We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time Share Resort”
Review of Coral Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Mar
Ranked #76 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Time Share Resort”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have been members of World International Vacation Club for 20 years. This is our 4 or 5 time here. We love it, but there are some caveats to be aware of. As stated there are no elevators. There are many exchanges made at this facility and no special preference to the members, so make sure you request your building and unit when you make your reservations. It is about 1 1/2 miles to the main street so not so comfortable for people that have difficulty walking. Cabs end up being quite expensive, minimum of $5. We will continue coming here. The office staff is excellent and the new Linda May restaurant I very nice. The air conditions are quite loud and split units will replace them someday I am sure.

Room Tip: Building 3 has great views and is close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank professoradams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    93
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
54
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I don't know about you but I like a quieter, smaller, friendlier resort where I can get good, reasonably priced food (and lots of Mexican options) at the resort restaurant and I don't have to fight around the pool for a lounge chair and the drinks at the bar are affordable (although there is not a lot of options) but if I DO want a night of craziness I'm not far from it....this is the place. The maid service was the best ever, the units have well stocked kitchens and there is a pool table in the bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just got back from Mexico and I couldn't wait to write my first review of any hotel. We vacationed with our two college age kids at Coral Mar, Pok-ta-pok in Cancun.

We had a comfortable 2 bedroom with fully equipped kitchen including a non stick pan. We had a middle floor unit. The maid cleaned our apartment each day (even Christmas day). She mopped the floors each day. We appreciated that as we seemed to haul sand all the time into the apartment. We cooked our breakfast each morning and having the kitchen was very convenient. There was a closeby mini mart that we frequented for ice cream. There was an ATM at Laguna Suites in Pok-ta-pok which dispensed US dollars.

We enjoyed the restaurant with a varied menu. Everything tasted home-cooked. We loved the shrimp ceviche and the stuffed pablano pepper with shrimp. You could order anything of the menu all day until 10pm. It was like eating in a traditional hut overlooking the water with a breeze and watching the palm trees. They had a nice flat screen TV and a bar and a billiards table.

Our family did a lot of diving in the area. The resort was a perfect place to come back to to unwind. We enjoyed the hotel zone but appreciated the quietness of Coral Mar and the pool area with great views of the lagoon. We lay on the lawn chairs and read books. Plenty of shade and sun alike. We used the beach towels provided by the resort every day and took them with us to all our excursions.

The front desk was very helpful. She made reservation for us at a restaurant in downtown Cancun as we were less familiar with it. We took in a lot of culture in downtown Cancun (not the Hotel Zone). And this was a great start for us. We came back on our own 3 more days. We appreciated exploring the local culture and people and food.

Important to note that this resort is on the lagoon and not the beach. I highly recommend a rental car. We spent US $650 for car rental/insurance/gas for our week at Christmas. We drove to Playa Del Carmen, Puerto Juarez (ferry to Isla Mujeres) and downtown Cancun to restaurants and Walmart. Between 4 of us it was worth it. Driving around was not an issue. It was similar to any big city. We learned that we can park by the pubic beach accesses. You may have to drive a second time around to find parking.

This was our second time in Mexico and our second time at Coral Mar. We actually chose to come back to this resort because we had a very pleasant experience the first time.

While planning our trip, we asked our kids if they would rather be on a beach in a smaller unit sleeping on the couch or stay at Coral Mar, they picked Coral Mar. If beach is the only thing you want to do, don't stay at Coral Mar. If you are seeking relaxing and comfort and quiet to de-stress Coral Mar on Pok-ta-pok is the perfect place to be in Cancun. Downtown Cancun and Hotel Zone were both noisy. Pok-ta-pok was a quiet community in between the two.

Room Tip: Higher room gives a better view. First floor rooms have private patio. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rainu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a wonderful small resort away from all the big, all-inclusive scene. Located on the lagoon, the view is beautiful, especially at night when we could see the lights of the large resorts. The pool is relaxing, with ample lounge chairs around it. The restaurant is outstanding--the food is wonderful and the bartender makes an assortment of delicious drinks (although gin isn't stocked there). Prices are very reasonable, and there is a full-time happy hour on cocktails. It's also a great way to meet the other guests who are staying there.
Our 2-bedroom apartment was comfortable and well-equipped. There was daily maid service that kept our unit clean, and the staff kept the entire grounds pristine.
The resort provides an assortment of outings to the major sites around the area at a competitive price. The guide/bus driver is excellent at telling us about the culture and history of the area and steering us to good restaurants and interesting and fun things to do. The dual-language staff will also gladly make reservations at restaurants in the area for you if you aren't confident about your Spanish.
You can walk to a small convenience store for some groceries although you'll want to drive or taxi to a larger store for more supplies.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have travelled Mexico every year since 1993 and own several timeshares. We are still here at Coral Mar for our second week enjoying a large 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen here with our daughter and son in law
Very professional staff, excellent maid service, great small bar/restaurant and pool.
We are travelers who like independence and Coral Mar exceeded our expectations. Did I mention the beds... Slept like a happy baby.
Go to Isla Mujeres from Playa Tortuga nearby (ask the front desk how to do). Cancun City is rather chaotic. Hotel zone lame but fun to take the bus around. Easy and cheap.

Thanks Coral Mar

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kodiakbear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found ourselves here on a special deal we received associated from our time share (interval international). Overall the property is super clean with tasteful décor in the rooms and friendly-hardworking staff. We especially enjoyed one of their bartenders Martin, his bright and friendly attitude makes your stay enjoyable and he works very hard to any request you might have.
The property layout is pretty straight forward with each building unit having 3 floors...the higher you are, the better view you will have of the lagoon. The interior of each unit is very nice with Ac in each bedroom and another for the main living/kitchen area. Local polished coral/stone like tile throughout...very nice.
So - let me be specific with the type of traveler Coral Mar will work well for. If you are looking for something away from the fast pace and attractions of the Hotel strip this may be perfect for you. Coral Mar is at the very end of Pok-ta-Pok road and isn't close to anything within walking distance. So if you either have a rental car or if you're strictly the type that stays on the resort intending to do nothing but downtime by the pool than this will be perfect resort for you. Or...if you just want to take a couple of their tours they offer that could work too. We're the type that is always on the run so a rental car worked well for us while having a quiet home base to return to.
All in all...a nice place but again...if you're used to the strip and that's what you came to Cancun for than this area might fall short for your expectations. However...a great place if you're looking for something with a slower pace away from the noise.

Room Tip: Unit 5 (room 54) had a great, unobstructed view of the lagoon and was close to the pool and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caribtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second visit here, and we had an equally great vacation as we did the last time we came.
The resort is on the other side of the Nichupte lagoon, opposite the Hotel Zone.It is in a quiet, peaceful area away from the razzamatazz of the 'Strip', which suits us more mature travellers admirably.
If you want to go to the main area, there are always taxis outside the resort, but always ask what the fare is before you get in.
Our appartment was on the top floor of block 1, which had a great view. There is no lift, but the steps up kept us fit.
The appartment was comfortable and well equipped for our stay. The air-con was excellent.
We generally self-catered, but we did use the on-site bar and restaurant several times, where we found the food and drinks to be excellent and good value.Cocktails were 2 for 1 all day and were
very good. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
The gardens, pool and 'beach' areas were well kept and there was nearly always someone tending the lawns, shrubs etc.
The reception staff and the travel office staff (Coox Ximba ) were always helpful and obliging.
The only thing that upset us somewhat was that my daughter was taken ill during the Friday night of our last day there, and the Saturday morning when we were due to leave. We asked for an extended check-out to ease my daughters situation, but were told we had to be out by 10 am.We did stay unofficially for a short time, but the duty receptionist insisted we vacated the appartment, even though many people checked out that day, and our appartment cleaning could have been delayed, while the others could have been serviced first. We just felt that a little more sympathy could have been expressed.
Overall, we had another wonderful vacation at Coral Mar, and hope to return for a third visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jimboj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Royal Lagoon
Grand Royal Lagoon
#119 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Hotel+Rent Aparment
1.8 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#67 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel Boutique
0.9 mi away
La Villa du Golf a Cancun
0.7 mi away
Hipstel Youth Hostel
Hipstel Youth Hostel
#51 of 127 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Mar

Property: Coral Mar
Address: Pok-Ta-Pok Avenue, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Cancun
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Coral Mar Hotel Cancun
Coral Mar Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing