor 24, got a great deal through Travelzoo. Hotel, overall, is outstanding. Everything is new & modern. Design is well thought out with spacious lobby and bar + cafe areas on ground floors. 3 pools in main area which is also wher the entertainment happens, separate pool on restuarant level for preferred club members.

Room = Excellent, huge room & bed, shower with both horizontal & vertical streams, two basins, large balcony, although not that private to neighbours obscured glazed glass would have been better. Views were excellent - ocean to our left, lagoon to the right. We were I estimate 14-15 floors up despite being on floor '24' - lobby goes to '12' (restaurant level) which is only 2-3 floors up, then omits floor 13 and starts again at 14.

Best bits:

Breakfast buffet is impressive, I ate a lot. Large vaiety of cooked food, fruits, youghat, juices you name it they had it.

Floor 21 (I think only for preferred club) has a private bar (until 9pm) and sort of coffee lounge - fresh food brought out regularly and a self service Nespresso machine. This was a very good feature and we used it daily. Treats and Nespresso coffee, what's not to like!

24 hour room service and mini bar also included and refilled daily.

Personal butler due to being on a preferred club floor, sat there all day for anything you needed. We didn't want for anything, makes me wonder what other people ask for!

Overall, staff were outstandingly friendly and attentive at restaurants; 6 al la carte restuarants (Bluehouse steak grill, Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican, Seafood, & Asian were all excellent with a good range of menu options. Loved the chefs which came out to the pool at 1pm each day with freshly made mini burgers, tacos + much more - a very nice touch.

Drinks were excellent all premium range spirits (JB, Johnnie Black, Absolut, Jack D, Baileys etc) and beers (Sol, Corona, bud etc) and cocktails were well made.

When we tipped for drinks, the staff were friendly and excellent, when we didn't tip, they were still friendly and excellent. Always tipped at restaurants as they were just so nice they deserved it.

Re wine at meals: It is expensive but once we said no they didn't ask again so that was fine. Plus the house wine was actually still pretty good.

Room Service: Used once each for breakfast & dinner. Was pretty tasty and plentiful. The table and platters they bring it up on is impressive - you'll take a photo!

Staff: There were just staff everywhere, always saying hello and always willing to help. Made a very nice change from European and UK hotels. Even reception had 4-5 people on, and fresh apples and cookies you could have whenever you wanted.

On the Sat night they created an elaborate set up of tables and food at the pool area and had an international buffet, great food followed by 'duelling pianos' and a band. Pretty good just for a random extra. Poorly attended which was a shame as food again was excellent (including pork on a spit for tacos you made yourself) but I think most people saw it and thought it was a private function such as a wedding.

Normally would spend 3-4 days out doing excursions/exploring etc on a 10 day trip but this hotel was so good spent 8 days there. Lot's to do between watching the entertainment, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, Spanish lessons in the pool etc + a shopping and club area and easy local bus up the road. 10 days passed very quickly.

Very slight negatives:
Cleaners could be a little noisy in the morning, but we were in a room near lift lobby entrance.
Spa was lovely but very expensive. Would not have used due to excessive cost if had not had US$200 vouchers to use.

We attended the morning thing where they try to sell you the hotel chain membership. It was a bit painfull but after saying No 6-7 times, we left with our $200 spa voucher. The American woman is particularly agressive. Don't attend if you don't want to. We did it for the $200 spa credit the 50 min massage we each had was priced at $129 so effectively paid $29 each for a 50 min massage so made it work for us.

Overall: Excellent hotel, great staff, proper 5 star.

Would I go back? Yes, definately if I could get the same priced deal. Looking at nightly prices on reception don't think could afford to pay full price!

Room Tip: A room down the end of the hall ie away from the lift lobby will be quieter in the am. Also, preferr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DaveC127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore, Middlesex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent 10 wonderful days at this hotel and it was fantastic. We managed to get an amazing offer from Travelzoo to be honest it sounded too good to be true, but in reality it was better than we hoped. The room, service, food cannot be faulted. The only negative thing was when we arrived. We had just had a 10 hour flight and all we wanted to do was get a drink go to our room have a shower and a little rest. We were shown around the hotel immediately on arrival, then we were taken to our check in (part of our deal was that we had preferred club) so we checked in on a separate floor. We were there for about half an hour at least going through everything something we could have really done without at that time. However it didn't spoil our holiday and would recommend this hotel to anyone and would we go again? Definitely!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Norsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We are on evening 3 of an 11 night stay.
Positives: the management watches the forums and responds, which is nice to know. All pools are now heated to a glorious temp, including the Preferred club pool. Depth is 4'6" throughout with steps for all but the Preferred club pool. Great depth, even for me at 5'2"!!!Music is toned down, very pleasant level and good music, neither deep techno nor Muzak! The staff are very pleasant and attentive and eager to please. No "towel game" here. Drinks are plentiful. A little "chemical" tasting but premium liquor and included wines are drinkable. The preferred lounge has a telescope. Nice touch!! The rooms are exceptional. Gilbert and Soames products, including sunscreen. Breakfast is great. Restaurants require no reservations which is very very good. Beach is amazing to walk along and great waves to jump! Buses outside the door to go to shopping (about 60 cents).

Negatives - lack of outlets in public areas and poorly placed in room.
Wifi is old and slow - disappointing in a brand new hotel with a supercool chic vibe. My new ipad mini will only connect in the business centre. Our older ipad and iPhone work, but connection is very slow everywhere.
Exorbitant price of non-included wines. Constant pressure to spend more - spa, extra. New Year's Eve - extra. Either a $100-500 package with dinner and show (or $670 with a bottle of Opus One) or buy a bottle of wine for at least $100 and you can reserve a table in one of the restaurants. Otherwise you take your chances. No buffet that night. No guarantee of food without spending $100 as far as I can tell! Waiters are not quite surly, but close, if you don't order extra wine. They ran out of the decent wine under $50 already!!!

This is such a shame. The place could be outstanding. It has all it needs to be great. If they stop the cash grab it will be outstanding. Otherwise, I'm not sure I'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Lindaw143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsTheVine, E-Concierge at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Lindaw143,

On behalf of Secrets the Vine Cancún Management and Staff we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also taking the time during your stay to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We are overjoyed to read you have noticed we are constantly monitoring our Media Sites, we are also glad to read you have enjoyed the Preferred facilities and amenities, however we regret to read we do not completely fulfill your expectations and the impression that you had from us in regards of New Year’s eve.


We would like to address your review in person, please don’t hesitate to contact us at your convenience at the extension 3254 where I’m at your service from 9am to 5pm.

Our guests are our priority and your comments are very valuable for us in our constant commitment to improve.

We look forward to hear from you.

Sincerely yours,

Zuleica Ávila
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Secrets The Vine Cancún
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,922 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
12.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing