We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandos must learn that small details make the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
Ranked #28 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon at Sandos (Aug 5th - 8th) We don't like to stay in All inclusives because it's not our type of thing, but we decided to give it a chance.

I'll start with the worse:

For a honeymooner, the details count. And in Sandos we didn't find any, even if they knew in what kind of trip we were. No flowers, no wine bottle, no sign in their daily announcements, no special cake in the Seasons restaurant. Nothing. Before staying in Sandos we stayed in Privilege Aluxes in Isla Mujeres and they did the whole thing for us (without extra charges), so it was disappointing, especially for me. If you're planning to go for your honeymoon and you care about these things, don't stay there.

The service in the pool area and beach is terrible. If you're going to tip them, they will have a good service. If not, they're going to forget your drinks. The last morning we stayed there a waiter took an order for another guest, and when I called him he said he was not allowed to serve drinks in that area. Two minutes later, he was receiving his tip from this other guest and getting him drinks... They can't say it was so crowded they couldn't handle all the work, the hotel was at 50% of its cappacity. (Look for Eder and Luis, they were the nicest people there)

The best:

If you're going for the food, do it. The food is excellent. I am not going to repeat what all travelers are saying, the 3 restaurants, Seasons, Gaijin, and Zango are excellent, the service in this last one is great We forgot a lot of the names, but Carolina, Jairo, the whole staff there is awesome. Outstanding service.

We got to have dinner at Gaijin, Miguel went the whole 9 yards in his show. All the waiters, nice and attentive. From Seasons, we remember Jorge and Erika, the hostess, they really know what their jobs are about.

The drinks in the Bar one are really good. We forgot the DJ's name who plays some music in the middle of one of the pools, he's nice too.

Sandos is going in the right direction, but they really need to improve the areas I mentioned. In a hotel that calls itself a Luxury resort, they're still a little far from that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilianaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,234)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,814 - 1,820 of 4,236 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are just impresed of everything....The service,the rooms,the cleanleness....everything was great...We wanna say a big thank you to Viveros, Alejandro, Amilcar from pool and restaurant, great service guys...We'll gonna be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our staff, I would like to thank you for choosing Sandos Cancun and for taking the time to share your Luxury Experience with us.

All of your kind words for our staff are very motivational and helpful for us, we truly appreciate your acknowledgement for our hard work.

It will be our true pleasure to welcome you back at your new home in Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed there 7/3/13 - 7/8/13. They have the best customer service, the food was amazing and the pool was perfect! We didn't get the king size bed or a balcony, but it's ok. I highly recommend the 80 minute couples massages before you leave. If you're looking to relax and slow down a bit from the hectic life back home, I would come here. This is not a hotel to party as the pools generally close early. The only issue we had was with the AquaWorld representatives by the pool.

Thank you Osiriz, Alejandro, Norma at the concierge! Thank you Cassanova and Lorenzo at St. Trop for always finding us the Grey Goose! Special thank you to our compa Mario in Zango for making breakfast every morning that much more entertaining and also looking out for us when we drank too much! Extra special thank you to Erick for setting up a beautiful breakfast by the beach on our last day (he called us his WestCoast LA friends). Hope to see you all in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún, we also appreciate you to share with us your Luxury Experience in our Resort.

We are very pleased to know that your experience at Spa del Mar was indulgent and relaxing. The general atmosphere of the Resort invites to relaxation and to treat yourself surrounded by comfortable facilities and of course, the greatness of the Caribbean.

It’s an honor for us that you recommend our Resort, as this is the best reward to our service. We will be more than glad to welcome you again.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

i was there in Zango a couple of hours ago. They are not giving me red wine(house wine) because they are out of it. What do you mean you cant' open me a cheap house wine for my luxury expectation because i dined in late? Book somewhere else where service is excellent, maybe Hard Rock where premium drinks are served with no hesitation.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at Sandos Cancún. Please accept my most profound apologies for this issue. Be sure that throughout your stay, here at Sandos we do not skimp when serving top shelf liquor in all of our bars and restaurants.

I appreciate you to bring to my attention this situation, we will take actions in order to avoid another unpleasant moment with any other guest.

We will be grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you a real Luxury Experience.

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We just returned from Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort and can not say enough about how great it is. The service was the best we have ever experienced. Our concierge was Louis and was always there to help us with information. Alejondro Dioz was the person in charge of pool side service and the cabanas. He was just wonderful and so helpful. We truly enjoyed this beautiful place and the service made it perfect for us. We would recommend it any time!

Room Tip: we loved the suites on the PH floor but our daughters stayed on the 7th floor and really enjoyed th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Luxury Experience in Sandos Cancún with all the Trip Advisor users.

We are truly pleased and touched for your review, our main goal for all of us who we work at Sandos Cancún is to make the difference to make your holiday memorable due to our personalized service.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back to pamper you once more at your home in Cancún, Sandos.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an 8 day stay at Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort. We booked the hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and they did not disappoint. I honestly didn't have a single complaint (aside from the pillows - I'd bring my own next time) and should we be back in Cancun we'd 100% stay at Sandos again. We had a beautiful room on the 7th floor overlooking the ocean with a view of the lagoon as well. The food across the board (from room service to fine dining) was fantastic. And, above all else, the service was amazing. Every single staff member we came across was helpful, friendly and really made us feel like we were important to them. A few that deserve special recognition: Osiriz and Veronica were especially helpful at the front desk upon check in as well as for any other needs we had. Carolina greeted us (and everybody else!) at the breakfast buffet each morning always with a smile and spent the entire time running around making sure everybody was taken care of. Our housekeeper, Noemi, kept our room spotless. If you eat at Seasons ask for Jorge or JoseLuis - both were phenomenal! Irving served us at St. Trop as well as Zango and The Essences of Mexico evening, if you have the opportunity definitely ask to sit in his section and I promise you will be well taken care of! And pool side, find out which section Oscar Viveros is working that day and sit there. He anticipated our needs before we even knew we had them. And always with a smile! The little touches like champagne and roses at check in, turn down service in the evening and themed dinners/events (Lobster Dinner, Essences of Mexico, Champagne Party) were all wonderful but it was the staff that will bring us back to stay at Sandos on our next trip to Cancun!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side overlooking the pool/tennis courts are a bit noisier than the other side of...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butrfly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún and for taking part of your precious time to share with us your feedback. We are sure that it will be helpful for further guests as it was for you.

Along with our Total Gourmet Experience we have implemented some special theme nights for you to enjoy a fine dining with the best from our Cuisine enjoying of a live Mexican show at Essences of México, live music with the delights of the sea at our Martini Jazz Night or a night to remember and get lucky with some prices at the Champagne Party.

We truly appreciate your wonderful words for our staff, we all work hard for you to live a Luxury Experience on your vacation.

We will be more than glad to welcome you back to pamper you again at Sandos Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day stay at the Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort. We booked the stay barely a day in advance, so we probably didn't get the best deal available.
We had a late night arrival and the staff was very courteous. They did everything they could to expedite our checkin process, knowing that we were tired at that time of night.

The room was very comfortable, and well appointed. It had a nice balcony with a fantastic view of the pools and the beach. A nice size bathroom, with great amenities, and plenty of towels.

The bed was comfortable, linens white and clean.
The one weak point were the pillows: for a hotel of that level, with a great bed, the cheap, small, no support pillows were a let down.

Food in this hotel was way, way above anything we have experienced in the Cancun/Playa del Carmen area. We tried all three restaurants, and they were all excellent, including the breakfast buffet.
Now, the Seasons restaurant deserves a little more time: the staff was unbelievably good. From the hostess (Ericka) to our waiter (Jorge), they were excellent. Now, make sure to write down the name Francisco Sixtos. He is the chef at Seasons. And he is a true artist. A young prodigy that, I am sure, the hotel will have a hard time keeping there for long. We would have spent the equivalent of a night's stay in this all-inclusive resort, for a dinner "designed" by Sixtos, served by Jorge and his team. No kidding. It was that good.

Other than the subpar pillows (easy fix), the only other issue we had was with the sound levels in the hallways and the air conditioner units.
Every hallway has marble stone tiles flooring, and on the walls. That reverberates even the whispers of the polite guests. Add a few people walking around the hallways after a night of fun in the town, and it gets really loud in the middle of the night. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.
The air conditioner unit reminded me of the cheaper motels of the 80's, with the window units that would blow the curtains open all night. It was very, very loud. And, in a hot, humid climate, they would start very often throughout the night.
I found myself using the little pillows to cover my ears in the middle of the night.

It is my understanding that this property used to be the Le Meridien. And that it has been undergoing a transformation. Hopefully, the air conditioning noises, and better sound proofing of the doors is something they are considering right now.

However, as inconvenient as that was, it was not enough to detract from an amazing stay, served by a great staff, pampered by the beach waitstaff, and dining like royalty. We will be returning to Sandos, hopefully soon. With a pair of ear plugs just in case...

Room Tip: Given the noise levels in the hallway, make sure to ask for a room as far away from elevators as pos...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
10.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
5.7 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#40 of 176 in Cancun
710 reviews
3.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 176 in Cancun
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
3.8 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 176 in Cancun
3,497 reviews
2.6 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#34 of 176 in Cancun
4,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $244 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined and yet welcoming sense of personal service pervades Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Experience Resort. Our guests enjoy an intimate setting on the sands of Cancun, combining a great all inclusive Total Gourmet Experience with pleasure and relax in 187 rooms, 26 suites. The visitors may enjoy a world-class spa with fitness center, two fine-dining restaurants, three tiered pools, and the Caribbean beach with private cabanas and beachside attendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing