We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational. Easily worth its five stars for the top end accommodation, restaurants, atmosphere, and staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #4 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sensational. Easily worth its five stars for the top end accommodation, restaurants, atmosphere, and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you were to take a clean slate and design a top end state of the art all inclusive resort hotel it would probably look a lot like Secrets the Vine Cancun. The hotel incorporates some of the most modern design features I have seen and everything just seems to work really well. The lighting was a particular favourite, with a good balance of ambience coupled with colour. Nowhere else is this more apparent than at the entrance to the room where the room number is backlight to glow as a hole in the side panel. A nice touch.

The lighting theme continues inside the room, with multiple settings for separate zones and moods. This took some getting used to but worked well. In fact the room was a technological showpiece which included a quality iPod dock and an oversized 40 international channel plasma to play with. But my favourite part must have been the wet room housing two separate showers, complete with complimentary Gilchrist and Soames tolietries, to be followed by the softest towels and bathrobes imaginable. Make no mistake that top end accommodation extends to all aspects of life at Secrets.

Nowhere is this more evident than with the food and drink offerings. Breakfast for me was comparable with just about every other buffet out there. But to be given the same great table seven out of ten times was a new experience, although I'm not sure if this was luck or good management.

But the food fun really gets going at 1pm with the daily parade of the chefs around the pool area who deliver a very wide selection of canapés directly to your sunbed. Great canapés too. Think sushi, beef burrito, taco, shrimp etc etc. It's really a chance to tempt you into a restaurant later that evening. But before you do, lunch can be taken from a buffet or cooked to order burgers and hot dogs at the pool, or a sandwich or bagel from the coffee bar inside. Some days there were even specials on the beach which included incredibly authentic fajitas. Absolutely sensational.

Great food was always available whenever we wanted it. And the offering just got better at night with half a dozen memorable restaurants to choose from. Our favourite had to be the blue water grill steakhouse which served up the tastiest T-bone I can remember. The steak filled the plate and was cooked to perfection in the way that might shame many so called premium steak houses. On the last night I just couldn't decide between this and the rib-eye so ordered both. Out of sheer greed I finished them both and didn't regret it for a second!

So lets think about the drinks. Again, these were plentiful and always served with a cheerful smile whenever and wherever you wanted them, be that around the pool, at one of the many bars, or with dinner. The wine cellar was impressive and you can even take part in tasting, although the prices seemed ambitious particularly when the house red - either a Chilean or Mexican Cabernet Sauvignon - proved the perfect accompaniment for the steaks. I'll be stocking up with this at home.

The hotel has some other great features too. Admittedly not a deal breaker, but the taps in the communal toilet facilities were a favourite. A quick wave of your hand in front of them and water cascades down before you use a tightly rolled real towel. I like that.

The entrance area has a good amount of chairs and sofas for relaxing on with a selection of board games to play, which struck me as a good rainy day (or sunburn day) activity. One feature of the lobby is a huge real fireplace. It was fun to look at, but hardly a requirement in the heat, so it's always great to know the architect had a sense of humour.

But a hotel is just a building without the staff and thankfully the team at Secrets are easily up to the job and seem to go out of their way to make sure you are having a great time. Of particular note was the entertainment team who tirelessly and seamlessly take you from Spanish lessons, through water aerobics, dance lessons, beach volleyball, Mexican bingo, guessing games, horseshoes, and then on to karaoke before going to a club. A special thank you to Victor (who could easily be mistaken for Obama), Winnie Pooh (yes, that really is his name), Alan (he dances at any opportunity), Beth and Sandy. This team want you to have fun, and they succeeded with us and then some. But if you want to be left alone that's ok too.

Entertainment is generally first rate at Secrets. Several times during our stay there were live performances at the pool, and once there was even a stage set up on the beach. It's such a nice touch to have a really good show during the day. The night time shows were good too, and whilst the Cirque de Soleil inspired acts are not really my thing, comedy Elvis and the ten piece Mariarchi band more than made up for it.

If you have enough energy you can continue at the sports bar or piano bar, or take the club option. We tended to prefer to the sports bar which showed mainly American sports to a mainly American audience and in so doing generated quite an atmosphere.

Some complained that music round the pool was too loud and intrusive. I disagree. I loved it, and the selection was perfect. I even used an app to identify the tunes for downloading later on. The pools themselves were good with plenty of beds for all those that needed them most days. There was only one day when it was a bit of a struggle, but that coincided with the hotel being full, so to be expected I suppose. Beach towels were always available.

The hotel formula must have worked as I have never known any resort where the other guests were so approachable and easy going. It really was a case of holidaying with a few hundred friends you had not met yet. In fact, my favourite photo was not one of us on the beach with the white sand and crystal blue water in the background, but it was a photo of us with three other couples over dinner on our last night. The eight of us were all from different parts of the world, we all had different lives, and we only met around the pool within the past few days, but for that one evening it was the best most relaxed overseas dinner ever. They say that life is a collection of moments and that was certainly one of them.

Nowhere is without its annoyances and there were a few "niggles" during our visit. Upon arrival we were given a $200 resort credit. Drilling down to the terms this wasn't a credit at all but the total value of coupons for use against wine in the restaurants and for spa treatments. I'm sure the spa was great, but it seemed expensive compared to others I have seen, which probably explains why the spa man had to work so hard to get you to use it. He was extremely persistent and he would turn up with his massage chair to greet you out of the lift in the morning and around the pool pretty much all day. Quite why he needed a CIA style curly cable earpiece tucked into his shirt I will never know. Perhaps he was a secret operative but he never gave up. I began to wish he would just take a break and stay in the spa but to no avail. Pity.

This is a seriously impressive place to take a holiday and my wife and I have just enjoyed ten incredible days there. We loved the overall experience and are even talking about returning some day soon. As a new resort we can only hope that its current efforts to ensure guest satisfaction stand the test of time, but for now I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: We heard complaints that the rooms facing the Hard Rock hotel were noisy due to the outdoor restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PanamaEd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,078
    1,206
    369
    115
    70
See reviews for
565
5,215
217
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

There is a reason they are breaking into the top ten already after two months of being open an its a lot to do with the service of there wonderful staff !!! of course the gorgeous facility, comfortable beds, torquoise ocean an quality of food, drinks, entertainment-shows certainly play a large part. We just returned from a fabulous 7 day vacation certainly one of the top ones we had, so nice to stay in an AI. I have always heard of Cancun associated with spring break, an really never bothered to do any research on the area and am so glad we did, we would come back to Cancun an the Vine tomorrow if we could. There were a few minor issues while we were there, an for the most part they are well known from the reviews, I have addressed them on the survey they sent via email after our stay an have no doubts that they will do everything in there power to get them resolved the best that they can.

Room Tip: I would select Hard Rock side as close to the ocean as possible on the Hard Rock side you do get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Secrets The Vine Resort from oct 11-18 for our first wedding anniversary. The resort building itself is genius! Modern luxury combined with breathtaking views of the ocean and the hotel's 4 huge pools. We booked the Preferred Club package so we were granted access to the 4th pool on the private preferred club lounge on the 12th floor. The stuff was beyonddd helpful, welcoming and friendly, all the way from the bellboy to the managers. The main pool area with the beach was loaded with nice activities throughout the whole day and our favorites were the night time entertainment shows that took place everyday around 9:00p.m. The hotel has 3 indoor restaurants and about 3 outdoor restaurants. The food quality was AMAZZZING! Loved every single restaurant we ate at! Endless bars with premium drinks throughout the resort. We had plans to visit multiple places in Cancun and we ended up spending the entire week at the resort and loved every second of it! We also booked the romantic dinner on the beach and that was a dream come true experience for us..excellent food quality with beautiful view of the ocean in a nicely decorated gazebo Just for us. Special thanks goes to our beautiful concierge Musmie and Arturu, Olio's best waiter Jose, and the entertainment guy Victor for making our stay extra special with their wonderful personalities! We got the chance to be there during the Hotel Grand Opening Party and that was so much fun too! Loved the Elvis show, Casino night, circus show, the fire show, and the opera show was our favorite! Our room was on the 26th floor and we had an amazing view and loved the balcony settings! we had a surprise romantic breakfast on our balcony planned for our anniversary day and that was so thoughtful from the staff too! We definitely would LOVE to go back very soon God Willing and can't wait to see all the friendly staff again!! :)

Room Tip: Preferred Club Rooms because they're on the higher end of the resort with excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ZRS_2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We took a chance by booking this resort before it opened, but we are glad that we did. First of all, it is in excellent location...approx halfway into the hotel zone. We booked an upgraded Preferred suite and it came with a:
-assigned butler in addition to the maid
-free long distance calls to the USA. And Canada
-free shoe shines
-free clothes pressing
-free mini bar in-room with liquor and snacks
-free wifi
-private 12th floor inifiniti pool with personal chef
-etc

Other positives...we swear other all-inclusives water down the liquor. Not here and it is Premium liquor...100 % agave, Gray Goose, etc

Food is exceptional, lots of variety...7 restaurants.

SERVICE...SERVICE...SERVICE..IT IS FANTASTIC

Also,very good sandy beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Secrets has outdone themselves with their new resort. My husband and I were there the week of October 13th. Beautiful hotel, awesome food and service. We wish they had a little more in the nightlife area, but were told they are working on it. You can always go into town for dancing. We enjoyed all three pools and the beach. You always had staff making sure you had a place to sit and a drink in your hand. The wifi is horrible. Hopefully they will work on that as well. We renewed our vows on the beach during our stay. Yamina, the wedding planner was great! She made the day special.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julzz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

First of all, the building itself will blow you away. Secrets The Vine was clean, modern, and loaded with the most welcoming, friendly staff you can imagine. You'll be greeted at the door with champagne and someone to give you a tour of the facility, while your bags are whisked up to your room...which brings me to the room. Our room was on the 25th floor, so it had a perfect view of the entire Cancun strip, the Caribbean Sea and the lagoon on the other side. The room itself was sprawling, with an 8x4 shower and beautiful woodwork. By far our favorite part about this hotel was the accommodating staff. Our favorite staff member was Arturo, who was the pool manager one day and our floor's butler the next. The staff in general are very smart, funny, and fun to be around. I would stay at this resort again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elsie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Absolutely wonderful! Service was world class, food and drinks-excellent,spa was wonderful, entertainment-something for everyone, atmosphere and decor was well planned and wonderfully executed. This could easily be an annual vacation spot for me. I went with a great friend and had a wonderful time but this is the ideal place for couples. My only criticism would be that wifi connection rarely worked in my room and staff responded quickly but ddnt have a clue how to repair connection. Worked great in main areas and outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbuglcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,571 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,566 reviews
12.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
3.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing