We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon at Sandos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
Ranked #27 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I am a little late in writing this review. My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in mid-October for our honeymoon. We wanted something that would be a short trip from TX, and since we tend to be pretty quiet people , we settled on Sandos Cancun after reading hundreds of Trip Advisor reviews of hotels/resorts in the area.

We booked transportation from/to the airport through Sandos, and it was an easy process. The round-trip cost of the transportation was added to our final hotel bill.

Check-in went smoothly, but we were not offered a free honeymooners' upgrade as promised, even after we showed our marriage license. I'm not sure what happened there but we didn't really mind.

Upon check-in we were given a brief introduction to the time share presentation, which they encouraged us to attend the next morning. We had to give a stern 'not interested' a few times before the concierge let us go on to our room, but after that nobody bothered us about the time share the rest of the trip.

The rooms were clean and well appointed, but FREEZING COLD, even when we turned the AC up as high as it would go. We could never get it to turn off completely, so often left our balcony door open to get some warmth in the room. Each day the room's mini bar was restocked with M&Ms, beer and soda.

The pools were beautiful and looked out over the beach. The weather in mid-October was PERFECT. I know that is typically considered low season, but we had 5 cloudless days with nothing but sun and 85-90 degree F weather. The other reviewers were right about Secrets the Vine casting an afternoon shadow over the pool, but we didn't mind that since by then it was usually time for us to take a beach walk or head up to our room for a cat nap. The hours of 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. had great sun, and that was enough for us.

I can't say enough good things about the food...! The breakfast buffet at Zangos was huge and had a large selection of hot and cold foods, cereals, fresh fruits, juices, oatmeal, yogurt, breads and pastries (inc.my personal favorite item, smoked salmon!!!).

We ate most of our lunches at the pool restaurant. We ordered the ceviche daily, which had shrimp, crab, scallops, and squid and octopus. It was some of the freshest I have ever had. The pizzas were good too. We loved the shrimp soup and ate it several times during the trip, despite it being so warm outside. The rest of the pool menu included salads, burgers, chicken fingers, fries, etc. I can't speak for the mixed drinks outside, as I mainly stuck to white wine and beer. The bloody marys were better than average, though.

Gaijin was okay, just your typical hibachi restaurant. The chef did all the usual tricks. I am glad we went once, but since the menu doesn't change it didn't seem worth it to go another night.
Season's was good - very inventive. We went two nights in a row, which happened to be the only two nights it was open during our whole 5-night stay. Try the duck! It was cooked perfectly. Seasons was the only time during our stay where we purchased a bottle of wine. It was very reasonably priced at $40USD. There were several bottles less expensive, and many more expensive. It was good, but in retrospect we should have just stuck with the merlot/cab blend house wine and saved the money.

Zango's had a changing menu each night, and we never had anything we didn't like.
The lounge was a nice place to sit and have a drink before dinner, but they had limited cocktail options. I hope by now they have stocked the bar with olives! I ordered martinis every night, and they never had any dang olives...

We took a peek around the spa but found the prices to be a bit high for us, which is to be expected at a resort. It was a truly beautiful spa, though. We would have opted for the "wet areas" package if they had allowed men and women to go in together.

I am starting to get lengthy here, so I will wrap it up. In sum, the hotel is beautiful, but like others have said there is not much to do. They have some afternoon activities like sand volleyball or water aerobics, but we saw little participation. In the evenings they would have a small activity set up, but again, little participation. This was generally fine for us as we like to go to bed early, but I could see this being a problem for others. Service was great, food was great. LOVED the quietness, which was great for couples and singles, but I would NOT consider this a family place. Finally, the whole trip was reasonably priced, a great value, and WE WILL BE BACK in summer 2014 :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view/ocean view. The other side of the hotel faces a parking lot/bay view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hayleyhibbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,790 - 1,796 of 4,368 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Sandos resort is on the beach and beautiful. Our suite was on the 8th floor and from the balcony we could see the Caribbean to the right and the lagoon and city on the left. The service and food were superior. We were hesitant to stay in an all inclusive because we like variety. Sandos has great variety in the restaurants. The breakfast buffet has everything fresh that anyone could ever want, and it is served beautifully. Lunch was always on the beach and fantastic--along with the drinks. Dinner was different every night with three restaurants to choose from. We liked not having to hunt for a restaurant even though that is what we have always done before. We had a very relaxing stay at Sandos and hopefully will go back again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susanschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This resort is where you go to rejuvenate and not to spring break and party. My husband and I went the first week of October for seven days and the resort was quiet. We were looking for this so it was perfect for us. I kept hearing that it gets very busy around Christmas. The sea was warm like bath water and clear. The sand was kept up very well. The sea was calm for most of our trip and then the big waves came for our last day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a young guy (Francisco?) who would be ready to set us up with the umbrella and towels on the beach every day when he saw us coming. He went out of his way for everyone and was terrific. We'd start the day at the beach, then go to the pools, then back to the beach. They have three pools with three temperatures and depths. We enjoyed all three. There is definitely something to be said with having this paradise without a ton of people around. The hotel helped us get a taxi into town for some shopping, but we spent most of the time at the resort. The resort had some fun activities and dinners which we enjoyed. Their rooftop was fun for some entertainment and drinks. The food at the restaurants was sophisticated and delicious and fun to dress up for (although not necessary). The lobby bar was a nice place to hit for after dinner drinks. Our hotel room was beautiful, bright, and very clean. We enjoyed our evenings on the balcony or walks on the beach. We left a few dollars each day for housekeeping, a few dollars for breakfast and lunch, a dollar every drink or every other drink at the pool, and a few extra dollars for dinner. Even though it is all inclusive, I think tipping is very appreciated (though they don't make you feel they are expecting it). I highly recommend this resort and would definitely return for a true escape from everyday life.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Opalakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our stay was just OK. Room was nice although we unfortunately did not get a room with a balcony which would have been nicer (although we were assigned three different rooms during the stay). We pre-ordered a room with king size bed but no such room was available at check-in.
Food was nice and of fair quality but not outstanding and the St. Trop restaurant option was the best. The Seasons restaurant meal was not worth the effort and the Japanese restaurant was a nice experience. The service was outstanding everywhere with a very attentive team. The main flaw though was with the recreation activities. The water in the pools was cold, only one pool was supposedly heated but the windy conditions and the lack of sun exposure (due to the tall building of the adjacent hotel) made using this pool not very pleasant. The hotel advertises a streams pool, to our surprise this was not a Jacuzzi ! the water was barely warm, the streams were almost un-noticeable. Very disappointing. The beach was nice, but with too little shelter from the sun, and the sea was very wavy for a whole week, practically precluding swimming. Somehow I envisioned a quite laguna type water which would enable enjoying the water. Bottom line, we came to a seaside resort and could not enjoy any of the water facilities - very disappointing.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony, preferably overlooking the pools and not the tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GXR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking part of your time to share with us your feedback of your recent stay at Sandos Cancun.

We are very sorry to know that your experience at Sandos Cancun could not exceed your expectations due to the weather conditions. We take our responsibility for the lack of heating in the pools, be sure that we will work on it.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a beautiful ... boutique hotel but it was a bit boring for me. I go away every christmas and i felt this was the first hotel that did not play up the "christmas" theme.That is why we pay double the price to travel on holidays, no? I am not a party animal by any means but this hotel is really low key. No entertainment at night... nothing.

The rooms were beautiful but not the cleanest i've been to as well as the beaches were not combed. I know that sounds ridiculous but I like waking up going down to the beach and it's beautifully combed.

It's always a toss-up between cancun and cabo for me every christmas. i have stayed at every type of hotels between the two and i've come to realize on this trip... no hotel is perfect but one needs to figure out if it's a pure relaxation trip vs a fun trip.

There is no breakfast or dinner by the beach, really? although the room service was the best i've had in mexico so if you have kids, it's perfect. the food quality in the buffet was also excellent.

i went on this trip with my sixteen yr old and my boyfriend... hence i chose cancun because it's a bit more lively. if you're comparing the two different locations this is my opinion:

1. beach: by FAR cancun has a better beach environment. it's swimmable, sand is softer, it's not on a slope.
2. cabo has way more timeshares, more haggling on the beach, older crowd.
3. Cancun has way better shoping. Cabo has almost no shopping.
4. Flea markets and ethnic markets are both unbearable but if i had to chose i would chose the small shops of cabo.
5. I advise to stay at riu in cancun or cabo. best variety of food, entertainment and location. price is reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sandos Cancun, we appreciate you to take the time to share with us your feedback.

Here at the Sandos Cancun we have a peaceful and chill ambiance in order to provide our guests a relaxing vacation experience, therefore we have sophisticated activities that goes in line with the atmosphere of the Resort.

Due to our guests suggestions, we have implemented a Continental breakfast with Juicetherapy at St. Trop, where you can enjoy it by the sea. During this Christmas season we opened as well for dinner.

All of your suggestions and feedback is greatly appreciated, be sure that it will be taken into consideration.

Do not hesitate to come back to Sandos Cancun to show you our improvements.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Sandos Luxury Experience Hotel is a boutique hotel. We have chosen it for our honeymoon because it has very good reviews on internet and because we wanted a smaller and more intimate hotel. Most of the hotels in Cancun are huge. It has around 250 rooms and this makes it great.
But nothing we read compared with the reality. The rooms are nice and very clean, the pools are big and the panorama is very nice, the spa is ok, the beach large and clean, the sea turquoise...and so on. Everyting someone can expect from a five stars hotel. But more than that, the best thing about this hotel is the staff. I have never been pampered and looked after in such a way. Everybody is GREAT! Not just friendly, or helpful, or outcoming. Great! From the moment we got there and until we left, everybody seemed to be there only to make our stay the best ever.
So, thank you Jorge (from Seasons Restaurant), Gustavo, Oscar, Ivan, Ilaria, Alejandro, Mildred, Martin and many others whose names I can't remember (but only because they are very different from those in our country).

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clau130281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancun to spend your honeymoon.

We are very pleased to know that we could exceed your expectations during your stay with us.

We take pride for our hard working staff that provides you a personalized service, we actually are here to attend you and provide the best vacation experience.

We hope to welcome you on your first Anniversary at your new home in Cancún.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice hotel, small room, no balcony!
Hotel was empty. We payed $350 night, got 4 floor.
Big disappointed !
Front deck manager making big mystakes that we paying for. Not cool.
Nothing going on at night,
We not going to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharona555111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you to share with us your feedback. Being December the highest season of the year, it turns difficult to complimentary up grade our guests, even when we have the best disposition to.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
9,756 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
2.2 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#32 of 176 in Cancun
8,477 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $287 - $883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined and yet welcoming sense of personal service pervades Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Experience Resort. Our guests enjoy an intimate setting on the sands of Cancun, combining a great all inclusive Total Gourmet Experience with pleasure and relax in 187 rooms, 26 suites. The visitors may enjoy a world-class spa with fitness center, two fine-dining restaurants, three tiered pools, and the Caribbean beach with private cabanas and beachside attendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing